15 Memorable Things I’ve Learned Being 21


As my 22nd birthday approaches with the Sunday sunrise, I figured I should reflect on different experiences, thoughts, and lessons learned during my 21st year while I’m still 21.

 :

1 Potato chips aren’t necessary for life to go on. Tightening my budget means cutting out unnecessary crap, and that has included chips. *sobs* However, I’m learning that while the cravings are tough, life moves on.

2 I learned I have a passion for helping people help themselves. I go over this in depth in this post, but it was amazing to find my personal calling this past year! Knowing what I love to do is so freeing!

3 I can drive a car. I’m still learning, and sometimes it’s still a little scary. but it is possible.

4 Perspective is a curious thing. Everyone’s reality is a little different; its something I’ve pondered throughout the year or observed through interaction. How people see the world, how they see themselves, how they see me. To some people, I am little more than a name. To others, I am their entire world: that’s mind-blowing.

5 I can get an A in math if I WORK for it. Ugh I hate math, but I got an A for it last semester. My best friend was a gracious, incredibly patient tutor (I’m still so sorry I can’t do math in my head, James) and I studied A LOT. Hirasawa and Enya saved my sanity at times too while I did homework. And I got an A!

6 I learned my intelligence wasn’t solely based on my math skills. It turns out there’s a Theory of Multiple Intelligences, and I’m actually incredibly smart in interpersonal, musical, intrapersonal, and linguistic intelligence. Major confidence booster there, lemme tell ya.

Disney Jazz is a wonderful thing. Just ugh. <3<3<3<3<3<3

Mickey Mouse <3:

8 The strangest yet most beautiful souls ride the bus every day. I saw so many different individuals on my bus route. The I-think half intoxicated woman getting home who was so proud of her daughter’s academic accomplishments. The older woman who smelled of buttermints when she walked by. The girl wearing an anime shirt, and the teenager with the Star Wars hoodie. The transgender man, the two elementary aged children, the people lost and finding their way, the people who gave their seats to others. Even the ex-convict who I spent 30 minutes chatting with at my stop. Such an array of souls.

9 Facebook can be enjoyable when you take control of it. I for real learned this, and while it might sound silly, it was very fun making my feed more positive. I took re control of several of my social networks during the last year and it was very freeing.

10 I lost 8 pounds riding my bike to school. At the beginning of the year biking that three-quarters of a mile to my school, it felt like such a long trek. In a couple months, my breathing was better, my endurance stronger, my legs were more powerful. Forced exercise is the best.

11 JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure. This anime is one of the most enjoyable, crazy, hysterical, intense stories I’ve ever had the pleasure of watching and I’m so glad I caught up with the series this past year. Time worth spent lemme tell ya. Also now I have a poster of Joseph Jostar on my wall, handsome devil. XD

12 My self-confidence grew, slowly but surely. I learned I could take public transportation regularly and be ok. I learned I could still fly across the country on my own and be ok. I learned I’m loved exactly as I am and that I should love myself the way I am too. I learned I have incredible strengths worth growing. I learned that hardships are often times neverending but I can survive them bit by bit.

13 Communication is hard but worthwhile. I poured everything I had into communicating consciously and as clearly as I could with my best friend to make our meeting in May a success. The result was a trip I’ll never forget and all that communicating was completely worth it!

14 I won ten dollars from a lottery ticket. That was really fun. XD

15 I need music like I need air. I really came to terms with how influential, necessary, and engaging music is for me. I love exploring music, using it to process my states of emotion, and writing about it. Often times, music is the way I survive: The long waits for the bus or the times when my brain gets so loud that I have pump it through my ears for hours on end outside late into the night. It’s how I bike to school and walk the dogs and wash the dishes. It feels good acknowledging its importance and my own confidence in my taste.

 :

Tomorrow I’m going to the Rainforest Cafe for my birthday lunch and mall shopping, and then hopefully I’ll get to skype with my best friend for the afternoon. Right now, I’m just back from seeing Finding Dory as well! Hopefully, it’ll be a chill, happy birthday! ❤

~Jamie

 

4 thoughts on “15 Memorable Things I’ve Learned Being 21

  1. Sorry I haven’t commented in absolutely forever! I feel so bad about that.

    Happy birthday!!!! Getting older is interesting, isn’t it? I found that, especially after 21, things changed a lot for me, and though getting to know yourself is difficult and tearful at times, it’s definitely worth it. I’m glad you’re learning more about your strengths and how to best aid people. It’s rare to find someone who genuinely loves to help others, so bravo to you. Be proud of who you are becoming, and enjoy the journey.

    Also, yes, there are so many types of personalities and intelligences, and each is very special and important in its own way. That’s an area I love to explore, and it’s another way to learn more about people and how special they are.

    I hope you have a wonderful year, and that your path is a happy one! God bless!

    Alexandra-

  2. Happy birthday! These are a lot of great things to learn. Public transportation is definitely an interesting venture. XD I’ve ridden on planes, trains, subways, and buses. They all have their quirks. I hope your 22nd year is awesome!

    storitorigrace.blogspot.com

It always makes my day to see your messages! Don't forget to check back, I try to write back to you too! <3

