Miracle on Our Street


tumblr_lkhkq1cofg1qi3pcwo1_500

I remember waking up that morning and wondering what was going on simply from the top of my bunk bed; it’s funny that I could tell something was different since I’m not the sharpest observer in the world, especially when I was twelve. But usually my dad would come in our room to turn the fan down during the winter (because my sister and I liked to keep the fan going) and it was still going full speed.

Investigating on my part, I got the information that our baby brother was on the way with midwives already in the master bedroom with my mom. So, moving ourselves to the living room, Kayla and I stuck in the old Miracle on 34th Street to cover up the uncomfortable sounds we heard coming from upstairs. We didn’t even get half way through before we got called up to meet the baby.

I remember the first thought I had when I first saw Nathan was, “Oh my gosh, he’s purple.”

And that’s what I remember from the morning my brother was born.

Seven years later, I’ve gotten to know Nathan a lot better; he’s not purple anymore and has become a priceless member of our family. Nathan is very smart; he has strong verbal skills and a strong will- he could be a fantastic lawyer when he’s older. Nathan is an extrovert and is thoughtful and polite (most of the time :P) He likes The Lion King, Cars, Charlie Brown and Winnie the Pooh. He enjoys legos and puts together complicated creations above his age level. He likes Adventures in Odyssey and hide and seek and eating. πŸ˜‰Β He’s taught me the importance of patience and forgiveness by just being himself. He himself is a very forgiving person.

I love him very much and I can’t wait to see how much he grows during the next year.Β Happy Seventh Birthday, Nathan. XOXO

Jamie

10 thoughts on “Miracle on Our Street

  1. awww. Happy birthday to your brother!

    Three of my younger siblings were born at home, too! I still remember being about 7 or so and waking up to the sounds of a baby crying to find out that my brother Sammy was born during the night. He’s 12 now…why do they have to grow up so fast???

    1. Thanks!

      I KNOW! I DON’T WANT HIM TO GET ANY OLDER. Haha but at the same time he can do more fun things when he’s older. πŸ˜›

      ~Jamie

  2. Happy Birthday to your brother!
    Aw, I feel the same way with my brother. He’s turning 13 this year, and I’m like, “Are you kidding me, it seems like yesterday I was 13!!” It’s sad. But I’m looking forward to the fun times we’ll have together, even if I’ll miss the times when he was younger. 😦

    1. Thanks!

      Wow; I can’t imagine my little brother being 13!! Ahhh, no!! πŸ˜› Don’t you wish they could just stay cute little boys forever?!

      ~Jamie

      1. Oh my, yes, I do feel that way sometimes!!!! It’s recently been hard for me to wrap my head around the fact that he’s growing up and changing and that I can’t keep him as a little boy anymore. 😦 I feel like God’s been helping me accept that and enjoy every moment I have with him and not keep wishing for past days! πŸ™‚
        It helps that we have a really REALLY good relationship and have soooo much fun together! He’s my best friend; I can’t imagine what life would be like with out him!

      2. That is so wonderful to hear! I’m sure I will learn the same thing as Nathan gets older too. 😦 πŸ™‚

        ~Jamie

  3. Happy Birthday to Nathan! πŸ˜€
    It’s funny, here in Australia most people go to the hospital to have babies, probably because we have free healthcare here. It’s just a little strange to me to have babies at home. πŸ™‚
    Nathan’s a little bit younger than my little brother Corbyn! πŸ™‚

    God Bless,
    Vellvin.

    1. Thank you! πŸ™‚

      Oh, I think most births here take place in hospitals or birth centers. But some people do like home births and at the time and place that my mom was at she must have preferred that choice to going to the hospital again (I and my sister were both born in hospitals.) πŸ™‚

      ~Jamie

It always makes my day to see your messages! Don't forget to check back, I try to write back to you too! <3

