Soundtrack of my Childhood P2


Today I’m again looking at music from my childhood, this time focusing on soundtracks from computer games. I wrote a Part 1 awhile ago, which focused on music from movies and children’s tv, if you missed it. I might follow this post up eventually with songs from musicals and classical music too. 😄

So, what computer game soundtracks did you think we might share? 😉

Lego Games

Lego Island. Lego Island WAS AMAZING and anybody who’s played it can testify to that LOL. The soundtrack is embedded in my memory because I played it so much. I also spent extra time trying to catch The Brickster just to enjoy the music that played over. 😄 *has an intense nosebleed from the unleasehd due to watching the opening*

Rock Raiders. I actually might have spent more time with Rock Raiders because you had to COMPLETE THOSE MISSIONS. CURSE THOSE ROCK MONSTERS AND SLUGS. 😄 The music really stood out to me too. I would sit on the menu screens just to enjoy it. (Funny fact: I have written book scenes within the last year to the menu music of Rock Raiders for the AMAZING CREEPY CAVE AMBIANCE.)

Lego Chess. I learned chess because of this game and I loved the music and movies. I WANT AN OLD COMPUTER JUST TO REVISIT THESE VISUALS. WHY WERE THESE GAMES NEVER UPDATED. THE TRAGEDY. ALL I HAVE LEFT IS THE MUSIC. 😦

The Lost Mind of Dr. Brain

The Lost Mind of Dr. Brain. I actually can’t find the music alone, so just click through this video and hear the music of the game that made me smarter. 😄 I played this game a lot as a young child, so I have strong ties to the quirky musical cues. It was the one game I actually completed entirely. Not even my parents had been able to finish it as far as I know. So it made me feel smart. 😄 Will be forever ticked off that it’s too old to play on any modern computers.

Pro-Pinball Games

Pro-pinball Timeshock. I really liked this game and its music. Track Six actually got my twelve-year-old writer’s brain churning a few times: I remember triggering the music within game and then just sitting there to process the music to the story in my head. You guys, I’m realizing I did that A LOT as a kid. 😄

Big Race USA. Ahhhhh memories…. just, great memories! There’s actually not much to say to this game except that I REALLY reminds me of playing at the huge wooden computer desk in the front living room switching seats with my sister while we took turns playing. And I thought the Speedbump theme was awesome. 😄

Happily, these games manage to run on Windows 10! So I still revisit them sometimes! ❤

War Games

People’s General. Ok, this maybe tops the cake. Because I never actually learned how to play this game. Literally, I ONLY EVER POPPED IT INTO THE COMPUTER TO LISTEN TO THE FREAKING MUSIC BECAUSE IT WAS EPIC AND AWESOME AND I LOVED IT. I still love it actually. It’s got some pretty epic war themes which kept my young writer’s mind very happy.

Army Men II. Ok, I actually did play this game growing up, maybe as young as nine? I can still remember army men melting on the stove, killing cockroaches, trying to run my guys across a garden, and learning the word bazooka. I liked this game very much, although I never beat the final bedroom level. But I’ll never forget the “You Loose” montage videos, or all the very classy classical music that played in the background. 😄 *thinks William Tell while racing across a kitchen counter top looking for mysterious blue portal.*

Arcade Games

Mappy. MAPPY. I WAS MASTER OF THIS GAME. I LOVED THIS GAME SO MUCH.


Well, do we share any computer game soundtracks? Anybody else play other games like Oregon Trail games? Motocross Madness? SOME OF YOU MUST HAVE PLAYED THE LEGO GAMES. What do we have in common?! ❤

~Jamie

5 thoughts on “Soundtrack of my Childhood P2

  1. I played Lego Island and Rock Raiders a little bit! I wasn’t huge into computer games, but my brothers were, and I’d watch them play a lot too. Lego Island was the best, and Rock Raider was so addictive… 😀

    1. YES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! SOMEONE ELSE PLAYED THEM!!!!! Omg Lego Island was such a blast tho, wasn’t it!!?? and Rock Raider, YES! Addictive, such a great word for that game!!!

  2. I’m so glad I’m not the only one who remembers Mappy! I was obsessed with that game as a kid! And the music was part of what made it so addictive 😄

    1. omg first person ever to have played Mappy that I know!! WASN’TN IT SO FUN THOUGH. And yes the music made it so addictive I especially loved the music when entering your highscore initials. That was my favorite. 😄

It always makes my day to see your messages! Don't forget to check back, I try to write back to you too! <3

