Childhood Must-Sees


There are several animated movies I’ve seen and grown up with that I would consider ‘Childhood Must-Sees’– or at least my kids will certainly grow up watching them. πŸ™‚ I don’t have kids right now, so I instead make sure my six (almost seven) year old brother is properly introduced. I have lots of films but these are my top eight (in no particular order.)

184609.1020.A

The Adventures of Winnie The Pooh. I’m so glad I grew up with this film. It’s pretty much the most innocent film you could ever watch. I think this is the first movie I remember seeing. It’s cute and adorable yet rather clever. I still like watching this movie and I have so many good feelings and memories tied up in it. There’s no way in heck my kids are growing up without Winnie The Pooh and his friends.

winnie_the_pooh_xlg

Winnie the Pooh. This movie only came out a few years ago but it is just as pure and beautiful as The Adventures of Winnie The Pooh. I actually bought this movie for my brother for one of his birthdays and we watch it together from time to time. I’m not sure if it’s more for him or for me but it’s great fun.

Toy_story_ver1_xlg

The Toy Story Trilogy. (I am including all three together.) I would consider these staple to a child’s film diet. Ya think? I didn’t get to see any of these until after my seventeenth birthday and I consider that a real shame. I’m making sure my little brother grows up with these stories and my kids will grow up with them too.

353_el_rey_leon_1994_4

The Lion King. CLASSSIC. I have memories seeing this movie when I was really little but I didn’t really “grow up” with it. Β But it left a strong impression on me; a good one. I recently rewatched it and was left with chills, smiles and tears all at the same time. It’s a fantastic film. At first my brother was too scared to finish it but he sat through it with me and now really likes it. So, this is another must-watch.

101-dalmations

101 Dalmatians. I didn’t really get to “grow up” with this film either but it was one of my favorites and still is. I love the music and the animals and Roger and Anita and Cruella was and is hysterical–although more sensitive kids might get scared of her. So, depending on my kids’ temperaments, I definitely want to them grow up with this movie.

Monsters_inc_ver1_xlg

Monsters Inc. I wish I had seen this growing up, at least when I was around eight years old or something. It’s a fun movie, very heart touching yet hilarious and clever. I’m a huge fan now, I sleep with my stuffed animal Sully and I have a poster of the two on my wall. It’s a personal favorite of mine now, so of course the ids will get to see it!

how-to-train-your-dragon1

How To Train Your Dragon. Everybody needs to see this movie anyway. But I really like this story so I was sure to introduce it to Nathan and he likes. Anyway, I don’t know one person who doesn’t like this movie, including kids. I really don’t even have to explain why this movie is on this list. πŸ˜‰

17e758bda4c48183951d93f001dd84fbc0e60ee4

A Bugs Life.Β I didn’t see this till I was eighteen but I still liked it. It’s a great kids movie and I’m disappointed that it’s so underrated! It’s brilliant and so clever, just like the rest of Pixar’s movies. I think Flick and his story is a great model to present to kids. It sure makes insects a lot ‘nicer’. πŸ™‚

Well, there’s my top eight childhood must-sees. So, what animated movies did you grew up with that you remember really liking? What movies do you wish you could have grown up seeing? What animated movies will you introduce to future children if you have any?

~Jamie

22 thoughts on “Childhood Must-Sees

  1. Well, all of those! Those are awesome; my little brother not only loved “How to Train Your Dragon”, he also read all the books!

    I grew up with “Bambi”, “Alice in Wonderland”, and “Cinderella”–they were all on one VHS tape together πŸ˜€ I love the classic Disney princesses, so I’d include “Sleeping Beauty” and “Beauty and the Beast”.

    The original Little Rascals were long-time favorites, as well as Warner Bros cartoons and the old school Mickey Mouse/Donald Duck shorts. I’d throw in anything Pixar, too.

    I promise my kids will be reading books, too!!

    1. Awesome!!! Once my brother is reading more solidly I’ll have to look into the books! πŸ™‚

      Beauty and the Beast is a little lower on my list even thought it is my ulitmate favorite. πŸ™‚ I also grew up with Bambi but I haven’t seen it in ages. πŸ™‚ I should rewatch it; thanks for reminding me of it.

      OH YES the Mickey Mouse/Donald Duck cartoons, I remember watching those when I was little. I have fond memories. I’ve been feeding them to my brother for probably a year! πŸ˜‰ They’re perfect-ness. Lol.

      ~Jamie

  2. Of these, I watched Toy Story, Lion King, A Bugs Life, Monsters Inc., 101 Dalmatians, and Winnie The Pooh (only when I was like five or younger), when I was a little kid, except Monsters Inc., which I watched when I was a little older since it came out later than the other movies.
    Except for Toy Story and the Incredibles, I don’t really care for any of the animated movies I watched as a kid. I did however watch some animated TV series like the old 90s Spider-Man, the even older Spider-Man and His Amazing Friends, Superman: The Animated Series, Justice League (which is still awesome), 90s X-Men (which is also still quite good), and anything superhero. πŸ™‚ I suppose I didn’t really watch any animated movies when I was a kid other than Toy Story very often. I mostly watched and rewatched Spider-Man, Star Wars, and Indiana Jones. πŸ˜‰

    -James

    1. See, I didn’t get to grow up with any TV series or cartoons, unless you include the Mickey Mouse cartoons. I think it’s great that you grew up on superheroes and science fiction though!! πŸ˜€ I didn’t get to grow up with superheroes. 😦

      I’m glad you liked Toy Story, though. πŸ˜€

      ~Jamie

  3. Okay, yes to the Lion King, Toy Story 1, 2, and 3, probably the Winnie the Pooh, because Winnie the Pooh is great all around, but have not seen that version yet. How to Train your Dragon! One of the best animated movies of all time! I love it! It is one of my favourites and some of the music is awesome as well. i listen to Test Drive and See You Tomorrow a lot. πŸ™‚
    I don’t think very much of Monster’s Inc, nor its sequel. 101 Dalmatians is pretty good and I intensely dislike A Bug’s Life.
    What about Prince of Egypt?

    God Bless,
    Vellvin.

    1. I listen to Test Drive a lot too! How cool! πŸ™‚

      Yes, Prince of Egypt is a must see, but it just didn’t hit this top eight. It’s probably in the top twelve though. πŸ™‚

      ~Jamie

  4. Yes to all of these! The only one I haven’t seen yet is How To Train Your Dragon. Monsters, Inc. is one of Pixar’s finest and we have it memorized; also, I was singing “Hakuna Matata” before I was three years old πŸ˜€

    Isn’t the new Winnie The Pooh movie great? My favorite scene is when they’re getting all mixed up over the word “knot.” You know it’s good when the adult siblings are cracking up πŸ˜‰

    By the way, have you seen The Emperor’s New Groove? That and Beauty and the Beast are probably my favorite Disney cartoons (not counting Pixar films), but I think I like The Emperor’s New Groove the best simply because it’s so funny.

    1. You must watch How to Train Your Dragon, I would love to hear your thoughts on it! It’s one of my personal favorites!!

      That movie was hilarious; we all laugh at the Knot part too! πŸ˜› I adore the music and songs especially, though; I’ve caught myself way too many times singing that honey song. πŸ˜›

      Yes, I saw it once, it was good but I think I would have enjoyed a whole lot more if Tumblr didn’t consistently use a ton of it’s jokes all the time. I’d heard most of them so many times by the time I got around to the movie this past year that I felt almost tired of them. Which was rather sad. I’m glad you really enjoy it though. πŸ™‚

      ~Jamie

  5. I grew up with most of these; The Lion King, The Adventures of Winnie the Pooh, 101 Dalmatians, Toy Story, and Monsters Inc (save for 101 since we never owned it, I have seen them all so many times I have them memorized word-for-word. I know I at least have Toy Story 2 and Monsters Inc down by heart!)

    So many movies growing up with and all so good! I would have to add The Prince of Egypt, The Great Mouse Detective, The Aristocrats, Lady and the Tramp, and The Jungle Book as my top must-sees. I love love LOVE them so much!!

    1. Wow, I’ve yet to have any movies memorized! That’s awesome!! πŸ˜€

      I love your top movies; I grew up with The Aristocats and The Jungle Book as well, they just ended up lower on my list and off this post. I still adore The Aristocats. πŸ™‚ I sadly didn’t seen The Great Mouse Detective till I was about sixteen. I MISSED SO MUCH GROWING UP. But at least you got to see it! πŸ˜€

      ~Jamie

  6. Winnie the Pooh, such a very nice bear. πŸ™‚ And 101 Dalmatians…. I like Lady and the Tramp, too, and the Jungle Book. My favorite though is Robin Hood (the old Disney animated version). πŸ™‚

It always makes my day to see your messages! Don't forget to check back, I try to write back to you too! <3

