I Won


free_texture_friday_541-1024x682_Fotorr

Read the official statement here!

See my winner’s page here!

When it was announced that I was the official Soundtrack Winner of the Hugh Howey Booktrack Contest, I tumbled down the stairs to my mom and managed out, “I won it!” We started jumping up and down and hugging each other. It felt surreal yet thrilling, especially on top of my poor nerves. I’d been apprehensive the day before and slept so badly that entire night. Not even Lady and the Tramp had helped calm my spirit enough to sleep soundly. Somehow, all the suspense was both lifted yet escalated at the same time!

I feel so blessed and incredibly excited and even surprised that Hugh Howey liked what I’d added to his story and thought it worth the grand prize. As a writer, I know the protectiveness one can have over how someone else is interpreting or viewing your story and characters; so when I added the music and sound effects, I wanted to honor and build up what he had already so skillfully written, while having fun myself. I feel so happy that that must have come across in my work in some fashion! That feels very fulfilling–especially against so much good competition!

So, three months since first learning about the contest and thinking “ooh, sounds fun, what’s stopping me from giving it a try”–I’ve won 5,000 dollars! On top of that, I’ve won an opportunity to co-produce another Hugh Howey book on Booktrack! How quickly this changes everything! I have money I can save for editing and publishing purposes, money that I can put into making myself a real author in the near future. I have the opportunity to work with a well-established author as well, which will be so good for me and I hope I learn a lot from him! This all IS HUGE, especially since I come from a background where I was told by authority figures and the pulpit it wasn’t God’s will for a woman to have a career outside of marriage and motherhood, leaving me so insecure about my abilities. What an incredible boost this is!

booktrack winner

I want to say a big thank to my two test readers; my sister Kayla, who told me it sounded great when I was insecure about the music selections, and James, who pointed out a couple spots of inconsistency that were easily fixed and also assured me it sounded great! Your feedback was very encouraging to hear before I hit that publish button! I would also like to thank Booktrack and Hugh Howey for hosting such an amazing competition! What a summer this has been for me!

I hope to very soon write a post on my process and tips for creating a Booktrack; I think it would be fun and I hope to encourage any of my fellow writers to check this program out if they haven’t already. I also hope to claim my prize money soon! Haha!

When it gets down to it, I’m feeling so stunned and thrilled and curious about the future and just–wow. I’m really floored.

I know I will sleep good tonight.

~Jamie

23 thoughts on “I Won

  1. I told you would win! 😉 Congrats Jamie! This is just awesome! 😀 I’m glad I was able to offer a little help too. 🙂 And wow, again, that is amazing!

    -James

    1. Haha! You were much more confident than I was! LOL! Thanks for helping me out and being a great friend! That definitely is always a confidence booster! 😀 Thank you for the congratulations!

      ~Jamie

  2. I teared up while reading this. Just picturing you and your mom jumping up and down, hugging each other. Thanks for letting us share that moment with you. And congratulations. 🙂

    1. Awww, that makes me so happy, thank you for commenting!! Thank you again for everything and I look forward to working with you soon! Your contest has meant the world to me! 🙂

      ~Jamie

  3. Dear Jamie, I am so proud of you! What an exciting day! Thanks for sharing your winning by buying dinner too! Much love, Mom

  4. Dear Jamie,
    I am so proud of you !! You have been through so much and have trusted God to show you who you really are and what you are capable of. This is only the beginning, there is much more to come. God will always make a way for you.
    Love you so much, Mary

    1. Hi Mary!

      So good to hear from you! Thank you so much for the encouraging words, it means a lot that you commented here! Love and miss you too!

      ~Jamie

  5. I’m not that much of a online reader to be honest but your sites really nice, keep it up!
    I’ll go ahead and bookmark your website to come back later.

    Cheers

It always makes my day to see your messages! Don't forget to check back, I try to write back to you too! <3

