The Soundtrack of my Childhood P1


I thought I’d blog purely for myself tonight. And myself wants to do some heavy tripping on the music/theme songs/sounds of my early childhood and youth. I’ve always loved music, especially the songs that help me retreat to  And how many childhood sounds do you and I possibly share?

One Radio Theme

Rush Limbaugh’s Theme. My parents were listening to Rush everyday even before I was born: so my lunches growing up in the kitchen was to Rush Limbaugh’s voice and theme with peanut butter and jelly. Mom and my sister and I would head bob to this song at the table while we ate. And I remember when I was older, like eight or nine, often holding the kitchen broom like a guitar and air strumming the bristles instead of sweeping. I don’t care if you’re conservative or liberal, but y’all gotta admit that this is an epic theme to hear growing up EVERY DAY. XD

VeggieTales

VeggieTales. My childhood was awesome because of VeggieTales. We sang the songs all the time when I was just three and my sister a year old; I have specific vivid memories connected to the songs above. I love all the old silly songs, you guys. And the stuff mart rap was like pure dope. XD And LarryBoy was my first superhero. Since the entire show is strong in music, it makes sense that many of the early episodes were the background of my entire childhood.

The Busy World of Richard Scarry.

The Busy World of Richard Scarry songs. OH MY GOSH. THIS WAS MY EARLY CHILDHOOD. I WAS TWO OR THREE WHEN I WAS GIVEN VHS TAPES. AND HUCKLE AND LOWLY WHERE THE BROS AND I WILL NEVER HAVE ANYTHING BUT HAPPY FEELS. *pauses to take a chill pill.* But yes, childhood, the happy memories, the many songs: This was my Zootopia, guys.

Disney Songs/Musical Scores

Disney soundtracks. I have very distinct memories of these tracks! I WAS Tigger as a child and I bounced around the living room singing his song. XD The intro for 101 Dalmatians IS BURNED IN MY HEAD–I don’t know why. But it gives me the childhood chills. Any song from the Aristocats is pure childhood, to be honest. XD Little April Showers put me in awe. And The Jungle Book had that mysterious music that always grabbed my attention as the movie started.

Disney Cartoons

Assorted Disney Cartoon scores. I just need to hear the first few brass notes of Donald Duck’s theme to take me alllllll the way back. ❤ Now these cartoons above have very specific melodies that have stuck with me through the years. “It’s a lovely day, Dolores!” Goofy’s whistle in Crazy in the Heat. The little military melody in Whirl Wind. The great musical finale of Toby Tortoise Returns. And the song and piano diddly at the end of Two Chips and A Miss.

The Prince of Egypt

The Prince of Egypt soundtrack. I still count The Prince of Egypt as one of the defining musical moments of my childhood. My family didn’t own it, and I only saw it a few times growing up, but I’ll never forget the first time saw it. The music blew my mind and I was obsessed. I did have a cassette tape of the songs, and I listened to it constantly. Hans Zimmer will always mean the world to me because how seven-year old me felt when I heard his music.

 

I guess I’m going to stop there for the night; I’ll have to cover video game soundtracks and classical songs some other time. XD How about you guys, what childhood melodies do we have common?

~Jamie

14 thoughts on “The Soundtrack of my Childhood P1

  1. You and I have ALL of these in common, which is awesome and hilarious. I’m not quite as familiar with the Disney cartoons, although I do remember watching them…but the Rush Limbaugh theme? Richard Scarry? Oh my gosh, YES. I haven’t even thought about Richard Scarry in years! And The Prince of Egypt, of course, remains an epic favorite.

    1. OH MY GOSH, we have them all in common THAT’S AMAZING. ROFL! asjdfkalsjfdkla;sjdfl;asjdf someone else knows about Richard Scarry, HUZZAH!!! I actually wasn’t sure if people would know that one or not!!! ❤ We're awesome, Maribeth. XD

  2. Okay, first, I did a little googling before everything loaded and listened to “my city was gone” by the Pretenders. I like it.

    VEGGIETALES!! I swear, that was standard issue Christian-homeschooler-entertainment. I can sing you “Keep Walkin'” from Josh and the Great Wall, Madame Blueberry’s “I’m so blue” lament, the Hairbrush song…gosh, we loved that show.

    YES on your Disney choices! “Little April Showers” is such a lovely song. And same on Prince of Egypt…that one we actually didn’t appreciate as kids. My sister rediscovered it first ten years later and was blown away by the star power voicing the movie.

    1. I’m afraid to listen to the original song quite honestly. LOL. XD I don’t want it to change my precious memories ROFL. XD

      VEGGIETALES. YASS. And only Christian-Homeschooler kids know the pain of saying “I can’t find my hairbrush” and only getting that song in response. ROFL. XD

      Awww I’m so glad you found the Prince of Egypt love eventually! XD Better late then never. but it’s SUCH AN EPIC STORY, hands down the best cinematic representation of Moses ever. ❤

  3. How cool! I know exactly what you mean, about certain cues from childhood. I have just about as many of my own that just take me right back. Of the ones you shared, we only have Bambi and Aristocats in common. But my sister and I used to listen to those two soundtracks a lot. 😀

  4. Omg, Veggie Tales! Growing up my younger cousin was hooked to that show. Naturally I loved listening to it eventually and couldn’t get enough. Great to see it on a soundtrack of someone else’s childhood. 😀

    1. Awwwwwwwwww that’s so awesome! and yes!!! Totally my childhood soundtrack, I still have like 94 percent of the songs memorized XD

    1. DUDE. YOU SAW VEGGIETALES TOO?!?!?!?!?! SWEEEEEEEET!!!!!!!!!!! and omg yes. I love my lips. I can still run “One the day that I turned eight, got my lips stuck in a gate” without skipping a beat, and now that I started it I have to finish it XD “my friends all laughed and I just stood there until the fire department came and broke the lock with a crowbar and I had to spend the next six weeks in a lip rehab with this kid named Oscar who got stung by a bee right on the lip and we couldn’t even talk to each other until the fifth week because both of our lips were so swollen, and when he did start speaking he just spoke polish and I only knew like three words in polish except now I know four because Oscar taught me the word for lip: USTA.”

      Just epicness. ROFL! XD

It always makes my day to see your messages! Don't forget to check back, I try to write back to you too! <3

