100 Favorite Films | 100-91


Intro

tumblr_lr9s5y6USW1qbem7no1_500

 100. Tangled | 2010 | PG

While I find Tangled rather overrated and most of it’s fandom intimidating, the animation is still some of the best I’ve ever seen. I love the all colors. SO MANY COLORS, GUYS. There are so many beautiful scenes throughout and Rapunzel’s hair is gorgeous, although I despise the fact that it never actually gets tangled. Overall it’s a good movie and I like a lot more after seeing Frozen.

madagascar_3_europes_most_wanted_8

99. Madagascar 3: Europe’s Most Wanted | 2012 | PG

I fell in love with this movie on accident. I didn’t even care for the first two movies outside of the penguins because they were gems. However, I only watched the first two because a friend of mine had absolutely loved the third one and I wanted to see if it was any good. Turns out the third one was actually pretty funny and wrapped everyone’s stories up pretty well. The penguins were once again hysterical, the villain was hysterical, the circus scenes were amazing in regards to animation and colors and as I just said, everything wrapped up nicely. The rodent King Julien and his little henchmen finally wiggled their way into my heart in this third one as well. So! “I like to move it, move it!”

Prince-of-Persia-movie-wallpaper-2

98. The Prince of Persia: Sands of Time | 2010 | PG-13

I think it’s so neat this one is based after a video game! The story’s pretty good, the characters are quite fun, the soundtrack is fantastic, and I like the visuals and setting. I like the twist ending, too. And that’s about it for this one! 😛

charliechocolate1

97. Charlie and the Chocolate Factory | 2005 | PG

I fell in love with this movie; slightly updated for the modern world, it still rings true to one of my favorite childhood books. The crazy colorful sets, the original score, the Tim Burton nuttiness and Johnny Depp and Freddie Highmore make this film a delight to me. While the only thing I wish was different the Oompa-Loompas, on an overall scale, the film is great. It definitely wins in spades to me for the accuracy to character and plot alike.

a-bugs-life-5221cdec750f8

96. A Bug’s Life | 1998 | G

This film is so underrated it’s sad but I get a happy feeling watching this movie. The plot is almost epic in proportion as it is version of the very long and amazing Seven Samurai Japanese tale. The ant Flick is a great hero and sympathetic lead who I think is a fantastic role model. The rest of the characters are enjoyable and fun together. The Pixar creativity in this film is great and makes me smile. While I didn’t grow up on this film at all, I am able to enjoy it now at my age which I think is a great achievement on Pixar’s part.

nicolas-cage-national-treasure-book-of-secrets-poster-2

95. National Treasure | 2004 | PG

This movie is so fun. SO FUN. I found it genuinely adventurous with fantastic historical related elements woven in to it. Nicholas Cage was perfect for Benjamin Franklin Gates but Nicholas Cage is almost always perfect. 😛 Riley is so funny and not cheesy or out of place in the film, unlike a lot of goofy sidekicks; I love him so much.  This is one of those movies where I like to pretend all the ‘history’ is real because it sounds so neat. 😛 Definitely a great movie.

the-league-of-extraordinary-gentlemen-film

94. The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen | 2003 | PG-13

It’s like The Avengers set in an alternate Victorian/steampunk setting with past literary characters! I really liked this movie as I’ve read nearly all the books from which these characters are taken and enjoyed the adventurous, kick-butt adventure they go on. The plot is decent, the character interaction is intriguing, and the fight scenes are neat to watch! I would absolutely love to see a sequel for this film, or even a remake with better effects. Overall, a great movie that makes you want to read classic literature like some of my favorites: The Strange Case of Dr Jekyl and Mr Hyde, Dracula, and Dorian Gray.

poster-upside-down

93. Upside Down | 2012 | PG-13

This is one of the sweetest romances I’ve ever seen. The idea of two individuals kept apart by memory loss and gravity itself  is one of the most unique combinations of ‘trials to overcome’ I’ve ever seen. The visuals in this film are also stunningly beautiful. The sci-fi/fantasy setting of two worlds on top of each other is what got me to watch this romance and was certainly a fascinating fantasy world to observe. Although this movie falls short in a few areas, the romance is very touching and genuine, so most girls should enjoy this movie. I was certainly surprised by it. 😀

tumblr_luetwg2z1L1qd81gqo1_500

92. Thor | 2011 | PG-13

It took me a while to really warm to this movie. I honestly didn’t even like Thor until I saw him in The Avengers with his reinforced character development. However, what I did love about this movie was the fantastic handling and introduction to Thor’s brother. Thor is a must-see for everyone who plans to watch The Avengers so you can really understand the underlying dynamics of the two brothers and fully appreciate Loki as a freshly turned, full-on villain. As to this movie it’self, I really liked the rainbow bridge scenes in this movie; Darcy is at her finest in this movie; I really like Jane even though the romance was way too fast;  Thor’s character development is huge in this movie, which is fantastic. Once again, this is a must-see to everyone thinking of watching The Avengers.

rocky-ii

91. Rocky II | 1979 | PG

I love this sequel! Sequels almost always turn out to be disappointing or crappy but Rocky II carried on the greatness of the first movie very well. I love the continuation of Rocky and Adrian’s lives and the way everything led up to the great rematch between Rocky and Apollo Creed. I love all the Rocky sequels, but I think this one is my favorite of all five!

~Jamie

10 thoughts on “100 Favorite Films | 100-91

  1. Yay! Its here! At least it did not take you one and a half years of planning to get started with your list like someone I know *coughmecough*. 😉

    I like how you have the name and year and rating of the movie separated by lines (how did you do that!?).

    I love the Thor movie! Loki is the best character, and the movie managed to adapt the source material without making it stupid or corny.

    Honestly, all of the Rocky sequels kind of blend together for me since I have not seen them since I started my blog, so I can’t say much about that. You do what that a movie about Apollo’s son (Is Apollo the right name?) with Rocky training him.

    Can’t wait to see the rest of the list! As you know from my Tweet, I have started rewriting my list thanks to you inspiring me to try again!

    -James

    1. Yes, I’ve very inspired to write this right now so I wanted to jump in right now!! 😀

      Do the line thing? Okay, on the keyboard, the top line of alphabet with P in the corner: it is three buttons over and you need to hit the shift button for it. I don’t know what it’s called but that’s where it’s at. I’m glad it looks good, I thought it looked better than commas, which is what I first used. 🙂

      I’ve noticed guys really like the Thor movie. 😛 Loki is the best character, he’s my favorite part of that movie. 😀

      I haven’t seen them in a while either but I remember really liking the second movie but I can see how they can blend together. I did hear about that, I actually think you were the one who told me! LOL.

      Yes, I’m so excited!!! I’m glad you’re giving it another try! I can’t wait to see it when it’s done!

      ~Jamie

  2. (*cheers wildly for Rocky II*)

    Although Rocky III is my personal favorite, Rocky II is excellent, as well. On my first viewing, my parents were watching it and I was sick with a stomach virus, so I just camped out on the couch with them, hardly expecting to get as involved in the story as I did!

    1. You know it’s a good movie when you still get invested when your body feels like it’s destroying you. 😛 ROCKY IS THE BEST. 😀

      ~Jamie

  3. Love these movies!!! I’ve been debating on buying Upside Down actually, the preview looked great but I wanted to see if I liked it before I bought it, glad to know someone likes it! 😀

    1. Yes, I love Upside Down, I will eventually buy it for myself at some point. I hope you like it when you get around to seeing it. 🙂

      ~Jamie

  4. TANGLED!!! I love Tangled! Especially with the lanterns we went and saw it in 3D I think, and some of us were even trying to touch the lanterns! 😀

    Prince of Persia is pretty fun, though it isn’t one of my absolute favourites it still is really entertaining and the dagger bits where they press the handle and go back in time and other people don’t even know it is priceless! 😀

    Charlie and the Chocolate Factory is really funny, though I do find that it is rather long for a family movie, and Willy Wonka is so funny! Johnny Depp did a really good job with him. 🙂

    NATIONAL TREASURE!!! Okay, Riley is definitely my favourite character, and it’s treasure hunting and some of the clues are so nifty. 🙂 Yeah, I love it!

    Okay, well as you may or may not know I liked Thor (the character) from the start. I have to agree with you, there is a huge amount of character depth for Thor, one of my favourite parts is when he is washing up for Jane and tells Erik that he’s ‘most welcome’ also the action in it is really cool as well, also Patrick Doyle’s score is one of my all time favourites. 🙂

    I’d better go, can’t wait for the next part!
    God Bless,
    Vellvin.

    1. I bet Tangled was neat in 3D!

      I agree, those are some of the best parts of that movie; I love anything time-travel related!

      Yay for Johnny Depp!

      Riley is the best!

      Yes, I know you’re a big Thor fan, which is great because there’s not enough of you guys! I liked him once I saw him in The Avengers, myself but he annoyed me a lot the first time I watched “Thor”. He’s not annoying anymore now! 😛

      ~Jamie

It always makes my day to see your messages! Don't forget to check back, I try to write back to you too! <3

