Last Ten Books That Came Into My Possession

It has been very nice having this blog on hiatus to blog only when I want to…which hasn’t happened until today. XD

This morning, while checking blog posts updates as I scrambled out of bed, I saw this week’s Top Ten Tuesday’s topic was on the latest books you’ve just acquired. I couldn’t help but get excited!

51RYeVqlj9L
Latest Read

The past month I’ve been getting back into books, or at least trying too (it’s a slow process.) I’ve been specifically immersing myself in the online book community as a spectator. I’ve discovered Booktube (the YouTube book vlogger world) and have been familiarizing myself with contemporary, modern books that are dearly loved by the community. Partly because I think reading more will help my writing, but partly because I kind of miss reading. 🙂

I’ve been specifically going through these posts here to discover unique reads. I’m not very interested in run-of-the-mill YA or single genre novels. I really want memorable stories, or books with magic, or books in unique settings or with unique elements–I credit this crave to my current anime diet. XD

Lately I’ve bought thrift store copies of different books the past couple weeks (most of them just by gut feeling, not by acquired knowledge of them) and my book shelves have overflowed to my under bed! My Instragam followers have probably gotten tired of my different book haul pics. XD

Top Ten Tuesday’s a blog link up hosted by the writers at The Broke and Bookish, and their Top Ten Tuesdays are incredibly popular in the blogging world of books. I’ve never done one before, so this will be exciting to join in, especially since books have become more relevant in my life the past month or so! I’ve bought more books the past month than I have the past five years! (Book titles link to their Goodreads pages.)

51xX4bvCNqL_Fotor_Collage

The Graveyard Book: Firstly, the cover is gorgeous, even more so in person! (hugs physical copy of book.) The premise of this book really captured my attention and I desperately want to read it–I actually ordered this a thrift copy for myself in a “Half.com-Early-Birthday-Online-Shopping” excursion a few weeks ago, and it just arrived yesterday!

Swamplandia!: This has been on my to-read list for a while, so I’m happy to finally own it! I saw it on several “most unique reads” list, which has my hopes up in the clouds. I love how old-fashioned the cover art looks. The copy I ordered is a little beat up, but that merely means it was well-loved! XD

The Teleportation Accident: Time Travel. 1920s-ish… maybe? This was also on a lot of “unique reads” lists. I got a ex-library copy cheap in superb–I mean superb!–condition, so I’m happy!

The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making: The title alone is enough to guarantee a read from me–it sounds so different! I’m glad its small, though, so I can find a place for it on my bookshelf.

Life After Life: I’ve sampled Kate Atkinson’s writing before and really enjoyed it. I stumbled over this book at a thrift store in beautiful condition. For once, I was so happy the author’s name was the larger print on the spine than the book title (generally that is a peeve of mine) because it caught my eye.

Counting by 7s: I randomly found this at a thrift store (I had a Goodwill gift card about to expire, so I was grabbing any book that piqued my interest by the spine to use it up.) This spine had a fish on it, and when I pulled it off to see the cover, I fell in love immediately. I brought it home when I discovered it was about eccentrics. XD

51xX4bvCNqL_Fotor_Collagee

Nightmares!: I saw this online many times, loved the purple cover and the mansion, but thought “I’ll probably only ever read the library’s.” But then I spotted the hardback spine at Goodwill and nearly fainted over my shopping cart. The cover is gorgeous in person, the page’s edges are uneven and wrinkly like an old-fashioned book, and the illustrations are awesome. I don’t care that this is a children’s book, I’m happy to own it!

The Casual Vacancy: This was another book I first saw online–I’d never realized J.K. Rowling wrote other books besides Harry Potter. XD I found this hardback right next to Life After Life and brought them home together. It’s written specifically for adults, so I’m very curious to see what it’s about. I love the yellow cover!

The Shogun’s Daughter: I didn’t know anything about this book when I bought it. That it was a historical novel set in Japan was enough to interest me; I also thought the cover was beautiful, and I just felt good vibes: I couldn’t leave it behind. It was only after I got home that I realized it was a mystery (HUZZAH!) and it was highly praised on Goodreads. I always follow my gut now while shopping books because of that….

The Blind Assassin: I bought this the same way I did The Shogun’s Daughter. The spine caught my eye at the store, the cover looked appealing when I pulled it off, I felt good vibes, I brought it home, and Goodreads said it was good. It’s quite a large hardback, though, so it’s one of those “can you squeeze me in?” books. 😀

TheNightCircus
this book is literal magic

This is only half of the books that only recently came into my possession: The Night Circus just arrived a few minutes ago in the mail. I just wanted a copy so badly. Because it was awesome.

I picked up a hardback copy of The Goblet of Fire and wedged it in with my big books like Sherlock Holmes, a HG Wells collection, and Dracula. JK and her dinosaur-sized books!

I picked up fourteen different random hardback/paperback books on the 4th because of gift card and more good vibes (which all proved right,) and I’m had to put several of those under my bed. XD And I have more books  coming in the mail!

I’M SO HAPPY TO LOVE BOOKS AGAIN BUT WHEN WILL I EVER READ THEM ALL.

Well, I wonder what I will feel motivated to blog about next. Are you reading anything unique this summer?

~Jamie

8 thoughts on “Last Ten Books That Came Into My Possession

  1. The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making is a really cool book! It reminds me a little bit of Alice in Wonderland in some ways, but all up it’s unlike anything I’ve ever read before. Definitely expect this book to be different from your normal reads. And oh, the cover for The Teleportation Accident is so beautiful! It’s so nice to hear from you again. I’m glad you were inspired to write this post.

    1. Oooh it sounds even more awesome!! I can’t wait to read it, I’m so glad I found a copy of it!

      Aw, yes, it is nice to be back with at least one post over here. XD I’ve missed it, but I’ve enjoyed the break too. 🙂

      ~Jamie

  2. Ohhh so much variety too!! These look FABULOUS. I’m dying to read the Night Circus (wishing my library buys it cause i’m broke, hehe) and omg, I won Fairyland a little while ago and totally need to start it! I LOVE THAT TITLE SO MUCH. It’s so crazy and long and awesome. xD
    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    1. AHH your library just has to buy The Night Circus! That’s where I first read it! XD LOL I know Fairyland’s title is SO LONG BUT SO AWESOME. XD

  3. Love your list! You’ve definitely added a few to my to-read pile. And I super love that you had to buy The Night Circus. I totally agree that its a book worth owning! Thanks for stopping by my blog earlier 🙂

    1. Thank you, I’m glad you want to read some now (though who can afford to keep adding to their TBR list, right?! 😉 lol!) Yes, The Night Circus was so good!! You’re welcome. 🙂

It always makes my day to see your messages! Don't forget to check back, I try to write back to you too! <3

