The Non-Disney Tag


Alright, here’s the last of my scheduled ‘list’ blog posts. I had a lot of fun getting more fandom and film content back on my blog and I hope you guys all enjoyed it, too. 🙂 Now we’re here for the Non-Disney (and Pixar) tag which I created. Please check my list if you want to see what did or didn’t end up on this post. 🙂

letterboxd

Favorite Animation Style: I enjoy all sorts of animation; I suppose my new favorite is 3D animation. I do however have a lot of respect for 2D animation and I think it’s a great art!

Favorite Dreamworks Films: Easily How to Train Your Dragon.. and The Prince of Egypt, which has amazing everything. Honorable mentions include Madagascar 3: Europe’s Most Wanted (which was much better than it’s to predecessors) and Rise of the Guardians was fantastic.

600full-the-prince-of-egypt-screenshot_Fotor_Collage

Favorite Non Dreamworks Films: Despicable Me 1 & 2 because of the minions and fun characters and great music; and Cloudy with Chance of Meatballs 1 & 2 because it’s just so creative and colorful and whacky. Both sequels just came out this year and I was so happy to go see both. Honorable Mentions include Surf’s Up (which made me laugh way harder than it should have) and Ice Age: Dawn of the Dinosaurs which I liked the most out of all four Ice Age movies.

cloudy_with_a_chance_of_meatballs_2_movie-wide_Fotor_Collage

Favorite Anime: I have seen very little anime and it’s not my favorite part of the animation world. I just don’t care for how everything looks. 😛 However, Death Note hooked me from the first episode and I blew through the series in about two or three days tops in July. It’s got thrills and shock and intrigue (and as anyone who’s already seen it can admit, quite a thing for the dramatic! lol) And it’s animated quite well.

a75173ffc33a637d1bcd07981e721087_Fotor_Collage

Favorite Claymation: CORPSE BRIDE. GAH I LOVE THAT MOVIE SO MUCH (review at my very neglected film reviewing blog.) Honorable mentions include ParaNorman and Coraline; both creepy and but entertaining. Claymation really baffles my mind because I can’t fathom the patience and details it must take to make movies like these.

coraline2_Fotor_Collage

Undeserving Underrated Movie: A Monster in Paris, which I will go into more detail below. The Prince of Egypt and Rango both seem rather underrated, which is sad because they’re both great movies. Especially Rango which is a great western movie with a neat soundtrack.

A-Monster-in-Paris-Poster-a-monster-in-paris-34911364-1063-1500_Fotor_Collage

Overrated Movie: Shrek–that whole franchise is overrated. It had it’s moments but… mehhhh*gag*. I also would probably not have gotten through the first two Madagascar movies to the third if a friend of mine hadn’t raved over the third like he had… And third was pretty good. But the other two were rather bland-ish.

shrek_two_ver9_xlg_Fotor_Collage

Three Favorite Main Characters: Gru from the Despicable Me movies; he’s funny, becomes quite sweet, is just all-around great–Steve Carrel (aka Michael Scott) does a fantastic voice. Next, I love Stewie Griffin from Family Guy–I can’t even recommend that show and I’m not going to talk about it since it’s tv but Stewie is the best part and has become an ultimate favorite: his accent, the mix of sarcasm with infancy, and all his evil little plots for world domination just makes him priceless. And, my other favorite is Hiccup from How To Train Your Dragon; smart, witty, inventive (and very cute). Honorable mentions include Diego the saber-tooth tiger and Manny the mammoth from the Ice Age franchise.

tumblr_lxrum8QJXV1qz5sajo1_500_Fotor_Collage

Most Hysterical (moment/character/movie): Most hysterical movies include Despicable Me and Surf’s Up. Most hysterical characters include the penguins from the Madagascar Franchise (they made the films worth watching) and the minions from Despicable Me (of course!) Most hysterical moment? Those would have to go to probably any scene that include the minions.

Fireworks_wallpapers_157_Fotor_Collage

Most Adorable Film: A Monster in Paris, easily, hands down; oh-m-gee. While it was a simply plotted film with a slow start, it is the definition of adorable. I am actually still mad that I had never heard of it before before finding it on Letterboxd. It has like-able, love-able looking characters, a decent bad guy, a misunderstood monster, beautiful songs and setting and, gah, it was adorable. Honorable mention goes to Despicable Me.

85781572_Fotor_Collage

Favorite Romance/Couple: Probably Clint Lockwood and Sam Sparks from the Cloudy with Chance of Meatballs movies. Very cute and precious.

1aa-cloudy-meatballs-review-art-ggcor9ro-1film-review-cloudy-with-a-chance-of-meatballs-2-jpeg-03202-jpg_Fotor_Collage

Favorite side-character/side-kick (non animal): One of my favorite side characters was Santa from Rise of the Guardians because he actually seemed real with his Russian accent and was just plain cool. Captain Haddock from The Adventures of Tintin was great, he makes me grin. Raoul from A Monster in Paris was also a neat side character because he was outgoing and exuberant but not the typical annoying friend that has become quite cliched in animated circles.

photo-promotionnelle-raoul_Fotor_Collage

Favorite Animal Characters/or Side-kicks: Toothless from HTTYD–do I even need to explain this one? Buck from Ice Age 3–he made me grin and really helped give the movie an extra kick that made it into my favorites. And I also like Puss in Boots from the Shrek Franchise–His movie was better than all four Shrek movies. And I just like cats anyway. Honorable mentions include Francœur from A Monster in Paris, Cody the penguin from Surf’s Up, and Rango.

17304-1920x1080_Fotor_Collage

Top Favorite Songs: “Deliver Us”, “Through Heaven’s Eyes”, and “When You Believe” from The Prince of Egypt; “La Seine and I” from A Monster in Pairs; “Once Upon a December” from Anastasia; “How Bad Can I Be?” from The Lorax; “According to Plan” and “Remains of the Day” from Corpse Bride. Look ’em up on YouTube!

anastasia-once-upon-a-december-the-russian-princess-11842641-780-435_Fotor_Collage

Top Favorite Soundtracks: One of the best soundtracks ever is from Sinbad: Legend of the Seven Seas–totally underrated; one of the best! How To Train Your Dragon has one of the strongest soundtracks I’ve ever heard, along with The Prince of Egypt. I adore the Corpse Bride soundtrack. Honorable mentions include the Despicable Me movies have some of the grooviest, theme-setting music and the Ice Age franchise, which had surprisingly consistently great original scores that surprised me.

Corpse-Bride-skeleton-wallpaper_Fotor_Collage

Favorite Villains: Eris from Sinbad–gorgeously animated and evil. Megamind–hilarious and tragic. Chantel Dubois from Madagascar 3–deliciously evil and sharp; gotta love the red hair. Honorable mentions include Other Mother from Coraline, Grigori Yefimovich Rasputin from Anastasia, and Pitch from Rise of the Guardians.

captain-chantel-dubois-frances-mcdormand_Fotor_Collage

Three Visually Stunning Films: I can never get over how gorgeous Sinbad: Legend of the Seven Seas is. Amazing hand drawn animation there, just flawless. Legend of the Guardians: The Owls of Ga’hoole had some stunning visuals. And the first Cloudy with Chance of Meatballs was pure eye-candy (lol sometimes literally!) Honorable mentions include Happy Feet, HTTYD, The Adventures of Tintin, and Epic.

2279_3_Fotor_Collage

Favorite Overall Moment: this is a tough question because I like so many different movies. However, the first thing that came to mind in regards to this question was the climax and end of How To Train Your Dragon with the big battle and the film’s resolution. *sniff* such a good movie.

Favorite Movies: Like you haven’t figured these out but they are How To Train Your Dragon, Despicable Me 1 & 2, Corpse Bride, Cloudy with Chance of Meatballs 1 & 2, and The Prince of Egypt. Honorable mentions include Sinbad: Legend of the Seven Seas and Ice Age: Dawn of the Dinosaurs. 🙂

What are your favorites?

How_To_Train_Your_Dragon_Wlppr_by_tacostandwallpapers

 ~Jamie

10 thoughts on “The Non-Disney Tag

  1. This was a fun post series, I really enjoyed it! 😀

    HTTYD and Rango are definitely my favorite non-anime and non-Disney animated movies. Both are so different than any other animated movie and HTTYD is a larger departure from DreamWorks usual type of animated movie with more focus on mature story than cheap jokes. I am really looking forward to the sequel and I wonder if Rango is going to get a sequel.

    YOU MENTIONED DEATH NOTE! AWESOME! 😀 😀 I love that show so much. Did you know that an American live action adaptation is in the works? Andrew Garfield was rumored for the role of Light. I am skeptical though since American movies based on anime/manga usually suck. Talking about it makes want to go listen to the soundtrack again. 😉

    The only question that I think you could have added was best quote, but other than that, great tag! 🙂 My favorite quote would be: “I’ll take a potato chip – and eat it!” ROFL No one has never eaten potato chips in a more epic fashion than Light.

    Does A Monster in Paris have an English dub or did you want it with subtitles? I have read that it is a French film.

    On a semi-related side note, did you know that a live action Cruella de Vil origin movie is in production? I thought you would be interested to know since you like the character.

    Great tag I enjoyed reading! 🙂

    -James

    1. 😀 I’m glad you enjoyed it!

      I know what you mean, I’m also really looking forward to HTTYD sequel and I would love to see a sequel for Rango too.

      😛 Heehee, I figured I needed to include anime so of course I then had to mention Death Note! 😀 Wow, a live action adaption would be….different! I wonder if they’ll be able to pull it off…

      I know, I had a Favorite Quote there but I just couldn’t come up with anything and I ended up crossing it off. Lol! Stupid brain!

      Yes, it does, that is what I saw on Netflix and I actually didn’t realize it was a dub till afterwards when I went to the Wikipedia page and was like–Hold up, was this originally french? Haha.

      A LIVE ACTION CRUELLA DE VIL ORGIN MOVIE?! That sounds really neat and actually quite thought provoking. I’d never thought to think of her back story. She’s kinda one of those villains who doesn’t need one. 😛

      Thanks for reading and commenting!

      ~Jamie

  2. “The Prince of Egypt” is my favorite on this list! What a powerful retelling of the Exodus story–and half of what makes it so powerful is Hans Zimmer’s soundtrack. “Deliver Us” never fails to give me shivers up my spine, especially when Ofra Haza (AKA Moses’ Hebrew mother) sings “I pray we’ll meet again if he will deliver us!”

    A new favorite non-Pixar/Disney film of mine is “Epic.” Pure eye candy and such a sweet story. I was very impressed with it; I didn’t expect it to be as good as it was.

    1. AHHH SOMEONE HAS SEEN THE PRINCE OF EGYPT! AJSKDLFJALSD! Isn’t it an amazing film, it’s been one of my favorites for years. The soundtrack is especially good and the animation had a very ‘epic’ feel.

      I’m glad you liked Epic; I thought it was a very clever film, I’ve always liked stories with little people in our universe (like the kids book series The Littles.) I want to shrink and ride on a hummingbird! 😛

      ~Jamie

  3. The Prince of Egypt is amazing- easily one of my favorite non-Disney animated films. And it’s one of the rare (very rare!) movies that can make me tear up- mainly during “Deliever Us.”

    Wow. Serious points there for knowing Rasputin’s full name… 😉 I love Anastasia. Those two movies are probably my favorite animated films that aren’t Disney…although I did love How to Train Your Dragon, as well 🙂 Oh, and as far as claymation films go, did you ever see Chicken Run? One of the funniest films EVER.

    1. YAY Someone else has seen The Prince of Egypt!!! I’m so glad it is one of your favorites! It’s an amazing movie!

      To tell the complete truth, I cheated by looking it up on Wikipedia… shh, don’t tell anyone! 😛 I have seen Chicken Run but it’s been several years and it kinda got knocked down the list in regards to other claymation I’ve seen. But yes, it was really funny! 😀

      ~Jamie

  4. I always loved the Prince of Egypt song “Playing with the Big Boys” 🙂 Holy smokes, all you people who watch all these movies…

    I’d never heard of Monster in Paris before, but clearly I need to watch it! And Death Note. That looks interesting.

    1. Playing with the Big Boys is a very enjoyable song! 😛

      Yes, yes, you must watch a Monster in Paris! And Death Note too, thought it’s not a movie, it is actually a show with quite a few episodes but I watched it so quickly it felt like a long movie… 🙂

      ~Jamie

It always makes my day to see your messages! Don't forget to check back, I try to write back to you too! <3

