How Do You Find Inspiration?


tumblr_mifi4fA6tp1rwcd98o1_500

It rained and thundered a lot yesterday, and apparently that is the first time that it has ever rained on June 5th here in Arizona since records started getting documented. It’s a month early for the monsoon, and we haven’t had a good thunderstorm since I can’t remember when, so that was pretty exciting. I sat on the porch and held the cats and listened to the neighbor children scream in the yard behind ours. Very relaxing stuff. 😉

I felt uninspired for this blog the past week, so I decided to take that problem and make it a blog post topic. I don’t generally lack inspiration, at least not completely. I’m coming up on an anniversary next week on my anime blog and so I have big blog post plans there. I started writing a short story for myself which has been fun.

I just feel zapped for this blog. My home blog. My baby. Why?!

SO. This post requires reader participation because I want to ask:

What do you do when you run out of inspiration. For anything. What do you really do that helps?

If I can mull over a few of your solutions, I might find one for my own!

I’m going to go back to the window and wait for the rain to come back again. It always leaves whenever I talk about it on social media. 😡

~Jamie

25 thoughts on “How Do You Find Inspiration?

  1. For me, I like to write about my personal thoughts and opinions about society and the media. So generally, if there’s something out there that doesn’t seem right or is just ticking me off, I’ll write about it (like my latest post). Only I try to give some light to the issue and have a validated reason for writing what I think, because if there is no moral basis, then it’s just a rant. And of course, I can’t do enough movie reviews, either : ) Don’t try looking for inspiration; sometimes you need to take a break! Last month, I broke my posting record with 21 posts and I think that might merit a break.

    Sometimes, just writing something totally random and off-the-wall is a great way to get inspiration. That’s where my appreciation posts come from. It was never suppose to be series, but I enjoyed writing about what I liked and other people enjoyed reading them, so now I write a new appreciation post every month about some random topic.

    I hope this all helps! Last year, I had little to no inspiration for my blog and this year, I’m just overflowing.

    1. Thank you so much! I really need to read this!! Writing about opinions and society is a good idea that I should try my hand at and see what happens. Movie reviews is a good idea, too. I’ll try to let inspiration find me for awhile! Thank you so much!

      ~Jamie

      1. Glad I could help! By the way, thanl you fr the comments and insight that you left on my post regarding introverts. I guess I was wrong in quite a few areas and I do believe that introverts have (what you called) been romanticized by the media, but I also want to be accurate and thorough with what I write about. Should I take down the post? Please be honest.

      2. You’re very welcome, I’m glad my comment was insightful. 🙂

        I don’t think I’m the one to say “Take it down/Leave it up”–that should ultimately be your decision. I would ask: do you still believe in what you wrote? If you don’t, then I would personally, at the very least, make an Author’s Note at the top or bottom of your post with disclaimers–or write a follow up post that you can link to. If you think you’d be more comfortable removing your post altogether, then maybe that’s the best choice.

        For my honest opinion, I do think your post’s idea of introverts is wrong. However, I agree with the part about “you shouldn’t try to be a introvert just because it’s the new cool.” Maybe you could re-write your post and just leave that part in. Romanticizing a personality trait can be tricky, depending on the maturity of the consumers–this was done to the word “geek” in the past five years. Now everyone thinks their geeky because they happen to watch Doctor Who or wear fake glasses rims. I think its good to point out when a trait or social stereotype has become romanticized so people learn to examine themselves instead of following a trend. 🙂

        ~Jamie

  2. Ivy Miranda gave some excellent advice. When I’m really low on inspiration, I write about something random which I find interesting, e.g. the murder-stroke appearing in Maria the Virgin Witch. That seems to work.

    1. She did, I’m glad she reminded me not to go looking for inspiration. XD

      Thank you for commenting! I should definitely trying writing something very random and see what happens! 😀

  3. Inspiration likes to hit me while I’m trying to go to sleep. It’s amazingly inconvenient. 😛 I wish I had a method to get it to come on command! Usually I just force myself to start writing and eventually things start to sound good.

    1. LOL I so understand! For me its when I’m in the shower! XD But it has even been leaving me alone in there too. 😦 Thank you! ❤

      1. Omg that’s awesome, I’ll definitely go read it! Thank you! YES, I know, the shower is the worst place for ideas. I wish I had a water proof marker that I could scrawl stuff on the walls while I’m in there. XD

  4. Personally, I just take a step back and give it a little time, (like now lol). I’d rather not post something for a month or so than just put out subpar stuff, but then I’m also slightly lazy so that comes into play as well lol. Sigh… I should probably get back to blogging soon lol 😀 I can’t imagine you being out of inspiration for some reason, you always have such awesome posts, this one included! 😀

    1. That’s true: quality over quantity. 😀 I might just need a break for a little while–half the time I decide I want to take a Hiatus (or need to pause for NaNoWriMo) and suddenly I have a million things to post. XD

      Aww thank you so much! I know, I’m baffled myself. The only explanation I can come up is that I’m pulling myself in too many directions at once to the point of wearing thin… 😦

  5. As an artist I run into this problem a lot. It happened especially this past year when I was working on my senior portfolio, since it was the first time I was coming up with my projects instead of my teacher.

    One thing that really helped me was this quote from one of my favorite artists, Chuck Close.

    “The advice I like to give young artists, or really anybody who’ll listen to me, is not to wait around for inspiration. Inspiration is for amateurs; the rest of us just show up and get to work. If you wait around for the clouds to part and a bolt of lightning to strike you in the brain, you are not going to make an awful lot of work. All the best ideas come out of the process; they come out of the work itself. Things occur to you. If you’re sitting around trying to dream up a great art idea, you can sit there a long time before anything happens. But if you just get to work, something will occur to you and something else will occur to you and something else that you reject will push you in another direction. Inspiration is absolutely unnecessary and somehow deceptive. You feel like you need this great idea before you can get down to work, and I find that’s almost never the case.”

    It was very true for me, because I was on too tight of a schedule to have time to sit around waiting for inspiration, so I would just start projects with a very basic idea of what I wanted and then watch them develop as I worked. It was amazing to see what ideas sprang out as I was working.

    So I say just start writing and see what it develops into!

    The other thing that helped me a lot was going to art museums and studying the works of other artists. It was helpful to pick out what I liked from each artist and think about why certain pieces struck me.

    I hope this helps!

    1. WOW that’s such a good quote! Thank you thank you thank you for sharing it! I should print it and frame it and hang it on my wall. XD

      1. I’m so glad you like it! 😀 Oooh, I should frame it too! I’ve never thought about framing a quote before, but that’s a good idea so I can see it every time I get discouraged!

  6. I took your advice and wrote a completely new post and made it more of a compare/contrast with shyness. I feel much better about this one. Thank you so much!

  7. I usually look around on pinterest when I’m out of inspiration. Annnnnd then I get sidetracked and can’t even remember what I was doing :p So that might actually be bad advice…. Don’t listen to me on that one.

    I’ve been completely out of blogging ideas, too (as I’m sure you’ve noticed… lol), so I totally feel you’re pain. When I do come up with ideas, my brain doesn’t want to form them into sentences. That’s a bit of a problem. So I try to do “pre-made posts” such as Beautiful People that will get my creative juices flowing. My inspiration *almost* always comes back when I do stuff like that.

    Hope you find some inspiration soon — and if you find any ideas, let me know! 😀

    ~Emily

    1. Oooh Pinterest: the dangerous but inspiring battleground of female mind! XD

      I should do this month’s Beautiful People for my book, that might help! If I do find some inspiration, I’ll definitely come share it! 😛

      ~Jamie

  8. If I’m running low on inspiration, it means I need to refill my creative reservoir. Read some books and watch some movies and listen to some music and generally fill myself back up. Works like a charm!

    1. Good suggestions! Someone else mentioned books, and reading a physical book before fictional writing has been helpful–so it might be for blogging too!

  9. Feeling uninspired isn’t a fun feeling. Some things I do to keep inspired for my blog is to keep a notebook of ideas for blog posts. Anything I think of that could make a good blog post I write down so I always have a stockpile of post ideas.. Currently I have too many and I’m trying to get them all written out. XD This has really helped me for a fall back when I’m thinking, what in the world am I going to post next? Ways I get ideas is I think, What issues am I passionate about? What do I love? What things bother me about (in my case) writing? What things have I learned that I believe others would benefit from? Hope this helps!

    storitorigrace.blogspot.com

  10. Weirdly, it’s reading blogs and commenting that inspires me. xD I DON’T KNOW WHY. Wait. I kinda do. XD I seem to always say little things that then make me go, “Ooh, I could expand on that and get a whole post out of it.” Which is epic when that happens. And, maybe creativity is contagious?!

It always makes my day to see your messages! Don't forget to check back, I try to write back to you too! <3

