Why I Won’t Be Doing NaNoWriMo


tumblr_mcgck5k0CB1qhk0quo1_500

I made the decision last night to not participate in Nation Novel Writing Month–or NaNoWriMo as it’s best known as. I’ve completed the challenge twice in a row and I was hoping to attempting the yearly challenge again this year but a lot of circumstances have recently cropped up and I’ve realized it’s not meant to be this year. For several reasons.

Firstly, I’ve just not been able to come up with any inspiration or oomph for a new novel. I have a plot idea but it’s stayed just that-an idea. I’ve not been able to make it come alive or get myself excited about it. It’s not working for me and I have literally nothing else new or fresh to use instead.

tumblr_m7di7deG981rnsq7ro1_500

Secondly, I’m getting my wisdom teeth–all four!– out next week: in the first week of November, which is usually the week that I do a lot of writing and get way ahead of my word goal in case problems later in the month. I’ll instead be recovering from surgery during that time! (And those teeth need to get taken out soon too. The dentist says my two bottom teeth have been growing sideways into my middle molars for quite some time and those molars are basically getting crushed–it’s complicated but I saw the x-rays and it’s crazy as heck. It is a wonder that I have experienced no pain!) (Prayers would be appreciated that it all goes well next week, too, by the way.)

Thirdly, my mom’s schedule just got crazy busy–which is a great thing–and I’m number one sitter around here for my brother. I can’t really watch, play, and help him with school crafts and things when I’m trying to loose myself into a different world so I can write! Those two things mixed together would be impossible, especially combining with the facts I stated above where I have no inspiration in the first place.

tumblr_liouit3lr61qzznhro1_500

I realized last night that I just shouldn’t attempt NaNo this year. And although I was sad at the idea, I did feel some pressure rise of my shoulders and suddenly other things were more available to me.

While I won’t be writing, I want to keep up with everyone’s progress (for those who are doing it!) and if anyone needs cheering on, you can email me or message me on NaNo and I’ll be still there to cheer you guys on! (I’m sure I’ll message some of you guys on my own too because I love being a cheerleader.)

I’d also like to try to keep up with my blog and I’ll have an easier time doing that if my writing energy isn’t being pulled in different directions. And besides, I’ve done other things with my fictional writing already; I’ve entered two contests the past month and won 100 dollars from the one, which to me completely makes up for missing NaNo this year. So there you have it.

Who’s still doing it this year? If I don’t follow you already I would love to! πŸ™‚

tumblr_mdcemjoSq71rhlh59o1_500

~Jamie

 

21 thoughts on “Why I Won’t Be Doing NaNoWriMo

  1. Well, I’m never done NaNoWriMo so I don’t have much to add to that subject…but I HAVE had my wisdom teeth pulled–all four, just like you. Aah, you’ll do fine. You’ll be real sore for several days and then it’ll be smooth sailing πŸ™‚ I will be praying for you!

    1. Lol! Thanks for the prayers. I’m not nervous at all, but I DO NOT do well with pain and recovery parts (My mom agrees with me here) so I’m not looking forward to the afterwards parts. (But that is why I just got a whole bunch of Disney movies to watch, so I think I’ll be okay too. πŸ˜›

      ~Jamie

      1. Yes, watch plenty of movies. Watch lots of Disney and Avengers and Cap and Winchesters and Star Wars…and Sherlock…and Doctor Who. No, on second thought, don’t watch anything that’ll make you laugh. Like, don’t watch “The Emperor’s New Groove” πŸ˜‰

  2. Aw, sorry you aren’t doing NaNo! That’s the thing about challenging yourself, it’s never easy, but if you feel you can’t this year, then don’t sweat it.

    I’m entering my fifth NaNo (seventh if you count the camps, but that’s an entirely different event than November). I’m working on rewriting a story I started two years ago, and subsequently lost from my hard drive! Thankfully, I have a hard copy, but I’ll be changing a lot.

    Congrats on winning the contest! Keep writing. πŸ™‚

    Alexandra-

    1. I’m sorry to, but I think it will do me good not to rush myself this November with everything else on my plate. πŸ™‚

      Sounds like a good plan! Good luck on the rewrite!! πŸ™‚

      ~Jamie

  3. I’m doing Nano for the first time ever this year and I’m rather curious to see how I deal with it (Ii’m quite the procrastinator) but I have a plot in pretty good order so I’m too worried. But we’ll see how it turns out!!

  4. I’m doing NaNoWriMo for the first time this year. I dont have any experience writing novels or really short stories. I have no plans except to have fun trying something new πŸ™‚

  5. I love those pictures. πŸ™‚ I still can’t get over how awesome it is you won that contest earlier and won 100! πŸ˜€ I’ve never done NaNo and I don’t know much about it but it always sounded fun; but it makes sense for you to not be doing it this year, it sounds like you’ll be busy! And I hope everything goes well in terms of getting your wisdom teeth out! And in just everything in general! πŸ™‚

    1. Thanks, S! πŸ™‚ It feels really weird not doing it even thought I’ve only been doing it for the past two years, but still. πŸ™‚ I do look forward to no writing stress during November. πŸ™‚

      ~Jamie

  6. I did the young writers program last year for 10,000 words and I am still working on my story that I started for it. A retelling of Robin Hood. πŸ™‚ I am not doing it this year, to tell the truth as it hardly crossed my mind and I don’t really want to have another story to work on until I’ve finished my RA story. πŸ™‚
    Prayers for you! Hope it all goes well! πŸ™‚

    God Bless,
    Vellvin.

    1. Oooh, a retelling of Robin Hood, that sounds cool! πŸ™‚ That’s a great idea; I should focus more on my unfinished stories myself. πŸ™‚

      ~Jamie

  7. I realized I haven’t popped in for like, forever! 😦 Life has been crazy for me too, but I think I’ll try out for NaNoWriMo this year. πŸ™‚

  8. I am glad you have made a decision. πŸ™‚ Writing something just for the sake of writing without inspiration is no fun. Winning 100 dollars for your writing is a huge accomplishment. πŸ˜‰ That story is still giving me chills. For some random reason I was kind of having a daydream for some reason and it about your story’s final scene when the entity reveals itself and I have to say that part is still majorly creepy, and very visually stuck in my head, if that makes any sense. Anyway, back on topic.
    I pray your tooth surgery goes well. I know that can be a pain. My friend had six that had to pulled! Fortunately I only have two, and they haven’t had to be pulled yet….

    -James

    1. πŸ™‚ Me too. πŸ˜€

      Which story are you referring to, might I ask? Either way, that’s really neat it stuck to you, I didn’t know I could write that well (and I know music helps anything so I must have made a great soundtrack to accompany it, too.) It makes sense. SIX TEETH? Good heavens. I’ve had teeth pulled before but never surgery. *tiny shiver* thankfully I’ll be put under so I hopefully won’t remember anything. Thank heavens I’m not scared of needles because that how they’re going to put me to sleep! πŸ˜›

      ~Jamie

      1. I was referencing the first one that won the prize first and then I was talking about your the horror story one. πŸ™‚ Both were great though. πŸ˜‰

        -James

      2. Ahh! Okay, thank you! πŸ˜› I’m so glad my horror story actually did what I wanted it to, I wasn’t sure if I had accomplished a creepy enough ending to actually stick anybody but apparently I did! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ I’m so happy right now!!! πŸ™‚

        ~Jamie

It always makes my day to see your messages! Don't forget to check back, I try to write back to you too! <3

