My Life at Dairy Queen


I’ve been working at my neighborhood Dairy Queen for over five months now. And wow it’s such a different world from my own. When you walk into Dairy Queen as an employee, suddenly the most important things in the whole world is making sure the oreo is stocked, customers are taken care of, and the ice cream mixes don’t run out. XD

At this point, I’m pretty settled in. I know all the employees fairly well and who I like to work with and who I don’t. I have pulled exhausting double shifts; raced in to cover for coworkers who canceled last-minute; helped train newer employees; been brought into that inner circle who knows where the register keys are kept when the shifty employees are working; serviced the strangest and also the sweetest dearest people from my drive-thru window; received glowing surveys of my service………….a lot has happened for me. I live one week at a time, from schedule to schedule and it’s crazy!

I’ve climbed into the group of people who are actually deemed dependable, which seems a pretty small circle. My boss calls me in A LOT to cover for other people and knows I’m flexible and trustworthy, even though I can be a bit clumsy. But it does my spirit wonders when the dependable people all grieve aloud that we’re not working together or that I’m not on their shift. ❤ And apparently I’m SUPER fast at dipping and making dilly bars. XD

I’ve made some really good friends; the mother and daughter that works there have basically brought me into their family and we’ve become quite close! We’ve gone shopping after closing, eaten out late after shifts, and I’ve even visited their grandmother’s home late at night for burritos. While I’m saving for the car, they’re sweet enough to bring me home late at night too. They were two of the first people there to praise me and seemed to really like me, and it’s more apparent than ever that they really felt that way. I care about them a lot and I’m always happy to work with them.

The new 16-year-old kid that started working not long after me has become a great friend too! I took him under my wing as a younger fellow newbie, helped him learn the ropes, and now we crack each other up terribly when we’re suppose to be working. XD I’m always so happy when we’re scheduled together, because I know he’ll keep my spirits up the entire night.

There can be a lot of behind-the-scenes drama at Dairy Queen too. We have a couple bad apples we can’t seem to get rid of in terms of employees; the one isn’t that bad but is often late. Then there’s a girl my age, a cook specifically, who nobody really likes. She’s on her phone all the time, she takes an hour to do her dishes in the evening, she an utter fake, she often cancels and makes the day shift cook work late, and possibly stealing. It’s hard being civil with her; other coworkers have a harder time hiding their dislike for her so I try not to add to that. But dang the drama that circles around her can be insane. The books I could write from the melodrama going on in the back. XD

I still love the job–if we’re purely talking about the job, I still love it. I still LOVE being in the drive-thru! Most customers are full of happy vibes because they’re getting a treat, and that really feeds me as an extrovert. It balances the negative stressful vibes that come off certain coworkers or the boss. I can easily make almost everything now; in those terms, nothing scares me anymore. I’m slowly learning things about the kitchen. The place isn’t so alien anymore. The job itself is very fun.

Honestly, it completely depends on the crew that dictates how easily, smoothly, and stress-free the job can be. Lord help you if you’re on a crew with a slow cook… or someone with an attitude… or someone who complains about their personal life all night… or doesn’t want to pull their own weight.

I love the nights where the whole crew is made up of people I trust and enjoy being with! I’m not terrified to walk away from the register and leave it alone; I know the cook is dependable; I know that even if it gets super busy and stressful, everybody there will be doing their best and pulling their weight. When it’s all for one and one for all, it’s just so much better.

I can’t decide right now if I like day shifts or night shifts more. They both have their pros and cons; you make dilly bars on day shift but you have less help. Or you get a bigger crew at night but need to do the clean up. Honestly, as long as I’m with a good crew, I don’t mind either though.

So yeah; that’s been my world lately. In less than two weeks I’ll be going on vacation, back to Georgia for a couple of weeks, and I’m excited for the break. Between all this, and processing some personal things I’m almost ready to make public, I’ve not felt like blogging. I know you all understand, and I’m looking forward to writing more soon in the future!

And oh, my favorite blizzard? Still the Strawberry Chocolate Chunk Love, but hey, the Pumpkin Pie was actually amazing, and I’m currently addicted to the Candy Cane Oreo. IT’S SO PRETTY TO BLEND. IT’S PINK. ^_^

What’s your favorite blizzard?

~Jamie

5 thoughts on “My Life at Dairy Queen

  1. My favorite Blizzard is chocolate-covered-cherry, but I haven’t had one in YEARS. Just remember them from childhood.

    I was a waitress when I was in high school, and yeah, who else worked on a given evening made or broke whether it was a good job or not. One waitress never got along with me, and I would just dread working with her. Being seventeen, I’m sure my dread was transparent and didn’t help. Hoping your coworker woes work out!

    1. Ooooh, that’s the cousin to strawberry chocolate one, pretty good too!!

      And yiiiiikes yeah I can empathize. It’s nice to hear your experience is similar too!! And thank you, me too!!

      ~Jamie

  2. Aww I’m so happy to hear that you love your job! that’s awesome! I totally agree that the people and crew you have totally change everything. as a general, Ive found that I can do even “crappiest jobs” (idk, mopping floors or something?? lol.) and still have a good time and love it…if the people are kind. thats really important.

    working the drive-thru sounds like it would be an adventure. haha.

    I hope you enjoy your vacation and everything! *hugs*

  3. I’m so glad you’re enjoying your new job! I really love strawberry cheesecake blizzards. ^ ^ Also I watched Noragami and I loved it. ^ ^

    storitorigrace.blogspot.com

    1. oooh I’ve yet to try that blizzard! I need to!

      OMG YOU LOVED NORAGMI, WASN’T IT WONDERFUL?!??! One of the best shounen action shows, so funny and dynamic!

      ~Jamie

It always makes my day to see your messages! Don't forget to check back, I try to write back to you too! <3

