The Giving Spirit


tumblr_ltq2cfigJG1r4iscto1_500

Something peculiar happened to me this Christmas season, something I didn’t even notice till my Mom pointed it out; and I’ve done some thinking on it since. For the first time, I didn’t make a Christmas list.

I didn’t even think to make one! Which is so very odd, because I love Christmas and I love receiving presents–getting gifts equals receiving a physical object from someone who said, “I value you enough to spend my hard-earned money on you.” Like, wow! I LOVE PRESENTS and the paper and the name tags and the excitement of opening them. I say without shame that presents are the one of the best things about the Christmas season–it sounds selfish and materialistic to say so out loud, but it’s the honest truth.

So, I did a double take the other day, when I realized how much my focus had shifted off myself and on to others, without me even trying. Without me even realizing it.  It wasn’t even until a couple of days ago when Mom, in passing, mentioned, “Hey, you didn’t make a list this year” and I realized I’d completely forgotten about it.

tumblr_luedocHPGd1qd76qco1_500

I want to know why, in a rhetorical sense. Is it because I’ve grown up? Because I knew my family’s Christmas was going to be really low key this year and so I didn’t want bother my mom with a list? Because I’m distracted with my new story idea? Is it a combination of everything above? What happened to the my tradition of list making? Is 20 the magic adult age?!?!?!?!?!

I honestly don’t know.

What I do know is this: giving gifts is incredibly awesome. It’s what I’ve been focused on since Thanksgiving ended–“It is present buying time for family and friends!” And I like that that was my primary focus this year, without me even thinking, “Gosh, I’m too old to make up a list of things I want, I should focus on others for a change.” Like, wow. Maybe I am growing up…?

christmas presentI often shake my head when I hear people complain about how Christmas has become commercialized. Because you know what? Money is only as good as the things you buy with it. To give people gifts and see their reaction, hear the sequels, and make them feel noticed and appreciated–that’s exactly what the Christmas season is for!

Because when has the spirit of Christmas been about anything but giving.

~Jamie

4 thoughts on “The Giving Spirit

  1. (*clap clap clap*)

    Bravo bravo! Christmas (or rather, December in general) has been rather stressful this year…it was good to get a dose of truth this afternoon about the spirit of giving.

    1. Lol! *bows*

      Aww, I’m sorry December has been stressful for you; I hope you’ll be able to catch your breath soon! I’m glad my post helped a little bit! *hugs*

      ~Jamie

  2. I enjoy getting presents and making lists, but I have to agree with you, giving gifts to people is an awesome feeling! 😀
    God Bless,
    Vellvin.

It always makes my day to see your messages! Don't forget to check back, I try to write back to you too! <3

