Beautiful People: Author Edition


BeautifulPeopleBlogButton-PF2_zps5c587c9e

One of the things I didn’t include on my bucket list but want to do, is to be more active on the blogosphere. This includes joining blog parties and link ups of interest; its such a great way to find more people with similar interests!

So, today I’m joining the Beautiful People: Author Edition by Cait and Sky!

How many years have you been writing? When did you officially consider yourself a ‘writer’?

I’m 20 years old, and I wrote my first story when I was 7! I considered myself a ‘writer’ a little after that, with my mom’s encouragement—so I’ve considered myself a ‘writer’ since the beginning!

How/why did you start writing?

I started writing stories because I was learning how to type properly at the same time, so it was good practice for my little hands. I loved writing fiction so much that I just kept doing it!

What’s your favorite part of writing?

The story-telling, the adventure of giving a character an exciting life. I didn’t do that many exciting things as a kid, so I’d compensate by making up ridiculous stories for my characters, and live through them. Now that I’m older, another favorite part is the challenge of writing because writing actually isn’t always a walk in the park! It takes diligence, self-control, and oftentimes hard work to write a good story. I like to look back at challenges and know that I was able to meet them!

What’s your biggest writing struggle?

Editing and plot flow. So hard. Must fix. Soon.

Do you write best at night or day?

Usually I do better during the evening and night… not sure why. I guess I’m a bit of a night owl. 😛

What does your writing space look like? (Feel free to show us pictures!)

IMG_2890

Here it is! I have a small desk in my room where I do most of my writing/blogging/online reading. I’m about to get a new computer chair but otherwise, this is how it usually looks! I like putting up fun things up on my white board–magnets, Disney trading cards, stuff from friends! I write reminders there, too, so I don’t forget things, Lol!

How long does it typically take you to write a complete draft?

Oh, honey, it totally depends on the project. It’s different every single time, so I can’t even give you a guess!

How many projects do you work on at once?

It depends; I’m usually spontaneous and random, so sometimes I can have three different stories started at once. Other times, I will zone in one particular project and only work on it for a year. It really depends on what type of story it is, what mood I’m in, and if the words are flowing or not.

Do you prefer writing happy endings, sad ones, or somewhere in between?

I can do ‘happy endings’ to ‘somewhere in between’. I’m a pretty chirpy person, so I like my stories and characters to have chirpy endings too. I think of all the books I’ve written, I’ve only ended one sadly, and it affected me so much that I dropped that series for four years! True story!

large (25)

List a few authors who’ve influenced your writing journey.

Donald J. Sobol, Arthur Conan Doyle, Roald Dahl, Robert Louis Stevenson. Thank you so much, sirs.

Do you let people read your writing? Why or why not?

I’ve almost always had my writings read by somebody; the past two years have been the first where I’ve kept my work pretty private. When I was younger, I would read my stories aloud to my sister, and she still reminisces them, which makes me so happy (and surprised, because I didn’t think they made that much of an impact on her, but she talks about my characters like they are old companions! *fuzzy feelings*) I need to get back to letting someone I trust read my work, though!

What’s your ultimate writing goal or dream?

That my published books be well-known and well-loved by many people!

If you didn’t write, what would you want to do?

This is actually a really scary question! I can’t imagine my life without my writing! What the heck would I be doing now???? I honestly have no answer to this question.

large (38)

Do you have a book you’d like to write one day but don’t feel you’re ready to attempt it yet? 

Yes; one day I want to write a self-help book that talks about recovering from spiritual and emotional abuse for fellow Christians. My life’s story has so far been about the struggle of leaving behind poisonous thinking masked as “Biblical” and “Godly”. I’d love to tell my family’s journey that hopefully could help others who trapped in spiritual abuse. I am not at all ready to write it though, I’m still learning myself, but maybe one day in the future I will be!

Which story has your heart and won’t let go?

Probably my Tiger Series I started when I was 12, which followed a group of teenagers’ wild adventures as detectives. After 8 years, I made a noble attempt of putting the story to rest during 2014 NaNoWriMo with an alternate fantasy ending; however, the characters and their symbolic Tiger name are so tattooed on my heart that I’m sure they’ll stay alive in my head for the rest of my life. They are my best friends and I’m so glad writing gave them to me. ❤

~Jamie

15 thoughts on “Beautiful People: Author Edition

  1. Editing is so difficult. It’s not even funny how difficult it is to try to fix the first draft of a novel, and my first drafts usually end up being really rambly and just a big hodge podge of nonsense and telling instead of showing. At the same time, though, editing is actually kind of fun. I love your writing space. I need to get a whiteboard like that for myself!

    1. Editing is such a “blah” thing but oh so necessary, lol! I agree, it can be fun…if I’m in the right mood, lol! 😀 Thank you! Yes, if you can, get yourself a white board, it’s so useful, I don’t know what I did before I got mine! 😀 Thanks for stopping by!

      ~Jamie

  2. I’m right there with you on the boring childhood. It feels great to be able to write for others a more exciting life. But at the same time, I would guess that most people who grew up adventurously also long somewhat for a more stable, if a bit boring, childhood.

    1. XD Kinda nice to hear I’m not the only person with a boring childhood, lol! That’s also true; my teenage years got quite unstable and rocky, I kinda wish I could trade those for someone else’s ‘normal’. Haha. Thanks for stopping by!

      ~Jamie

  3. *squinting at your whiteboard* Dogs….Hurricane….. I see. So we’re about to be in for some unusual weather! LOL ignore me, I’m so dumb. XD ahahaha!

    AWWWW I love how your sister reminisces about your stories. ^.^ I used to let my brother read my stories. He loved them, but HEAVENS, I hope he no longer remembers them. XD

    It’s so awesome how your Tiger series has impacted you so much! I’m a little jealous of your bond with your characters. X)

    1. Heehee! Those were reminders that I was sure I would forget so I scribbled them before went to bed! LOL XD I like you already!

      I know! It makes me both happy and embarrassed because they were horribly written and she remembers. XD ROFL–don’t broach the subject with him, or he will remember, LOL!

      Aw! ❤ Don't worry, if you haven't written those special characters yet, it means they're yet to come! You'll love them! 😀 Thanks so much for commenting, you made my evening!

      ~Jamie

  4. I love your #3. Having vicarious adventures through characters has always been one of my favorite parts of writing.

    You have a very nice writing space. 🙂 I like the green walls!

    1. Yes! Isn’t it a great part of writing!? 😀

      Thank you so much! Haha, thank you; although they look more blue in person. 🙂

      ~Jamie

  5. Parts of editing can be fun, when you start to see what really works in your WIP and what you can improve. I like the part where I can sort of peek under the book’s skin and see what makes it work (or doesn’t). Making sure everything supports the theme(s) and moves the story forward — that part is fascinating, if often hard. The part of editing I don’t like is the proofing and the line-by-line stuff where it’s all about word choices and trimming fat. That gets dull.

    I’m currently deep in the throes of editing a novel, and while nothing compares to the joy of initial creation, I definitely am enjoying this edit much more than any I’ve done previously. I’ve never edited a novel before — with my previous ones, when I finished their rough drafts, I looked back and went, “Well, I’m done with that now.” This time, when I finished the first draft, I went, “Wow! I still love this story! I want to edit it! Let’s go!” Which might be part of why I’m enjoying the edits, lol.

    1. That is also the part that gets hard for me; anything monontenous is energy draining to me, which why I loose steam through many of editing projects. 😦

      Wow, I’m so happy for you! It’s exciting when you can feel ready to take on the next stage of a story without feeling tired of it! I’m a bit envious. 😛

      ~Jamie

  6. First of all: I love the color of your room.

    I love your answer for #3–making up ridiculous stories since your life was boring. Ah yes, I’ve been there/still am there. Sometimes I like to imagine myself in the place of my main character. It’s fun to imagine myself as a kick-butt hero sometimes 😛

    Editing… Ugh… I wish that there was a way to just hook our brains up to the computer and translate all our ideas into words. That would take all the fun out of writing, though. Oh well.

    Having a story idea that you’ll never forget is one of the best parts about writing!

    ~Emily

    1. Aw, thank you! I painted it myself! 😀

      YES. I still do that too! An awesome new song and a minute alone and I’m off in another dimension of a ridiculous fantasy. XD

      Yeah. Writing is such a struggle, really; I get mad when I hear people say writing isn’t a real job.

      Yes!!!! 😀

      ~Jamie

  7. Editing is one of the hardest parts of writing >.< A little while ago, I used to forgo it completely – we all know how well that works out 😉
    I love Arthur Conan Doyle's books! I first started reading them after watching the TV series Sherlock. Haha, my sister is my biggest editor too. Even though she's younger than me, her advice is priceless XD

    1. LOL! Yeah, editing sucks but is so neccessary. 😀

      I love that so many people have started reading Sherlock Holmes after BBC Sherlock, that makes me so happy! 😀

      ~Jamie

It always makes my day to see your messages! Don't forget to check back, I try to write back to you too! <3

