The Behind The Scenes Tag


My long time blogging friend Maribeth at Formidable Courage awesomely tagged me to do this extremely tag about the behind the scenes of my writing! Considering I feel pressed for time to do much blogging this week (and probably the upcoming week as well) this isย perfect!

6af34cc658dc6e86144d0855977dbec1

Is there a certain snack you like to eat while writing?

I chew gum instead of eating when I write. It feels like eating but I’m not actually making myself fat. ๐Ÿ˜„ I love 5’s wintermint gum, I always keep a pack on my desk. ๐Ÿ™‚

When do you normally write? Night, afternoon, or morning?

If we’re talking fiction…I almost exclusively write at night. My confidence and focus is higher when I know people aren’t going to walk in on me, so some days I’ll be up very late thinking and writing while everyone else is sleeping. Plus I’m a night person. ๐Ÿ˜„

Where do you write?

In my room, at my little desk in front of my white board. The white board is there for note taking, but its covered in stickers and Disney trading cards and my fandom magnets. I have a Tardis magnet that I just love! ๐Ÿ˜„

How often do you write a new novel?

I start a new one about once a year and continue fiddling with the earlier years’ books as well. I’ve been doing this since I was twelve, starting a book and writing it for a year before continuing with a different one the next (although the early books were all sequels with the same characters, so that was easy. ๐Ÿ˜„ )

Do you listen to music while you write?

Oh yes.ย Music is my caffeine and my ink. My characters sometimes speak through lyrics to communicate to me how they’re feeling, and sometimes I loop those lyrics so I can sink into their emotions and thoughts. Soundtracks from films and anime bring moments and scenes to life in my head and if I listen closely enough, sometimes I can get what I hear on to the page.

My latest musical find: I see raindrops…or glittering fish…or sparkling sunlight…or the condensation created by someone breathing winter air…. IT’S JUST SO HAUNTING AND BREATHY AND PERFECT ASDJFKLA;DKS

Here are a coupleย of my YouTube playlists if you guys are looking for fresh writing music. (Technically for studying.) (This one is very diverse, have fun! ๐Ÿ˜„ )

What do you write on? Laptop or paper?

I’ll go ahead and say it: I can only write on my laptop. I learned to type at an early age, so I have never been fond of clutching a pencil and keeping my rows of words on linesย on paper. I love how fast my fingers on the keys can get my thoughts to screen before I loose them. And editing, rereading, storing, and making copies is really easy.

Is there a special ritual you have before or after you write?

Well, I wouldn’t call it a “ritual” but I do try to turn on my rain effects when I know I’ll be writing so my mind will start drifting into the depths of my story or the soul of a particular character I want to writeย as. Since I work at night, I don’t really use it to shut out noise, but more to shut out silence. Silence is super distracting to me.

What do you do to get into the mood to write?

Like I said, I turn on my rain effects and then I might start playing a certain song that might have helped with the last scene I wrote. I’ll look over what I last wrote too. That helps a lot. ๐Ÿ™‚

What is always near the place you write?

My lip balm and hand lotion. Floss is always around my desk for some reason; when I get stuck I floss my teeth and glare at the screen–TMI? ๐Ÿ˜„ I generally have a glass of water on my Chewbacca coaster ย too (or a soda, if it’s late and I want to stay up till one in the morning.)

tumblr_mq1do2esDg1qa5kkmo1_r1_500

Do you have a reward system for your word count?

No, I don’t! I’d never even thought of doing that for myself, probably because word count doesn’t motivate me outside of NaNoWriMo. I sit, I peck at the keys some nights, mostly thinking, and then other nights I’ll pound out pages and pages of words.ย Generallyย I just don’t think to look at how much I write.

Is there anything about your writing process that others might not know about?

Sometimes my entire body is moving if I get absorbed in my writing; I’ll rock about in my desk chair if I fall into a good rhythm with the characters and rain effects and music. Sometimes the music is so relevant to a character’s emotion that I’ll stop writing completely and let myself move to sounds I hear.ย I don’t know why I do that and its only something I noticed about myself recently. It sounds weird, but I’m probably not the only fidgety writer out there. ๐Ÿ˜„

I’m going to tag Emily at Camo and Pearls and Tara at Moonstonemaiden! Have fun girl-friends! โค

What does your behind the scenes look like?

~Jamie

13 thoughts on “The Behind The Scenes Tag

  1. I’ve got one of these I’m supposed to post…

    Just have to say it – writing on paper can be just as fast as on a computer. Or faster. If you’re me. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    1. Oooh can’t wait to read it! ๐Ÿ˜€

      Yes, if you’re you I’m sure you write much faster then you type, you handwrite everything it seems. ๐Ÿ˜„ But handwriting is nothing but a hindrance to me. ๐Ÿ˜„

  2. Thank for tagging me! This looks soooo fun to do–I can’t wait to get to it. I loved reading your answers. Chewing gum is a good idea. My favorite writing snack is York Peppermint patties… And I need to stop eating them so much lol.

    Also…

    DID YOU WATCH THE WALKING DEAD ON SUNDAY??!! O_O

    1. YAY! I can’t wait to read your answers!

      ooooh yum York Ppepeprmint patties!! ๐Ÿ˜„ Yes, gum is so awesome! 5’s is even sugar free but it doesn’t taste nasty like most sugar free gum. ๐Ÿ˜„

      YES I DID. OMG. I’M TRAUMATIZED AND I CRIED REAL TEARS. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

      ~Jamie

      1. I KNOW. I hid under a blanket and cried, I couldn’t believe it was happening. I don’t think he’s dead, though. Neither do my other friends who watch it. We have a whole theory. I’m keeping my fingers crossed.

      2. I really don’t want him to be dead he’s one of my babies *cries some more* I hope he’s not dead but I don’t want it to be a cheap rescue either, lol. Fingers crossed for the best, but I’ll still be in recovery for dehydration from all those tears lol. ๐Ÿ˜ฅ

  3. Oh my gosh I absolutely the soundtrack piece you’ve chosen! So gorgeous! And that’s funny that you chew gum. I think you’re the first person I’ve heard of who does that haha. Night owls unite!

    storitorigrace.blogspot.com

It always makes my day to see your messages! Don't forget to check back, I try to write back to you too! <3

