My Hiatus is Over! || My Summer


Well, my hiatus for this blog ran a lot longer than I originally expected, but it was a much-needed personal break to let my mind and emotions be by themselves for awhile.

The thing about running a personal blog is that it’s…well…personal. It can get hard to share things or write about even silly things when you’re confused and befuddled about big issues in your life. So the break from this blog has been good to just allow my mind to simmer with itself.  I haven’t come to any conclusions, but I’m okay with not being completely okay. That in and of itself is freeing.

I plan to catch you all up on the different things I’ve struggled with in the near future, as those are heavy topics for their own posts. But today I’ll just catch you up on my summer as best I can! 😀

c67529cc6b3e9e9adee5fa7b0d452824

In many ways it was a very quiet summer. It others, it was loud and confusing and emotional.

My parent’s divorce was finalized at the end of April (a big HIP HIP HOORAY goes right here!) and my entire family’s routine changed as my brother began to switch between my home and my dad’s home every other week. I’m still adjusting here in September: My weeks seem to begin on Fridays and then have no ending. It’s super weird. 😄 It works though; I miss my little bro when he’s not here, but I also enjoy that quiet off-week too because… eight year old boys……..just wow.

I worked on my sci-fi book throughout June, but as my head got louder and louder with doubts and theological questions and frustration, I paused the writing. I’d hope to pick it back up in August, but computer issues and now college still keeps me from continuing with it for the time being. The only other story I worked on over the summer was personal story for myself, an nontraditional romance that is incredibly fun write. But that was all the fiction I managed to write over the summer. 😦

large (14)

I turned 21 at the end of July! It was a very nice birthday; with early morning happy birthday emojis from my best friend, to the exciting Ant-Man which Mom agreed to watch with me, to my favorite sub-sandwiches for dinner. The amount of birthday wishes and phone calls and cards made me feel very loved and special! There was a damper on the day’s end (I.E. my dad suddenly remarrying on my birthday before bringing my brother home–a topic for another post) but thankfully the shock of it didn’t really kick in till the next day.

Overall, I had a wonderful 21st birthday! Thank you again for all your sweet comments!

Small things can keep you busy like you wouldn’t believe. One day the internet went out. We didn’t figure out until the next day that it wasn’t a neighborhood thing but our own problem. *headdesk* Stupid little things like that seemed to happen all summer. 😄

large (16)

Between the end of July and through almost the entirety of August, I had computer struggles. Oh how those just thrill me to pieces. 😄 This problem interfered with the blogging I was doing, and I breathed in and out of calm control and fits of frustration. As of now, the issue has seemed to resolved it’s self, which is the weirdest thing EVER, but I’m not complaining! I can upload images to WordPress again!

The pro that came out of that whole experience, though, was that I learned a behemoth-like amount of information about my computer this summer and how I can maintain it from my good ol’ friend James The Reviewer. Thank you again for all your help last month, James, you were the best! (Seriously, guys, he taught me so much computer stuff, and took a lot time to walk me through possible solutions for the issue, even though he didn’t have too. I’m such a baby when it comes to my computer, so it was nice to have support from someone steadier than myself. XD)

Friends are literally the best thing ever.

large (24)

Happier moments of the summer included watching and talking and writing about anime. So many adventures; so many wonderful characters who are now very dear to my heart (Takeo and Yamato! Kiyoshi-dono! Renge! NICOLAS BROWN, MARRY ME!) I kept my anime blog alive despite the computer issues–I don’t know how!!!–and had lots of fun! I’ve established some wonderful friendships this summer and almost everyone that I’ve met in the anime blogging community has been very kind and enthusiastic!

It’s also incredible to be exposed to a second language every single day through stories. The Japanese language is so beautiful to listen to and I feel a little more familiar with it as each week goes by! It’s my new favorite thing!

tumblr_nu061jr6Pl1twrse4o1_540

COLLEGE. As August began to close, I first pondered, then agreed to start college before fully wrapping up my GED studies. I’m taking one class, a career exploration class for creative minds at my local community college and I’m already glad I agreed to start. While I now have homework to bring home, I really like the class’s content so far. I think I will learn a lot about myself this semester and shall be able to zone in a specific career or degree that I would personally be driven to achieve.

Since it’s also a class about understanding yourself, I hope that it will help me work through a lot of junk I still have from the past nine years of unbalanced homeschooling and over-the-top patriarchal churches and emotional exhaustion.  I spent most of my teens years having my individualism smothered in the patriarchal movement, which I’m still recovering from.

God didn’t make me as a incomplete soul or personality without a man and I should not have buried myself for others for years and years!

ef9661948cc06a403686d13e1220d563

Hopefully I’ll really discover how I think and function as an individual during this semester, so I can continue becoming my own person. I mean, I’ve done a lot of this in other areas of my life already (I’m learning to say no for myself, I’m learning healthy boundaries, and I am learning to enjoy what I enjoy without feeling weird about it) but I still need help understanding my core. Personal exploration will be very healthy for me!

It has been a confusing, crazy, quiet, enjoyable, angry, emotional summer. I love anime; I really love anime. I’m happy that I got to enjoy the lightning storms in the evening while I listened to music. I’m mad at my dad because, wow, thanks for dragging us through the mud for years insisting a divorce would ruin our already ruined family and then remarrying before the papers are barely cold on my birthday; like I didn’t have enough trust issues with men! And I’m happy that my mom insisted I think about starting college.

I’m hopeful I’ll find my path by the end of the year.

742d03cd1c00b5cdaa3f874248dfd677

I am still a lot of emotions from this summer and I haven’t worked through everything; but that’s okay. I’m okay with knowing that I’m both angry and happy and miserable and hopeful all at the same time. I THINK THAT IS LIFE?!?

However, I’ve had my fill of quiet time with just myself. I ready to come home, to this blog and to all of you! Thanks for waiting for me, guys. I love you all! I can’t wait to continue blogging here!

What did you do or feel this summer?

~Jamie

24 thoughts on “My Hiatus is Over! || My Summer

  1. Even though we’ve never broken apart within the short time that I’ve gotten to know you, I must celebrate this with you – Welcome back!! I don’t think I’ve gotten to know you on this personal level yet, so this post was something special for myself, too. You’re pushing on through struggles and enjoying what comes and goes, so yeah, I’d say you’re ‘doing life right’ 🙂 What a summer it has been for you! Wah, subsammies are life, anime is life, gosh, I love them both so much, hehe, a warm welcome back once again from this little cafe ~

    1. Thank you for celebrating with me! 😀 😀 😀 I’m glad you can get to know me better over here, since I don’t discuss many personal things over on Jamie Talks Anime. 😄 Thanks for the encouragement! YES SUBS AND ANIME ARE THE BEST. Thanks for you super upbeat comment Takuto I’m so glad we became friends over the summer!! ❤

      ~Jamie

  2. Aww man, Jamie. That’s just….wow. I cant think of a nice enough comment for this. You’re just incredible. I greatly admire your strength through all the crap you’ve had to go through. even though the church treated you awfully, you didnt let that shake your faith in a loving God. Im so proud of you for how strong you’ve been. I do hope you get to find yourself this semester. God is working in you.

    and nice job, James for being a great friend. thats awesome.

    Its nice to have you back! But Im glad the blogging break helped:)

    1. Thank you for this, Faith! I don’t feel very incredible, but it is nice of you to say so! ❤ I really hope that I'll be able to take everything I'm learning through the hard times to help others in similar situations someday.

      He definitely is awesome! 😀

      Thank you so much, I'm so happy to feel like writing again. The break really did help; I'm glad I gave myself the break! Thanks for waiting for me! 😀

  3. Welcome back! It’s good to hear from you again. I think it is so awesome how through all of the crap life throws at you you can still come out of it with such a strong and positive outlook. Life is a mixture of all emotions, and even though some of them aren’t fun they are still important, because overcoming the bad things just makes you stronger.

    Enjoy your college classes! I’ve just started college as well and so far it’s been a good experience. Moving was crazy but I needed some craziness.

    I look forward to reading how the rest of your year goes 🙂

    1. Thank you for the welcome! Yes you said it perfectly! All emotions are important and I should be able to feel them all at once if that’s what I need. Thank you for phrasing that!

      Good luck with you college classes, too!! I’m glad its also been a good experience for you! ❤ Yikes, I'm a little scared of moving, but I'm glad it was what you were needing at the time, lol. 😄

  4. Yaaaayyyyy you’re baaaaccckkkk!!!!! 😀

    I’m sorry that it’s been an emotional summer. You’ve shown multiple times that you are strong, though and I know that you can get through it with God’s help. Trust me, I know it’s hard sometimes, but keep your eyes on God. I’ll be praying that life calms down for you 🙂

    College is super exciting! It’s scary at first (at least, I was terrified for a little while lol), but it’s no biggie. You’re class sounds interesting. Do you have a major in mind, or are you going to stick with just taking a few classes?

    I’m glad that you’re computer is up and running again. I’m so paranoid about mine giving me problems. It’s a wonder I still use it sometimes :p

    Whoooooa sorry for the book. It’s like I’m a writer or something 😄

    Glad you’re blogging again!! 😀

    1. EEEK I KNOW!!!!!! I’M SO HAPPY TO HEAR FROM YOU!! Thank you so much for the encouragement and prayers!! ❤ 😀 College is pretty exciting; I'm still adjusting to the campus and being in a class, but it is easier than I expected. 😄 I don't have a major in mind yet, I'm going to see what I feel drawn towards most by the end of the class! 🙂 😄 Lol, I know, I get a little paranoid over mine too. 😄

      LOL I love you, Emily, thanks for sticking with me all these years! ❤ ❤ ❤

  5. I’m glad you had a good break. It looks different around here, it’s pretty. 🙂 I hope you get everything you’re hoping to out of your class.

    *hugs*

    1. Thank you, SW! Thank you for noticing, I thought it was due to a makeover. I spent probably 40 minutes tinkering with themes. 😄 *hugs back* ❤

  6. Wow, what a heartfelt, wonderful post! I’m so sorry you had such an emotional summer with regards to family and divorce but I hope things start looking up for you now. My parents went through a nasty divorce when I was in my junior year of college so I know how devastating it can be, it left me with a lot of anger towards my dad and we didn’t really speak afterwards for four or five years, so I understand you there. I hope you enjoy your college classes and please, never be afraid to like what you like, it’s what makes you the special awesome person that you are. If you ever need someone to talk to please don’t hesitate to reach out 🙂

    1. Thank you for this! It is nice to about your experiences, you can probably understand how I feel more than most. ❤ Thank you, so far I'm enjoying college! I hope I learn a lot this semester! Thanks for being there! 🙂

  7. Just now getting back to reading this and WOW WOW WOW YOU HAVE HAD AN EMOTIONAL ROLLERCOASTER FOR A SUMMER?!?!?! Girl. Wow.

    I’ll definitely be praying for you. I can’t believe your dad remarried on your TWENTY-FIRST BIRTHDAY. (And I’ll be 21 in a few months – didn’t know we were so close in age!) If you ever need to vent about that or anything, email me. I’m good at being vented to. 🙂

    Wow. Saying that I’m looking forward to hearing more about your summer sounds weird, soooo…? Yeah. Anyway. Great post. I love the honesty!!!

    1. 😄 I know right. It was a little too much at points but at least there were good times too. *ANIME*

      Thank you for the prayers! And thank you for opening up your email, I shall remember you the next time I need to vent! ❤ I couldn't believe it either…like, he couldn't have done it the day before,even? Seriously? Super frustrating to say the least. Oh wow, that's awesome, I didn't know we were so close either! 😀 😀 😀

      😄 Heehee, I think I know what you mean though. Thank you very much. ❤

It always makes my day to see your messages! Don't forget to check back, I try to write back to you too! <3

