Let Me Reintroduce Myself


I’ve been gone for a long time, and I’ve changed, grown, learned things while I was gone. I also feel like the same old Jamie. I decided I wanted to reintroduce myself as I return this place I’ve called my home. Here’s some things about me, and some things I’ve learned while I was gone last year. I’ve missed you all. ❤ So here we go.

My name is Jamie.

  • I really love rainy days: that’s when my days shine the brightest.
  • Sherlock Holmes is still my favorite fictional character.
  • Among many things, I value creativity, empathy, gentle honesty, wise vulnerability, and a good sense of humor.
  • Purple is still my favorite color, but I wear lots of reds, blacks, grays, and pinks. And teal too. I just love colors.
  • I’m the oldest sibling of three; it’s where I groomed my abilities to be bossy and nurturing at the same time.
  • I have a passion for helping people feel understood and heard and valued.
  • I an ENFP–extroverted, intuitive, a big whopping feeler, and perceiver.
  • The mystery genre has always been my favorite (sub-genres fantasy, historical, sci-fi, drama all completely welcome!)
  • I’m a born-again Christian; struggling every day to leave toxic faith behind me and remember God loves me.
  • I’m a lover of words, strong vocabularies, and writing (short stories, personal fanfiction, non-literature) and I’m in a constant struggle to write for myself.
  • I’ve stopped talking about my books publicly because I’m less motivated to write them when I do.
  • I’m a big anime fan and have been watching seasonal anime for over two years straight: truly have enjoyed that journey of many enjoyable stories!
  • I enjoy audio books, radio dramas, and anything that combines stories with sound and music.
  • I laugh easily, which I think is one of my best personality traits.
  • I greatly love my best friend-now-boyfriend James, a fellow blogger, my mentor in geekiness, and long-time companion in life’s joys and hardships.
  • I’m a born American; my bloodline is a wild mix of German, Irish, Dutch, Native American, and Hispanic–I’m very white looking, but the quarter Hispanic in me comes out in my curls.
  • I keep my curly brown hair short these days and I love it.
  • I really love Asian-American food.
  • I REALLY LOVE music. I call music my soulmate. ❤
  • My favorite movie is Clue.
  • Princess Jellyfish is my favorite anime.
  • While The Office is still my favorite TV show, a close second is Game of Thrones.
  • My favorite animation studio is Studio Ghibli; Disney is a close second for the oldie goldies. 😉
  • I still watch Disney on VHS as I slowly collect the DVDs.
  • I don’t read as often these days and I regret that.
  • I’m forcing one of my shelves to hold all Harry Potter merch on display along with all the books.
  • I enjoy using temporary tattoos as an artistic form (still unsure if I want a real one someday.)
  • I adore dreamcatchers and have so far collected 5 for my room.
  • I am more than what I journal here.

I’ve learned a lot in my short life and I have a lot more of to learn. But these are some of my biggest takeaways from the last year of my absence.

What I have learned.

Life is cruel, people are cruel. But positivity–joy, which is the very meaning of my own name–can always shine if you choose to look for it, be it, accept it. When you hold on to joy, life becomes wonderful, and people can become wonderful too. I still love people, despite everything I’ve been through, I still love people because God loves people.

The people who push you down are not just afraid of what you have to say and want to be, but they themselves have been pushed down; they are afraid of themselves and of others. Probably more than even they know. They don’t have a confidence that they’re loved and of value. I have found that knowing this makes understanding and forgiving them easier.

True love cannot be contained, nor refrained, nor smothered, nor hidden. True love cannot be stopped, truly, by anything or anyone. True love is shown in not just words but in actions and behavior, and it takes both to prove it. True love is learning to compromise, learning to respect, learning to forgive, being honest when it’s most hard, learning to apologize, learning to seek joy for the other…or for yourself. True love is special and it takes time to recognize if it is genuine, but when you do recognize it, it’s a piece of heaven on earth.

Everyone is different, which means everyone’s stories are different. God has everyone at different places in their lives for His own glory, and no one can ever rightly judge you for where you are in your walk in life. You are where God wants you to be and others are where they should be too. Even if it pains you, or you disagree. They’re there for a reason.

Lastly, someone close to me told me one random day to remember that God loves me, not for where I think I ought to be, but He loves me where I am now. This was something I had started to forget. And that reminder, though it was a small thought when it was shared, impacted me so much. ❤

Well, that’s me. I’m happy to be back.

~Jamie

6 thoughts on “Let Me Reintroduce Myself

  1. Everything under the “What I Have Learned” heading spoke to my heart this morning–especially the whole paragraph about true love. And then the part about God’s purpose in all our lives: “You are where God wants you to be and others are where they should be too. Even if it pains you, or you disagree. They’re there for a reason.” So, so true and a million thanks for reminding us of that.

    So excited to have you back in the blogging world, Jamie! (*hugs*)

It always makes my day to see your messages! Don't forget to check back, I try to write back to you too! <3

