Soundtracks//Darkly Clever


One of my favorite types of soundtracks is the scores for murder mysteries. Murder mysteries are interesting things because their usually very enjoyable with quirky characters and intriguing plot twists but are also about death, betrayal, and bitterness–a darkness of one’s soul that can move them to murder and the uncertainty of whole will die next. The combination in these stories makes for a interesting score because it must convey a forebodingness yet remain playful at the same time. These are two of my favorites.

Murder By Death: Opening Titles

I really enjoy Murder by Death with it’s spoofs of popular detectives and ridiculous, extremely self-aware plot twists. The music perfectly captures that curiosity of the detectives while at the same time keeping to it’s mysterious melody of uncertainty. I’ve rewatched Murder by Death at least four times since getting it for my birthday and the music is something I especially noticed and appreciated.

Clue: Opening Titles

Most of you know by now Clue is my most favorite film ever and I enjoy the soundtrack within the film itself. It is a lot darker than Murder by Death as the film takes itself a bit more seriously (Not to say Clue isn’t fun–it’s just that Murder by Death is just about as ridiculous it can get.) However, despite the darker feel, the score still contains that mysterious energy of a puzzle waiting to be solved.

Sherlock: The Game Is On

Can’t end without this one. It’s pretty self-explanatory if you listen to it. 🙂 One of the best TV musical scores ever.

(I would love to bring back my soundtrack blog series but I’m not sure at the moment how many I’ll do. We’ll see what happens.)

~Jamie

6 thoughts on “Soundtracks//Darkly Clever

  1. Fantastic! Another soundtrack post!

    Clue and Murder by Death’s scores are really good! 🙂

    “The Game is On my dear Watson!” I love that track. It is so detective-y. 😛 It and L’s theme are two of my favorite mystery solving music.

    I will read any soundtrack posts you make, granted, I will read anything you post, lol. 😉

    -James

    1. I’m finally getting around to publishing your comment; it’s been go go go all day! 😛

      I’m glad you like them! Ooh, I forgot about Death Note, that has some good crime solving music too! OH MY GOSH THE MUSIC MAKES ME WANT TO REWATCH IT ALL OVER AGAIN THAT SHOW WAS SO GOOD. *madly-salivates-and-dramatically-explodes-anime-style*

      Thanks for always commenting!!!! I have one more soundtrack post I know I will do and then we’ll see where it goes from there. 🙂

      ~Jamie

  2. I love the Sherlock soundtrack! I can’t wait to be able to play it on violin…though that probably won’t be for a while, I just started taking lessons at the beginning of this year. Still, I’m looking forward to being able to play Irene’s Theme. 🙂

    xxx

It always makes my day to see your messages! Don't forget to check back, I try to write back to you too! <3

