The First Ups and Downs of ’15


Well, my new year has started off strange and different, full of ups and downs.

large
My Neighbor Totoro is technically the first film I viewed in 2015! ❤

On the 2nd of ’15, we had to put our family cat Patience to sleep. It was so unexpected and I cried on and off for most of the day. She’d been with out family for ten years (she adopted us by appearing in our yard one day and not leaving.) It was really sad to say goodbye.

The next day, I got to see Battle of the Five Armies by myself. I think it’s my favorite of the three Hobbit films. It was nice to finally see one of Peter Jackson’s films on the big screen, too. That same day, I bought Splat hair dye and set the date of hair change for Thursday.

School opened and I attended Monday through Wednesday as usual–it was pretty uneventful, outside seeming to blow everyone away in writing class with my assignment–that felt pretty good. 😀

On Wednesday, I got tired of the suspense, so I spontaneously threw newspaper down in the bathroom and poured dye into my hair. Rinsing it out turned out to be the adventurous part, IMG_2852_Fotor_Collage as I decided to do it the shower (SO BAD, NEXT TIME I’M RINSING IN THE KITCHEN SINK) and I got blue splattered everywhere and on myself (in my defense, in the instructions they show a person under a shower head when they talk about rinsing, lol.) Nothing stained permanently, thanks to hard scrubbing and baking soda, and my hair came out a deep blue; it looks almost black at night! I love have an unnatural hair color and it is the first thing I’ve checked off my 2015 bucket list as “completed”!

Thursday, Friday, and Saturday was spent marveling at my new hair color when I passed a mirror, watching Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood, and having a slow weekend with my little brother.

I hope you’re new year has interesting as mine, although I hope none of your pets of died! 😦 Overall, the first of the new year was simply unexpected adventurous mixed with falling backing life’s habits after Christmas. It will be interesting to see what else happens this year!

~Jamie

10 thoughts on “The First Ups and Downs of ’15

  1. Oh man, I’m so sorry to hear about Patience. As a big animal person, I understand. I lost two of my beloved pets last year and am hoping not to go through that again for awhile. (I have four cats right now.)

    Your hair looks awesome! I really love the blue!

    1. Thank you! I’m also a huge animal person, so it was pretty big hit. Aw, I’m sorry that happened last year! 😦 Animals are can be so special, it hurts like heck when they leave us. 😦

      Thank you so much! I’m really happy with it right now, it’s been an interesting experience!

      ~Jamie

  2. I’m so sorry about your cat 😦 I know how you feel; I had to put my dog down last summer. I’d had her since I was six and it was one of the saddest days of my life.

    Your hair looks amazing!!! I love the color blue and it looks so lovely on you! (I think I just unintentionally rhymed XD)

    1. Thank you! Awww, that must have been devastating, I’m so sorry! 😦

      Thank you very much!!!! and LOL that was a rhyme! XD

      ~Jamie

  3. Your hair is cute! When I dyed mine red this past spring, I kind of ended up with some red streaks on the wall that never did come off. Good thing I did it in the basement bathroom! Next time, I’m making my husband help.

    TBOTFA is definitely my favorite of this trilogy too. And magnificent on the big screen. I’m so glad you got to see it in the theater!

    And my condolences on the loss of your cat 😦 Our animal friends can leave just as big of a hole when they leave us as some human friends.

    1. Thank you!!!Oh no, yeah, at least it wasn’t in the master bathroom or something, can you imagine!!!! It’s so funny how something so simple, like putting a substance in our hair, can just get EVERYWHERE without even trying, lol!

      Yes, it was beautiful in the theater! I wish I could have seen Lord of the Rings that way too. 🙂

      Thank you, I’m still sad about her being gone! But today I cuddled with one of our other cats on the back porch and it was really nice. 🙂

      1. I know, right? They never say anything like, “Do this outside and rinse with a garden hose because it’s going to get everywhere.” Or, “Be sure to put painting tarps down everywhere or you’ll be sorry.” Of course, my hair goes to my waist, so I have to use 3 boxes of hair dye and it’s kind of a complicated procedure — next time, I’m making my husband stick a clothespin on his nose and help.

        I’m glad you still have some feline friends to comfort you!

      2. I KNOW!! I almost felt like I should have been rinsing in the back yard, LOL! Oh my gosh, I can’t imagine doing waist long hair, wow, I commend your adventurous spirit! But yes, you should totally get your husband to help next time, that would make it easier, lol! 😀

        ~Jamie

  4. So sorry to hear about your cat. Losing a pet really hurts 😦 No one seems to understand unless they’ve gone through it, too.

    YOU’RE HAIR. It looks so cute!! The dye package shouldn’t have had a picture of someone rinsing their hair out in the shower; it’s so misleading. But hey, if nothing was permanently stained then it isn’t too bad! 😀

    ~Emily

    1. Yeah, I know what you mean. Loosing a pet is such a horrible experience. 😦

      Eeek! Thank you! I KNOW I was kinda peeved about that. But yeah, since I was able to get keep it from staining, I count as a lesson learned the hard way. Haha.

      ~Jamie

It always makes my day to see your messages! Don't forget to check back, I try to write back to you too! <3

