100 Favorite Movies|70-61


Intro

tumblr_mdppgrNaVd1r39wjho1_500 70. The Aristocats | 1970 | G

Oh this movie. This is one of the Disney movies I got to grow up with, so there is a special place in my heart for it. It’s terribly underrated for the amount of heart and pure fun that it is. The soundtrack is so jazzy! The cat characters are so endearing, especially for anyone who’s loved on a cat. Butler Edgar is actually a fun villain, the two dogs are hysterical.  (Personal note: My family had a tom cat visit us for about two years when I was 11 and he was built exactly like Thomas O’ Malley, like exactly. He was black and white though. We named him Buttons.)

jonah-a-veggie-tales-movie-movie-poster-2002-1020196001 69. Jonah: A Veggietales Movie | 2002 | G

Yes, I love this movie. I’m pretty sure it was the first movie I saw at the theater that wasn’t an IMAX nature show. I have a lot of nostalgic ties to it since I grew up on VeggieTales. This was back when the creators actually seemed creative and used all sorts of vegetables types instead of just carrots for crowds and when Kahlil the caterpiller/worm was introduced. The soundtrack and songs in this movie are some of VeggieTales best and OST is one of my ultimate favorites. I can hear you laughing, but I’m quite serious, I own the special addition DVD! 😛

pirates_of_the_caribbean_at_worlds_end_ver13

68. Pirates of the Caribbean: At World’s End | 2007 | PG-13

I actually really like this movie, nearly as much as the first in fact! It’s just so much fun! Things mentioned or begun in the first and second movies are wrapped up in this third one (if you didn’t know this already about me, I do like an ending movie that brings good conclusion to a trilogy.) It’s ridiculous that Captain Barbossa becomes one of my favorite characters during the run time of this movie, it really is! Captain Jack is witty as ever and of course my favorite character. I love the adventure through Davy Jones’ Locker and the gathering of the pirate lords for the epic ending. While not as quite as good as the first film, it only follows a little below it and I still find it extremely enjoyable.

real_steel_2011_poster_01 67. Real Steel | 2011 | PG-13

“Rocky with robots” is a great description for this movie. The futuristic idea of boxing robots is an interesting plot idea which was handled quite well. This is a great underdog story, with an underdog robot and it’s underdog owner. Hugh Jackman is always fantastic. I really liked his character’s progression towards becoming a more proactive, caring father to his estranged son. The story is very heartwarming although maybe not a great story, is still a good one.

21 JUMP STREET

66. 21 Jump Street | 2012 | R

I can’t recommend this movie but I will not lie to you all that I didn’t love it when I watched it (or that I bought it for when the sharp need to rewatch it comes along in my funny bone–an this has happened several times.) Even though it’s quite crass, it actually has some heart as well, which is what saved it for me, besides the fact that I did find it quite hilarious. I really love Jonah Hill in this movie as he plays a sensitive, quite lovable character–to make that shorter, I have a crush on the character. 😛 Channing Tatum is also great in this movie; he and Jonah have great buddy chemistry and are hysterical together. The plot is ridiculous but it works. It works, it works pretty well, actually. And the end is rather epic and I always get extremely invested in it! Overall, this is my definition of a ‘guilty pleasure’ except that I don’t feel that guilty about loving it.

super_8_poster4

65. Super 8 | 2011 | PG-13

I’m pretty sure this was my first introduction to the ‘horror’ genre, although it’s more thriller than horror. Since seeing this film, I’ve seen a lot more intense films but this movie made a lasting impression for more than just the intense moments. The plot construction was delicious in this film as nearly all elements worked together to push it forward. The characters are great; the construction of them is great. Although the too much swearing and slightly overdone young romance makes for some awkward parts, I still really like this movie and it’s overall vibes of science-fiction, broken families needing mending, and intense sequences.

cloudy2Lg

 64. Cloudy with Chance of Meatballs | 2009 | PG

This movie is so cute and creative! Flint Lockwood is one of my favorite animated leads because he’s hysterical, clever, and yet realistic. The animation is very fun; the colors and themes are, dare I say, nearly Dr Suess like! The creativity that poured into this movie is a real delight to see. The movie is also quite beautiful emotion-wise, with father/son problems being dealt with, funny macho police man who dearly love his family and lovable news reporter Sam Sparks learning to be her real self. I like this movie for the creativity and emotional depth it delivers. Not to mention it’s also whip smart funny!

Audrey-Hepburn-and-Cary-Grant-in-Charade

63. Charade | 1963 | NR (I’d rate it a light PG-13)

You want plot twists?! Lots of plot twists in a mystery treasure hunt dark comedy with an amazing pairing made out of Audrey Hepburn and Cary Grant? Then please come over to my house and we will watch Charade together. The love I have for this movie runs quite deep because it’s so fun and yet darkly toned. The film has some great plot twists that may call for second viewing to piece everything together just right; the awesome thing is that the film can withstand rewatches because of it’s sarcastic comedic element. Audrey Hepburn’s character is lovable, classy yet truly quirky and a pure delight to watch. Cary Grant is splendid as always; I wish he and Audrey had done more movies together! The supporting cast is terrific, the soundtrack is very fitting, and the overall ride the film delivers is a must-watch one!

the-lego-movie-poster 62. The Lego Movie | 2014 | PG

This movie is fantastic! Just fantastic! It’s so hard to explain, everyone just needs to watch it! I love the balanced message between always following the instruction book and always doing your own thing all the time. Christ Pratt, who will be in the upcoming Marvel film, Guardians of the Galaxy, was SPOT. ON. PERFECT. for leading Lego Emmet. He is exactly what you would imagine your classic Lego man to sound like! Everyone else was perfectly cast as well (I love that Channing Tatum and Jonah Hill are cast against each other in this movie for some hysterical moments that were funnier to me because of my love for them in 21 Jump Street.) The animation style is made to look like stop-motion animation, which was a smart choice to make it look more realistic! This movie was also extremely hilarious–Lego Batman, people! To top it all off, it has a major twist at the end which I’m sure no one will see coming! In a nut shell, this was born to be an instant classic and so it is!

singing  61. Singin’ in the Rain | 1952 | G

One of the best musicals of all times, I don’t know how anyone can dislike this movie! If one was to make a study of musicals, this would be on the first ones I’d point to watch. Not only does it have fantastic musical numbers and great characters, but the whole plot follows Hollywood’s transition from silent pictures to ‘talkies’, which is a fascinating time for motion pictures. There’s nothing I don’t like about this movie. It’s a comedy and a darn good one. The songs are gorgeous, memorable and catching. The romance is so sweet, one of the cutest ever. Overall it’s just a very fun, very chirpy movie which can empower anyone to be happy in a rainstorm if they have the right song to sing in it!

7 thoughts on “100 Favorite Movies|70-61

  1. I remember watching The Aristocats when I was a little kid a couple of times.

    I remember watching some Veggietales movies when I was a very little kid. I don’t remember much beyond that.

    Even though I enjoy the Pirates sequels, Depp is never quite as good as he was in the first Pirates. The first is such a great movie.

    Yep, “Rocky with robots” is an accurate description of Real Steel. Real Steel was a very fun movie, and, as you said, Jackman was great.

    You watched 21 Jump Street? I need to watch the movie sometime! In fact, the movie got great reviews for a comedy. 🙂

    Super 8 was a good throwback to Steven Spielberg type movies, and that is no surprise since Abrams directed it. It actually reminded me of a combination of ET, Jaws, and Close Encounters of the 5th Kind. 🙂

    Haven’t seen Cloudy with Chance of Meatballs, maybe I will watch sometime since the reviews were good.

    Charade was great! And it ranks around the same place on my list! Okay, so when do you want to watch the together? 🙂 lol That was such a great movie. I loved the twists and humor, thanks for recommending it to me!

    I suppose I will have to watch The Lego Movie when it is out on Blu-Ray, but I know that I will probably enjoy it.

    Haven’t seen Singin’ in the Rain, so I can’t say much about it except I have heard about in reference to musical classics.

    Can’t wait for the next part! 😀

    -James

    1. You are probably the only person I would give the go ahead about 21 Jump Street; I know you don’t like crass things but you might possibly enjoy it.

      You also might like Cloudy for it’s sense of humor as well.

      CHARADE! I’m so glad you enjoyed that one’s it’s so good!

      YOU NEED TO SEE THE LEGO MOVE YOU WILL LOVE IT SO MUCH AAAAAAAH.

      Since you review movies, Singin’ in the Rain would of the few I would say you should watch to review since it’s such a classic. I think you’d enjoy it to a degree anyway because it is quite funny and includes the film industry. 🙂

      ~Jamie

  2. Jump Street!!!

    Infiltrate the dealer- find the supplier!!!! XDD

    Makes me wonder how you’re going to fit 22 Street into your list 😄

It always makes my day to see your messages! Don't forget to check back, I try to write back to you too! <3

