Highlights of My 2015


Today I thought I’d write out some highlights of 2015 for myself while it still doesn’t quite feel like “2016” yet: the big highlights, the ones that really stand out. XD I’m going to jump right in and will go in chronological order. XD

large (37)

I Created an Anime Blog.

My introduction to anime in 2014 led to a full obsession at the beginning of 2015, and I created my second blog “Jamie Talks Anime”. I’ve started second blogs before but they’ve never gone anywhere, but “Jamie Talks Anime” was very different. I actually had things to say about the stories and characters and music that came out of anime. I’ve enjoyed meeting so many new people through that blog and it gained 85 followers in its first year! As long as I keep watching and loving anime, I’ll continue to blog over there. But that was definitely a big change to my blogging habits and highlight of 2015.

large (41)

The Great Divorce Ended.

After almost four years of turmoil, with a two-year divorce process for my parents, it all finally ended in April. We celebrated. That was all a huge deal for me and my family, like breaking the surface of the sea to breathe. It was nice to hear words like “lawyer” disappear from our vocabulary after April but new routines left me spiraling like crazy all summer. I’m finding my footing now.

It’s relieving but crazy that it’s all over. I remember being eighteen thinking… “I’ll be twenty when this will be all over. No way.” But here I am, at 21 and it’s all over and time is crazy. I can already easily say my family is better off now by having my dad go his own way. And a lot personal growth and good things has come out of the whole awful experience.

And I’m incredibly proud of my mom. She’s a fighter to have made it the end of it without changing her mind. She’s very brave.

fb944f6793878d309d768a6f722d0d7c

I wish I could write to eighteen year old me and tell her that twenty-one me is doing ok, near the end of the dark tunnel where the light is. Or at least, there’s enough light to cast my shadow on the tunnel wall to groove with me and my music. Things are getting better, baby steps at a time!

My 21st Birthday.

Yep, 2015 was the big year that I officially became an adult. But not much happened LOL. I saw Ant-Man in theaters, had my favorite sandwiches, and made the day a quiet one. I didn’t do very much but I felt very loved from the many messages and notes I received that day. Really though, not much happened in regards to my birthday.

The biggest thing that DID happen that day ended up being completely unrelated: my dad decided to get remarried at the courthouse before bringing my brother home to me. And I’m still baffled about why it was on my birthday (or why he decided to get remarried three months after going through divorce he *said* he didn’t want.) I don’t know, I try very hard not to criticize my dad on here as I’m just not really ready go into how he’s made me feel…but that’s not normal, is it?

So, yep, turning 21 was quiet but the day was bizarrely memorable.

large (38)

I Passed My GED Tests.

I never blogged about it, but I did get my GED in 2015! After just over a year of studying at a GED tutoring school, and knocking each test out one at a time, I passed the math test in September for my certificate! The math test was a huge deal for me when I passed it as I’m horrific in math. Horrific. Please don’t ask me to do your taxes. Don’t even ask me to find the total cost of three Big Macs in the drive thru, unless you’re handing me a calculator. XD

Mathematical intelligence is my lowest intelligence, so math is my immortal enemy. It was a VERY happy day when I stumbled out of that two-hour test, my brain fried, and became informed I’d passed. So now I have my GED, which will be extremely helpful when I begin job hunting! And studying for it filled in a lot of missing information I didn’t have since I really lacked a high school education.

So, hip hip horray! But screw you, math. I’d say “stay out of my life”, but I’m in a college math class now, so it seems I can’t get away from you just yet. XD

fbd4de56718ec113184de635ff29657b

Speaking of college.

That was another big deal for me at the end of 2015. Just before I got my GED, I began a class at my community college during the fall semester. It was for creatively geared people struggling to figure out what type of career would fit them. That class changed my perspective in positive ways for so many things and I ended up really loving it! And my plans for college took a 180 turn between September and Dec. I want to start working towards an associates degree of some kind!

And I have actual career ideas in mind that I know would fit me. Besides strengthening my writing skills, I became very aware of how much joy and personal strength I have in helping and cheering on people. I like helping people feel heard and understood and empowered to be their very best selves. And I know I’d love to have a career the field of helping people someday! It was amazing to learn that about myself thanks to college!

I have much more to say on this subject that will go into another post, but 2015 was the year that I tried college and liked it! ❤

4660d3ba1bdb380f5560e0c05ad1be50

I Get to Meet my Best Friend!

This is the last big thing that fell into motion during 2015 for me! After being friends through blogging for five years, with 2014/2015 being full of weekly skype chats, anime marathoning, and just getting to be best friends, James and I began the initial stage of planning our first visit! That stage is basically completed at this point; all that’s left is for my plane ticket to be bought for the visit this upcoming summer!

AND I’M INCREDIBLY THRILLED. You guys! I’ve always wanted to meet my different blogging buddies, several of you reading this included; but I’m so glad James will be the first because we’re such good friends and have known each other for a long time! The two of us marvel that once upon a time the extent of our friendship was merely in the comment section of our blogs talking about Star Wars and The Avengers! XD

But he’s the best, you guys! James is truly my best friend and he’s one of the kindest people I know. He encourages me everyday to keep my chin up and be the best me I can be. He’s also incredibly smart; he has excellent taste in stories; and he’s hilarious as heck! So I’m really excited that before 2015 was over we got to talk about meeting! Now it’s just a countdown to May!


5aa2b29a8d6caffe98ba30d6e7a8a6c3These are just some big highlights of 2015, the things that stand out of the most. 2015 was a lot, a lot of little things too:

2015:

was the year that I had blue hair for twelve months. The year my sister joined the military. The year I failed to do yoga. The year I began writing stories for myself again. It was also the year I lost a book in a hard drive crash. The year I realized I really liked lime slices in my water. The year I saw The Lord of the Rings for the first time. The year when on social media I stopped trying to be something I wasn’t. The year a family pet died. The year I rode the bus by myself for the first time. The year I finally confessed a hard secret and was still loved despite it. The year the shadows broke all over.

I don’t know how 2015 was for you, but I’m excited to have survived it! I’m desperately looking forward to what’s in store for me in 2016!

7fec91c309b42a3d994a966208344cd1

~Jamie

7 thoughts on “Highlights of My 2015

  1. aww this was so beautiful Jamie ❤
    sounds like 2015 was crazy/awesome for you!
    Im so excited for you to meet James!! That sounds so cool!
    And congrats on passing your GED test!!! Woo! I know how hard you worked to earn that. so you really deserve it. Best of luck with college and job hunting!

    I hope that 2016 is another incredible year for you filled with growth and love and adventures!

    1. awwwwwwwwwwwwww thank you, Faith! ❤
      It was crazy and awesome, LOL! It was a lot of things. XD
      THANK YOU! Yes, I'm THRILLED so much, I can't wait to meet him!
      and awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww thank you so much! I'm so happy to have earned my GED and I'm looking forward to more college! ❤
      Thank you so much, girl, for always saying the nicest things! ❤

      ~Jamie

  2. Wow. 2015 sounds like my 2011. My parents divorced that year, but the divorce wasn’t finalized until 2012. That was also a long tough process that needed to be done and it’s weird my dad dating other women after 27 years of marriage to my mom. *hugs* I’m sorry you had to go through that. Yay for all of your accomplishments and turning 21! That’s a big step. I hope 2016 is filled with more joy and success.

    storitorigrace.blogspot.com

    1. WOW. We’re more similar than I thought, lol. But wow, I’m sorry you had to go through that too. It’s hard isn’t. Thank you for your comment, though. ❤ I hope 2016 is treating you well too! ❤

      ~Jamie

It always makes my day to see your messages! Don't forget to check back, I try to write back to you too! <3

