My Entertainment of 2013


large (19)

Here at the end of the year, it’s interesting looking back, seeing what came into my life during this past year. I had a lot of stress this year and was able to deal with it in a unconventional manner: I watched lots of movies and TV shows, way more then I ever have in my life. But so many of them have impacted me in such good ways.

The_walking_dead_poster_2_Fotor_Collage

Doctor Who came into my life this year, along with such delights like the lovable Warehouse 13, the fantasy Merlin, the surprisingly great The Walking Dead and the hysterical Modern Family. Even Family Guy, which has more then it’s share of inappropriate moments, came along at the right time to make me laugh and love and was a blessing in it’s own whacky way. Several of these shows have brought me and my sister together, which is awesome!

I also watched lots of movies. I fell in love with Tim Burton and Johnny Depp, zombies done right, men in black, pirates, robots and animation. 2013 can easily be ranked my movie year, just as 2012 was my book year! I found Letterboxd during the fall and haven’t stopped using it to document my movie life!

Captain-Jack-Sparrow-captain-jack-sparrow-2485448-800-600_Fotor_Collage

I even broadened my music library a bit. But the song by Katy Perry, Roar, came along at just the right time too. That was an empowering song to listen to when I was at the place that I was and it certainly was brought into my life at the right time.

The piece of entertainment that impacted my life the most this year, I think, would be to The Office. I started The Office during the spring, a comedy to balance the insane amount of depression and stress that was in my home life. While I began many shows at the same time, The Office was the one that proved to be a real blessing at that point. It should not be underestimated how much this show helped me and my sister. It was so funny, and I flew through each season as quickly as the library could get them to me. It really kept me from completely cracking at that point and helped my mind keep busy, made me laugh when I was extremely depressed and provided some characters that looked at me and became my friends. I thank God that He brought that series into my life at the exact time it was needed and I’m pretty sure it saved my emotional and mental health.

Jim-and-Pam-jam-335445_1024_768_Fotor_Collage

Rounding this year out, I’m excited to see what 2014 will fall under, category wise. Maybe I’ll get back to reading again and it will be a healthy mix of both. πŸ˜› At any rate, I’m very grateful for the entertainment that was, I believe, Divinely brought into my life this year. Can’t wait to see what will impact me next year.

How about you, did anything in the entertainment field leave an impression on you this past year?

~Jamie

6 thoughts on “My Entertainment of 2013

    1. Yes, I watched all three within the last few months. I really liked them! I think the first one is my favorite, it was very humorous and felt very classic. The second one was alright but not memorable. Third one wasn’t as funny as the first but it was an excellent addition; it’s probably my second favorite. πŸ™‚

      ~Jamie

  1. I am glad that TV shows and movies have helped you through tough times. πŸ˜‰ I have a few somewhat similar posts that chronicle the things I watched for the first time in 2013, one of them being The Walking Dead (thanks for recommending it!).

    One more thing, Death Note! πŸ˜€ Its cool that you included it.

    -James

    1. Oooh, I can’t wait to read them! And you are so welcome, I’m so glad you liked it as much as me.

      Yes, I decided to include Death Note since it was my first anime, which is a type of animation and I watched A LOT of animation this year. And it was so good, too. πŸ˜‰

      ~Jamie

  2. The Office is absolutely awesome! Modern Family is good, and my heart will always belong to The Big Bang Theory. Have you seen it?

    1. Thanks for commenting; I’m so glad you like The Office and Modern Family! πŸ™‚ I have seen a little of The Big Bang Theory but am not super familiar with it. I do like Sheldon; he’s very funny. πŸ˜€

      ~Jamie

It always makes my day to see your messages! Don't forget to check back, I try to write back to you too! <3

