5 Book Narratives I Love (And Envy)


51rTvb9VIfL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_The Complete Tales of Winnie the Pooh by A. A. Milne. The voice and tone of the original Winnie the Pooh stories is among one of my most favorite of narratives. Being completely self-aware, accompanied with relaxed rambling by the narrator, the stories take their time happening in a smart fashion. It’s creates an enjoyable, almost nostalgic-like reading experience.

jekyll-and-hyde

The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde by Robert Louise Stevenson. This book rather scared me the first time I read it as sheltered and impressionable 15 year old (or thereabouts, I might have been younger…) But I loved it for it. The narrative form from the stand point of a friend observing the sad scientific backfire was fantastic. I still count this as one of my most favorite books ever.

CharlieCover1964

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl. I read ‘Charlie’ many many times growing up, often aloud to my sister, because the story was told in such a unique voice. The characters talked very freely–very dramatically sometimes!–in an exaggerated way that I wished I could talk. I felt clever reading that book aloud.

9781402773242_p0_v1_s260x420

Dracula by Bram Stoker. One of my least favorite things in the world of story telling is the diary form. Can I say “tedious” more loudly? Well, I make an exception the size of Mount Everest for ‘Dracula’. Not only did the collection of the characters’ diaries work for me, it ended up making the story feel incredibly real. In my opinion, not many books can match the awesomeness that is the reading experience of ‘Dracula’.

9781607102113_p0_v1_s260x420

The Sherlock Holmes Novels by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. I have a very hard time trying to pick top billing for things that I thoroughly enjoyed all the way around! ‘A Study in Scarlett’, ‘The Sign of Four’, ‘The Hounds of the Baserkvilles’ and ‘The Valley of Fear’ were all incredibl reads with incredible narratives. (Honestly, any book list is incomplete without mentioning Doyle’s detective as seen through John Watson’s published writings.)

I hope that, one day, I’ll be able to create a unique voice in my stories like these authors have! (What books narratives left you wanting more?)

~Jamie

8 thoughts on “5 Book Narratives I Love (And Envy)

  1. MAJOR AMEN TO ALL OF THESE. Except Dracula, which is still languishing on my to-read list *hides in shame*.

    “To Kill a Mockingbird” is one of my favorites, because Scout nails the small Southern town, and the ambling “I guess” of a small child.
    Terry Pratchett’s Discworld series is one of the few that has totally engrossed me as an adult. The satirical wit always cracks me up, the solemn madness where needed, the brilliant juxtaposition of ordinary people dealing with the extraordinary as if it’s mundane. (Oh darn, the alchemists blew up a building again. Guess we’ll have street closures this Tuesday.)
    Megan Whalen Turner’s Thief quartet had me SO IN LOVE with Gen. Her narrative is fascinating because you see the events, but you don’t see the undercurrents of intrigue until the denouement.

    I promise to read Dracula before Christmas!

    1. YES!!!!! And *GASP* 😉

      I haven’t read To Kill a Mockingbird but it is a classic, so I probably should! 😛

      Haha, oh my gosh that’s sound great and hysterical! I’ll definitely have to see if I can find the Discworld series at the library!!!

      I will also have to look into Turner’s Theief! Thanks for listing a couple of your faves! ❤

      YAY! It is one of the best books I've ever read, so I hope you enjoy it! You will HAVE to tell me what you think of it when you finish!

      ~Jamie

  2. Interesting list! Aside from ‘A Study in Scarlett’, I have not read any of these, but, as you know, I am not a book person by any means. I want to think of more things to say, but I am really stumped when it comes to books, lol. 😛

    -James

  3. Once again, you’ve done a great job inviting the reader to join in on your personal story telling journey with your affable, warm and flowing style, Jamie. You’re well on your way to mastering the art of hooking your audience into a roller coaster of emotions and keeping them gripped to the end. After all, isn’t that what we really love about reading? Feeling the amazing range of emotions that words can manage to elicit when placed in just the right sequence.

    I’ve read all of the books you’ve mentioned except for “Winnie the Poo”, if you can imagine that! I certainly can understand how they would all capture your imagination but also take you for an emotional journey into your senses.

    I don’t remember reading one book until I was 17 although I obviously had. I traveled to Brazil as an Exchange Student for a year in high school and had a wonderful experience but I felt isolated at times with everyone speaking Portuguese so I found comfort in reading where my imagination could soar in a language I understood. “1984” and “Animal Farm” by Orson Wells were the first two books I ever remembered reading as an adult and they gripped my mind with the rich descriptive allegorical style that Wells was famous for. I learned through these books that buried in the surface of a writing could be cryptic hidden meanings and that fascinated my imagination and stimulated my intellect. ‘The Old Man and the Sea” by Ernest Hemmingway moved me to tears and had me hanging on every word feeling every ache and muscle pain for the poor old warrior who was trying to triumph over his adversaries which were time and the elements. “Man’s Search for Meaning” by Viktor Frankl, to this day, is one of my all time favorites because it managed to open up a new pathway into my consciousness awakening me to a profound sense of gratitude, wonder and awe within all life. I wont part with a copy of this book in fact because it is symbolic of expanding my consciousness and who I am in relation to the world. Mary Shelly’s “Frankenstein” probably did for me what Dracula does for you. The rich dark descriptions gave up rise to wild thoughts. There are countess others now too numerous to list.

    I love your writing style Jamie. It’s beautiful and flowing like a graceful bird flying from treetop to treetop. Thank-you for sharing your gift and being such a delightfully warm and loving human-being. It glows through the words on the page. Love, Erin

    1. Hi again Aunt Erin! I love your comments!!!! ❤

      Thank you very much, I'm so glad my writing flows!!! That is encouraging to hear!!!

      Wow, your exchange student story is fascinating! What a great way to find the comfort of reading; it's a real testimony of the power of connection books can give us. I have written all your book titles down on my to-read list! Your experiences with them sound memorable and special! I actually have a copy of 'Frankenstein' on my shelf but have yet to read it. I should get to it soon! Thank you for sharing pieces of yourself through your favorite books; it means a lot!!! ❤

      Thank you so much again! I am glad to hear what my writing sounds like on the other end! I try my best each time I write! 🙂

      Love, Jamie

  4. I love A Study in Scarlet, Hound of the Baskervilles, and Winnie the Pooh. (But you know that.) 🙂 haha That’s a rather odd mix though. 😉 I haven’t read Valley of Fear yet…I need to get some more Doyle books, I’ve read all I can find! 🙂

    xx

    1. Yay! And who doesn’t love Winnie the Pooh?! 😉 😀 I really enjoyed Valley of Fear, so I’d love to hear your opinion on it if you ever read it! 😀 I have just a few Sherlock Holmes stories left to read myself! Doyle is great! 🙂

      ~Jamie

It always makes my day to see your messages! Don't forget to check back, I try to write back to you too! <3

