This Was The Lie (answer to tag)


I got a kick out of reading everyone’s guesses for my “Which One is the Lie” post from yesterday! But you are all anxious to know the answer. 😄  I put some thought into my choice of facts–I picked truths that didn’t sound quite right and made up a lie that could be believable with knowledge of other evidence.

Here’s a reminder of the choices:

A. I have seen all the Twilight movies and own several pieces of merchandise.

B. Last summer I developed a phobia for scorpions.

C. The Two Towers if my most favorite LotR’s film.

And the false fact is!…….. *cough* drumroll please *cough*…..

large (7)

Fact B: Last summer I developed a phobia for scorpions.

Yep. False. While indeed, last summer I was stung in my sleep by a scorpion, I did not develop a phobia for them. I purposefully hunt for them in my backyard every few nights with a black light and I do not have conniptions or issues with looking at them or getting very close to them. Phobia free, I’m happy to say!

Fact C is true fact: The Two Towers is my most favorite of the Lord of the Rings movies… because it was basically the most flawless film out of the trilogy. I have so much love for that movie, too. ❤ And yep, this fact is public knowledge, as written here in my Lord of the Rings post. 😀

So…that means that Fact A is also true.

The-Complete-Twilight-Saga-Poster

I found it amusing and awesome that Fact A was the most guessed answer as being false! Y’all are awesome. I know a couple of you are thinking at this moment, “THAT FACT IS TRUE? ARE YOU A TWILIGHT FAN? YOU HAVE MERCHANDISE?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?”

I can’t say that I’m a Twilight fan. But I have seen all the movies and I DO have two pieces of Twilight-themed merch! Which basically means I don’t hate it because of reasons.

So here’s the scoop on why I don’t hate the Twilight Series.

Signed poster, Welcome to Forks, and Bella's truck.
Signed poster, Forks sign, and Bella’s truck.

Two years ago I had the pleasure of flying by myself to Washington State to visit family! Not only did my Aunt Rachel share her Twilight movies with me while I was there, but she and my grandma agreed to drive me to visit the real Forks town, where Twilight takes place. (These are photos I took on location!)

It was an entire day trip but very awesome. I got to see the buildings, forests, things from the movie Native America reservations, and La Push beach that the stories took place on. It was and incredible day of sight-seeing!

A huge sign right before reservation line XD and La Push beach.
A huge sign right before reservation line 😄 and La Push beach.

In Forks, I bought two pieces of Twilight merchandise: a white t-shirt with heart outlines (made from blood of course) with the Forks town name–it is my favorite pajama shirt!–and a baseball with the letter C printed on it, for Cullen. Because the Cullens play super baseball. 😄 I keep it on my shelf next to my Walking Dead and Disney merchandise so I always remember that I got see the edge of America with my family…and be where vampires and werewolves supposedly roam. It was a wonderful vacation.

As to the movies…the first is the worst. There’s some horribly written dialogue in that movie. Gag me with a spoon. But I rather enjoyed the last film as it had a surprising end twist that just about knocked me from my chair…and most people will miss it because they’ll never watch Twilight. Plus…Anna Kendrick! I can’t say I would recommend Twilight to anyone (*cough* GO WATCH HARRY POTTER INSTEAD *cough*), as the romance/relationship is pretty dysfunctional and immature but I’m glad that I got to watch the movies to connect with my more distant family.

large

And I guess I can say I’ve stood where a vampire supposedly stood, which is cool. I can’t say that for most other movies I’ve seen. And vampires are awesome…though it’s a general rule that I prefer them as menacing, not sparkling. 😄 #KindaTeamEdwardButNotReally #IGuessImMoreTeamVampire #TeamVampire

#DraculaRulesTho

~Jamie

15 thoughts on “This Was The Lie (answer to tag)

  1. Another former Twi-fan! I was a huge fan during the Twilight heydey! The only thing I didn’t like about the series was Bella and Edward. The love story was soooo over the top and just downright boring. Either than that the Twilight universe the Stephanie Meyers created was brilliant. Carlise Cullen was always my favorite character and they seriously downplayed his role in the movies.

    1. I can’t say I’ve been a Twilight fan, I just don’t super-duper hate the series like a lot of people. I agree, the romance was very over the top and ridiculous. I felt bad for Bella because Edward and Jacob both tried to control her. 😦 My favorite character was probably Edward’s dad, though. He was good character! 😀

      ~Jamie

  2. Yay, I guessed right!!! I’m pretty afraid of scorpions (I don’t like any bugs really — except for spiders, strangely enough), but you seem pretty fearless of them 😄

    How cool that you got to go to Forks! That would be a fun trip! I totally get what you mean about Twilight. I don’t really care for the books or movies, but they do bring back good memories of middle school when I went to see them all with my best friend at the time, and sometimes I still watch the movies when they’re on tv 😄

    1. Ah, you guessed it too! Awesome! ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

      Aww, that so nice! Yes, Forks was beautiful and so cloudy, just like in the movies. 😄

  3. The whole love triangle was ridiculous. It really had nothing to do with Bella; it was a testosterone race. I think Stephanie Meyers should have ditched the whole love story and make it about Carlisle and his journey as a vampire. That man had more depth in one word than Edward had in his whole being.

  4. Urgh it didn’t even occur to me to guess the scorpion one. 😄 Nice questions! And watching movies with family is the best, doesn’t really matter what movie it is.

    xx

  5. Ugh, I missed it. *facepalm* I’ve never seen the Twilight movies OR read the books, but I’ve heard so much about it’s being awful that I just assumed it would be the false one. Silly me. 😀

    1. LOL–it was a good guess, though, The Two Towers is most people’s least favorite LotR’s movie. 😄

      Aw thank you!… hunting scorpions is easier than it sounds if you use a black light, since in the dark it lights them up from four or five feet away! 😀 But the sting in my sleep was horrible and painful and I hate them. 😄

  6. I read the first book, found it too derivative of things like Buffy and Jane Eyre, and have never been interested in the movies or more books, but I don’t actually hate Twilight either 🙂 And visiting movie locations is always super fun!

    1. Interesting. I’ve not tried reading Twilight, the books were so big they scared me. I’ll put the time saved into Lord of the Rings I think 😄

      Yes! I wish I knew of other movie locations that I could go see–I’d love to see where Sherlock is filmed. 😀

It always makes my day to see your messages! Don't forget to check back, I try to write back to you too! <3

