100 Favorite Movies|80-71


Intro

inkheart_xlg

80. Inkheart | 2008 | PG

Family fantasy, nearly at it’s best! I love the delivery of this story. It’s a plot I wish I had come up with myself. It’s almsot hard to talk about this movie; it’s just one of those films that everyone should watch once and give the tale a chance to win their hearts. As a writer, it’s only a dream to meet your own fictional characters in the flesh, so that element of the story is pure delight.

disney-princess-of-peter-pan-1739665

79. Peter Pan | 1953 | G

It took me a little while to warm up to this movie. But non the less, I do like it now. Tinkerbell did annoy me for a long time but I’ve finally warmed up to her as well. Wendy and her siblings are extremely lovable, Peter Pan is the definition of ‘classic’, and Captain Hook is quite a character! The film’s wiggled it’s way into my heart within the past several months and now it’s one of the classic Disney movies I wish I could have grown up with.

Corpse-Bride-2005_06

78. Corpse Bride | 2005 | PG

The plot (fantasy romance) is very simple and nothing that special but the movie is one of my favorite animated features because of almost everything else about it. The musical numbers are both spirited and beautiful. The Victorian and after-death settings are some of my favorite. The stop-motion animation is gorgeous. Johnny Depp and Helena Bonham Carter are paired together once more, which I love, even if it’s just their voices. I also usually despise love triangles but I loved this one because of how it resolved. Overall a favorite animated film for the dark romantic within me!

ghostface_in_scream-1920x1080

77. Scream 3 | 2003 | R

It was better than Scream 2, at least in my opinion! I enjoyed the scares as much as I was scared of them; Ghost Face is a terrifying yet fantastic villain. A big score for me was that two characters, who really needed a new act from the ones they’d gone through in the first two movies, finally got some conclusion together. Yes, I really adore this couple but I’m skipping names for spoiler sake. Trust me on this one. Also this film wrapped up the other two movies nicely with a good conclusion (even though there is a Scream 4, which is higher on this list.)

she2

76. She’s the Man | 2006 | PG-13

This movie is hysterical. Easily one of my top favorite comedies ever. Channing Tatum and Amanda Bynes are great together in this movie. Pure high school type fun, this is one of those movies you throw in when you need a really good laugh and want to see a ridiculous plot actually work. At least, I get a really good laugh out of it.

secretariat_2010_1600x1200_422492

75. Secretariat | 2010 | PG

Horse movies are some of my favorite and I love this movie to pieces. The characters are fun, the journey is great, the race scenes are powerful and exciting, and I appreciate the message of charging forward when faced with difficulties. Penny Chenery is a favorite female character; I love her attitude, enthusiasm and heart. I love everyone else as well, especially the jockey Ron. And any and all scenes with a horse in them are completely loved and appreciated. 😛

Spider-Man

74. Spider-Man | 2002 | PG-13

Even though I saw The Amazing Spider-Man first, I still really loved this movie when I watched it about a week later. Toby Maguire was perfect for Peter Parker; I love Peter and his beginnings as Spider-Man. The Green Goblin was hard to take seriously, though, at least when he was in costume. However, the rest of the film is great. I sadly watched it too many times too close together, so I’m rather tired of it in a sense. But it should speak that I really did love the ride it gave me because of the rewatches. 😛

Betman_Begins_12

 73. Batman Begins | 2005 | PG-13

I like this movie a lot more than most. Bruce Wayne’s journey to being Batman, emotionally and physically, really hit home for me. The film communicated the conquering of fear very well and I connected to story and journey enough to really care about Bruce. Alfred became one of my favorite characters almost instantly. I really like the atmosphere of Gotham city in this movie as well, a lot better than I do in the other two movies. I like Cillian Murphy in general, so I like Scarecrow, too. Overall, an enjoyable, good movie which I consider underrated.

star-wars-return-of-the-jedi-lp-back

 72. Return of the Jedi | 1983 | PG

I love this movie quite a bit, despite the Ewoks and the overall weirdness of Jabba’s palace. The characters are still great, most of them at the height of personal growth from all three films. I love the resolution the whole film gives the Original Trilogy. I love the soundtrack to this film–even though I don’t like the Ewoks, their theme is one of my very favorites from the entire saga. Han is just as classic and if not more heroic than ever; Harrison Ford is always a delight. The ending battle between Luke and Vader is also one of my ultimate favorites, especially with the twist-like ending to it. But seriously, it’s Star Wars, I shouldn’t need to go on too much here. 😛

itsawonderfullife-email

71. It’s a Wonderful Life | 1946 | PG

This is probably one of the most popular Christmas movies ever and for good reason! I love seeing the life story of George Bailey and his little town; it’s almost like going home each Christmas because it often feels so heartwarming yet realistic. Since seeing this movie as a younger girl, I’ve often wondered what people’s live around me would be like if I had never been born; so, the film not only creates and delivers a triumphant film but gives us things to think about in our own lives. This is one of the best things a movie can give us. 🙂

~Jamie

9 thoughts on “100 Favorite Movies|80-71

  1. I am glad that you liked Inkheart. Even though I did not really remember much about the actual movie, the concept was memorable at least. 🙂

    My brother used to love anything Peter Pan when we were little kids, so he made me watch that Peter Pan movie, as well as the live action so many times that I absolutely hated it! I actually hid the DVD of the live action at one point. lol 😛 I don’t hold anything against the old Disney one today, but I just do not care to ever watch it again.

    Since stop motion animation the only animation that I actually like that comes from the west, I will have to look into Corpse Bride sometime. 🙂

    I will need to watch the first Scream at some point.

    Seeing actors in their late 20s play high schoolers always seemed kind of strange, except in the Spider-Man movies. lol

    Oh yeah, I remember watching Secretariat. That was good for a horse movie (I am not a fan of the genre).

    I can imagine how strange it probably is watching a newer version of a movie and then watching the original a few weeks later. had ten years between the Amazing Spider-Man and the original, but I still love both of them! I need to watch the Raimi Spider-Man movies again!

    I know you are not as familiar with the general opinion of movies as I am, but Batman Begins is often overrated in my opinion. It is usually right up there (or higher than) with the Dark Knight and first Iron Man movie on a lot of lists. I actually like Batman Begins more than you (it is ranked around 52 on my list I think).

    I LOVED RETURN OF THE JEDI! I need to watch it again soon! 😀

    Not my favorite James Stewart movie, but It’s a Wonderful Life is one of his best. It is a really great classic Christmas movie.

    Looking forward to the continuation of the list!

    -James

    1. I love your commentary on all the movies, James!!!

      THAT IS ACTUALLY HYSTERICAL ABOUT PETER PAN! LOL! I understand getting tired of a movie like that though. 😦 I have not seen the live action movie but I don’t think I would like too. The animation version is the way to go for me in regards to that story…

      YOU NEED TO SEE SCREAM OMG THAT IS A MUST SEE!!! Especially for someone like you who reviews movies; it’s got a cult following and everything (I think it deserves the following, it is really good and the sequels are not bad either!)

      Mmm, I don’t think they were that old. Tatum actually looks younger in this movie than he does in some of his more recent films.

      Really? I guess I consider it underrated because I don’t hear a lot of people who like it. I see why it’s higher on your list; I have a lot more animated films coming up which you would not have. That’s probably why BB is not higher. 😛

      I NEED TO REWATCH ALL OF STAR WARS MYSELF. THEY ARE SO GOOD.

      I am too, I’ve done a lot of micro-rearranging the past few days and I like it a lot more now. It has kept me from writing down my thoughts, though, so I need to get my next post written!!!

  2. Inkheart is an entertaining movie, but overall, I prefer the books, what can I say? I’m a book worm. 😀
    I just love Disney classics and Peter Pan is up there as one of my favourites. I just think it’s a great movie and it’s Disney so yeah, what’s not to like? Oh, though I don’t like Tinkerbell, she just irritates me mostly.:P
    Spiderman is a good movie. I actually really like the Green Goblin because I find him funny, Mary Jane just drives me nuts, well because she is nuts! Tobey Maguire was a good Peter Parker but I prefer umm, oh I can’t remember his name but from AS.
    BATMAN! Yeah, obviously I like Batman Begins 😛 I’m not quite sure which Batman movie I like the most now, probably this one, but I’m not positive. 😉
    Return of the Jedi is awesome because it’s Star Wars, but I always got annoyed because there was no talking at the end! And I always feel sad after I watch it because I know that’s the end. Until they decided to make episode 7, what is your opinion on that?

    God Bless,
    Vellvin.

    1. I’ve not read the books but I’ve heard their good. 🙂

      Tinkerbell irritated me for the longest time but I can stand her now. 😛

      I agree about Mary Jane; I liked her in the first movie but than her character just caused a lot of drama in the second and third. I like Andrew Garfield too! He was great!

      I never really noticed that about the end of ROTJ. Hmm. My opinion on them making Episode 7? I’m full of dread right now, at least until I see something that makes me feel otherwise.

      ~Jamie

It always makes my day to see your messages! Don't forget to check back, I try to write back to you too! <3

