Blogger Recognition Award


large (5)

So, once upon a time, a long, long time ago, I got nominated TWICE to do the Blogger Recognition Award, which I was very excited about. I’m AT LAST getting around to doing it! Horray!

So both S from A Free Mind and Hamlette from Hamlette’s Solioquy nominated me! Thank you very much, gals! I enjoy both your blogs a lot! I nominate you back in spirit. ❤

Rules and Regulations:

BR_Award+ Select 15 blogs to nominate
+ Thank the person who nominated you
+ Give a brief story of how your blog got started and a piece or two of advice for new bloggers.
+ Attach the award
+ Comment on each nominee’s blog and let them know that you’ve nominated them
+ Provide a link to the original post on Edge of Night

My Story Is Short:

I blogged for a year on my mother’s blog before beginning my own when I was nearly sixteen years old. This is that same blog domain with the same title. I simply needed a place to let my fingers write and connect with others on my own. I started out talking about Star Wars–A LOT. As I’ve gotten older, my blog has become more personal and less entertainment focused–it’s whatever I want it to be.

Interesting fact: something I wish I’d done, just for fun, is use a pseudonym when I started out; I think it would have been fun to have a “secret identity,” you could say. 😄

large (3)

My Advice to Blogging Beginners:

1. Do it for you. Comments and stats are amazing but don’t be so focused on them as you start–9 out of 10, you’ll be discouraged. Instead, focus on you; how you write, what you like to write about, and your blogging style. Once you are comfortable in your own blogging skin, comments and stats can be your focus if you wish.

2. Follow and comment on blogs that you like. COMMUNITY is important. Give them awards; be nice and thoughtful; be consistent. The authors are just like you; they will appreciate your sincerity and will most likely come check your blog out in return along with their followers who consistently see your name and link in the comments. This is the best way to get traffic as you start!

3. Your blog’s presentation is important. While people say “don’t judge a book by its cover” we all still do it and that includes blog browsing. If your blog looks sloppy, cheap, or is hard to read, people will leave without a second thought. Make sure your pictures aren’t too big or small and make your blog easy to navigate through. The longer your blog can keep someone browsing, the better. Don’t use confusing color palettes or fancy fonts or dark themes: if we can’t focus easily on what you have to say, we’ll go find another blog that we can read. As long as your blog can be read and viewed without much bother, you’re good!

large (6)

I now recognize these bloggers: Victoria GraceJames, Faith, Robyn, Rachel, Sky, Maribeth, Emily, Miranda, Tara, Tara, Ruth, and Vellvin. All of you are great bloggers with great blogs! I don’t care you whether you do or don’t want to do this tag, but I do want you to know that I think you’re swell! ❤

~Jamie

13 thoughts on “Blogger Recognition Award

  1. Awe! Thank you, Jamie! I really appreciate it!

    I won’t be doing a post on this because I seriously have nothing to say on those two counts. But, I will say that I really love your blog!

  2. Awww you just made me so happy. you’re so sweet and I love you!
    I’ll try to throw together a post about this sometime…haha. thank you again!

  3. D’aww, THANK YOU, Jamie! I’m so glad that we’ve gotten to know each other through blogging! I’m not sure if I’ll do the tag or not. But if I do, I’ll let you know 🙂

    *hugs*
    ~Emily

    1. YOU’RE WELCOME! I’m so glad too! ❤ ❤ It's totally up to you, I know people get tired of tags, but if you do it I totally want to see! 😀

      ~Jamie

It always makes my day to see your messages! Don't forget to check back, I try to write back to you too! <3

