A God Moment at DQ

photo-1458014854819-1a40aa70211c-1400x933
I had what felt like a God moment at work tonight. It was at the end of a drive-thru rush, I was slightly stressed and a little overwhelmed writing orders, counting money, helping my coworkers when they double checked one of my orders. The guy who pulled up last during this rush though just struck me. He seemed little older than me, maybe 25, kinda rough looking, in an old car, lower class probably. Yet from the moment he pulled up, he had the most calming, respectful vibe about him; he was overflowing with gratitude and he maintained eye contact with me throughout our whole transaction. He was very sweet, very grateful to be talking to me. He was so calming after so many other customers, some of which who’d been cold or thoughtless (many of them middle/upper-class people too.)

I ended up being the one to hand out his order at the other window, taking care to make sure he had a cup holder and extra napkins. I felt this strong nudge in my heart to tell him I appreciated his vibe; just this strong inclination to speak. So, leaning out the window, I said, “hey, I just wanted to say I really like your vibe, it’s so chill and soothing, I like it!” just kinda appreciating how he’d treated me. And he looked like he was going to melt! “Thank  you so much!” He told me that he’d had some very rough few days, that he’d been needing to get away from everything and his thoughts; that he’d started to feel a little better. But he said, “Thank you so much, thanks for saying that, wow.” He seemed so genuinely touched and grateful and uplifted. Like he’d heard EXACTLY what he’d needed to hear in that moment. He seemed so blown away and doubly grateful. In those moments I felt like we shared this real connection, human to human emotionally. He was a perfect stranger, but in those moments, we were strangers no more.

He impacted me just as much as I seemed to impact him because I’m still so happy about our exchange. I don’t know what could possibly have been going on in his life, but I was really glad I felt God prompt me to say what he needed to hear. Plus, he reminded me that I could definitely still help impact people as just a little worker bee in a little neighborhood DQ. Encouraging people positively by being appreciative is definitely something I’ll always want to do for the rest of my life, for God moments like these. ❤


~Jamie
7 thoughts on “A God Moment at DQ

  1. Thanks for sharing this story Jamie. Kindness is my favorite contagion. A simple smile, a kind word or deed can go so far in this world.

It always makes my day to see your messages! Don't forget to check back, I try to write back to you too! <3

