My Favorite Villains


Today is a list of my top nine favorite villains. I don’t know about you, but I like a good villain in my fiction. They come in all shapes and sizes; there’s epic, there’s psycho, there’s cursed, there’s misunderstood, there’s even just plain scary. Each of these can add all sorts of interesting factors to a story. You need villains for there to be heroes, so I consider the villain to be very essential to a good story.

I had a little debate with myself on how I wanted to rank the villains and who should be first. I finally decided that the first villain would be the greatest villain in my opinion and the rest of them would be ranked by who are my favorites.

Darth Vadar, 6_Fotor_Collage

1. Darth Vader from Star Wars. Probably the greatest fictional villain to ever exist–or will exist– in the cinematic world. Darth Vader is the perfect package for a great and intimidating villain–the ‘mask’, the voice, his outfit and cape, his stride, his use of the Force, his agenda and lack of mercy. I don’t know if it can get anymore epic, but he really adds a lot to The Original Trilogy and he was the first villain that I ever really liked.

tumblr_ms0qybpvyN1r6mt8go1_500_Fotor_Collage

2. Loki Laufeyson from Thor and The Avengers.He’s that menacing villain with a tragic back story. I didn’t know Loki was going to turn bad when I first watched Thor so I got attached to him rather quickly because, admit it, Thor was a jerk for most of his movie. I was sad to see him turn evil but at the same time he was perfect for it, being the god of mischief. Loki was also the perfect bad guy for The Avengers’ first villain and he was pure evil that was just such fun to watch. I’m really excited to see where Loki’s character will go in The Dark World in regards to villainy and being Thor’s brother.

tumblr_m7u5okDycm1rc2viuo1_500_Fotor_Collage

3. The Joker from The Dark Knight. I’m not really sure what keeps Loki just a little ahead of The Joker in this list because I really really really really really love Heath Ledger’s Joker. I could care less about everything else that happens in The Dark Knight, The Joker completely stole and made The Dark Knight a success in my book. He’s completely scary yet funny in a dark sense, his outfit is freaking awesome, and what makes him tick is terrifying because he doesn’t do things for the normal ‘villain-y’ reasons. The Joker could easily be second or first on this list but he shall have to be happy at third.

jim_moriarty_by_mangopurilainen-d4rp7xj_Fotor_Collagee

4. Jim Moriarty from Sherlock. He’s here at number four because he’s just absolutely slimy, smart and revolting. Since I first read some of the Sherlock stories, I’ve always liked him because he was that mastermind who was Sherlock’s equal with the mind games. Jim Moriarty from Sherlock is easily my favorite adaption of the character I’ve seen and I love to hate him!

1-warm-bodies1_Fotor_Collage

5. Walkers/Zombies/The Living Dead. They’re no one specific but they scare the hell out of me so I decided they needed to be on here. They come in different versions, some move fast, some move slow, some go for the brain and other just try to bite down wherever. Either way, they’re disgusting; they’re a force of unnaturalness that make the characters–even us, at least me–to question our very cores of inner strength. And they’re freaking terrifying.

cult_doctor_who_history_100_objects_2_Fotor_Collage

6. The Daleks from Doctor Who. I haven’t yet gotten tired of seeing The Doctor face down his old foes; they’re classic Doctor Who villains; little creatures with no feelings and no loyalties except to each other. Their classic voice and robotic way of talking adds to the feeling-less beings. And who gets tired of hearing, “EX-TER-MIN-ATE.”

tumblr_lp3qy845Cw1qk7xyjo1_500_Fotor_Collage

7. Cruella De Vil from One Hundred and One Dalmatians and 101 Dalmatians. Cruella has been one of my favorite villains since I was little. She’s scary, she’s in your face, she’s a demon-like driver, her car is the neatest thing ever, she’s ridiculous and outrageous. If I was psychotic with a huge wallet I’d probably be a lot like her. 😛

once-upon-a-time-rum-01_Fotor_Collage

8. Rumpelstiltskin from Once Upon A Time. Rumpelstiltskin is a lot of things, both a villain and a hero, but he fits the villain category very well. Rumpelstiltskin is one of those happy type villains; full of magic, he’s constantly striking deals with our favorite fairy tale characters, often not telling them certain downsides that will follow their deal. He’ll do a deal with anyone, from the pure evils to the fairest of them all and back again. He has a giddy laugh that’s funny to hear, too. He’s a sympathetic villain in many respects and he’s one of my favorites.

01-Ursula_Fotor_Collage

9. Ursula from The Little Mermaid. I’ve only seen The Little Mermaid once and I didn’t really care for it. Ursula was the best part of the whole movie for me and she’s one of my most favorite Disney villains. She was downright scary and evil–she also is purple and that’s my favorite color. So. 😛

I have several other favorites which could go on to make a top twenty list but picking nine was hard enough, so these I’ll call honorable mentions. Among them include Emperor Palpatine, Boba Fett, Bettlejuice, The Terminator, weeping angels, Kahn, and Red Skull.

download_Fotor_Collage

I know September is over, but I have two more lists planned out, so this is going to spill into October, but that’s okay. Hopefully you guys are enjoying these as much as I am. 🙂

~Jamie

18 thoughts on “My Favorite Villains

  1. I’ll have to admit, I’m not a big fan of Sherlock’s Moritarti. They took his obsession with Sherlock too far for me , and it was just sort of off feeling for his character. But, I do like the others, namely Loki, who I adore because he is so very messed up, and you really feel sympathy for him!

    1. I didn’t like him the first time I saw him but he grew on me. But I understand where you are coming from. Compared to other Morairty adaptions I’ve seen, this was the one I liked best. 🙂

      Yay for Loki; he’s such a great, dimensional character! 🙂

      ~Jamie

  2. Oh yeah, Vader is the BEST! 😀 He is obviously my favorite villain, which you have known for a long time. 🙂 Loki is my second favorite as well. He is one of the few villains that could take on the Avengers and still be one of the best parts of the movie.
    Of course the Joker is great, although I am just as much of a fan of Mark Hamill’s portrayal in the series and video game as Ledgers. Bot hare great though, he is such a great villain
    BBC’s Moriarty is freaking amazing, Moriarty has been a good villain in the past but that version of the character turned him into an amazing villain, he actually reminds of the Joker to some degree.
    The Daleks are good Doctor Who villains, probably my second favorite Doctor Who after the Weeping Angels, although you have yet to see some of their other episodes.
    I am not sure would actually be considered the “villain” between Light and L in Death Note, since Light is technically the “protagonist” but L is a good person and Light is not, so it is confusing. Maybe both should be on my Top 100 Heroes list if I ever get around to making it.

    Your list month has been awesome! I love it, although I am a list addict. 😛

    -James

    1. Yes, I remembered! 😛

      I can’t wait to see more of Loki in Thor 2, I hope they don’t kill him off! 🙂

      I have yet to watch Mark Hamill’s Joker which is a shame because I know he’s really good. The only other Joker I’ve seen was from Tim Burton’s film–I liked his “Have you ever danced with the devil in the pale moonlight?” question but he barely compares to Ledger’s version. 🙂

      He is a little like The Joker; just psychotic and fooling around for the fun of it. 😛

      Yeah, the weeping angels will probably replace the Daleks at some point when I see more of them…

      Wow, I don’t really know who would be the villain either…probably Light since he was doing all the killing but at the same time I understood where he was coming from, so that’s a hard call. I would certainly say L falls in the hero category thouhg. 🙂

      I am glad you enjoyed it! 😛 I was pretty sure you out of anyone would. Lol!

      ~Jamie

  3. I would so totally have Loki on top – he is the most real villain I have seen yet, meaning the character that was the most realistic in terms of real emotions, real actions, and real behaviors. Loki trumps all and sits on top, by a long shot.
    I honestly thought Vader was a bit of a weak villain, mostly because he is so un-personable. There is no way to relate to him as another human being – an evil human being nonetheless – in that black suit of his. Robots and things of that sort don’t really make good villains in my book, while characters that have real emotions, feelings and internal struggles, just like the rest of us, make the ultimate villain.
    Kahn is right up there near Loki,with all his back story, but his isn’t as strong as Loki’s. Loki rules – hands down.

    1. Hey, long time no see, thanks for dropping by. I liking hearing everyone’s opinions.

      Loki is a strong villain but I’ve loved Darth Vader a lot longer then him. They’re pretty close in my book; like with The Joker. He’s number three but it’s by mere centimeters, if you know what I mean. 🙂 It is interesting you found Vader a weak character, I have never heard anyone call him that before. I think he’s pretty awesome myself but to each his own.

      Kahn was also a neat villain but I’m not a Trekkie at all, so he only made it to honorable mentions–as you can tell, my favorites are decided mostly by my emotions (it’s a girl thing.) 😛

      Again, thanks for commenting, I’m glad you are fan of Loki (not what he does, just him as a villain, lol.) 🙂

      ~Jamie

  4. Loki. ‘Nuff said. Haha, really, this is a great list of some awesome villains! I like that you included zombies as a whole! My favorite though, of course, is Loki, a great villain, but also an incredible, real character. I’m so looking forward to seeing his progression in The Dark World, and also hoping for maybe a little redemption. But whatever happens, I know he’ll be awesome! 🙂

    1. Thank you, I’m glad you like it. And ditto about Loki, I would really like to see him be redeemed a little bit as well–I think we’ll get to see his true, true colors in this upcoming movie, so I’m really really excited!! 😀

      ~Jamie

  5. Your comments about Cruella de Vil made me laugh! And after seeing “The Avengers”–yikes, Loki scared me! I have a new appreciation for his character, because he isn’t your roaring, blustering, bossy kind of villain; he’s quiet, sneaky, scheming, and just a little charming when he wants to be. I couldn’t believe it–I COULD NOT BELIEVE IT–when he stabbed Coulson with that spear/scimitar/whatever it was! It was the suddenness of it that left me thinking about the scene long after it was over. And also, when he was throwing all of Natasha’s former sins in her face–that was a very effective, disturbing scene.

    Tom Hiddleston is such a fantastic actor, it’s unbelievable how he can be so nice and pull off the role of Loki.

    You can’t go wrong with Darth Vader, of course. But you need to watch The Lord of the Rings. Lots of great villains there, too. Sauron, Saruman, Grima Wormtongue, the Mouth of Sauron…oh yes, lots of people you love to hate 😉

    By the way, hello from Heathrow International Airport! I’m getting on a plane for the States tomorrow morning. It’s been a wonderful trip but I’m glad to be going home. When you’re away for 2 weeks you realize how much you love your family 🙂

    1. Oh, by the way: if you want to hear Sherlock and Watson together again BEFORE Season 3, look up the new Hobbit trailer on YouTube. Address here: (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mbOEknbi4gQ). Sherlock shows up in the last 30 seconds or so but you’ve got to watch the beginning where Wats–I mean, Bilbo, is “paying homage” to Sher–I mean, Smaug the Stupendous 😉

    2. It makes me so happy to hear you talk about The Avengers (and Loki). And you are right on all accounts! I was also in shock after Coulson got stabbed that scene and the ones directly afterwards left large impressions on me. 🙂

      😛 I know I know I need to see Lord of the Rings; I shall get to them eventually. 😛

      Yay you are on your way home, I shall pray for a safe flight tomorrow!!! 🙂 And I know what you mean, it’s nice to leave and it’s nice to come back. 😛

      ~Jamie

  6. Awesome list! I think you had some pretty cool choices; Darth Vader is darn awesome. And the Disney women? Deliciously evil.
    …I think the Joker is the best villain, though. I hold no attraction to him; he terrifies and sickens me. He’s evil purely for the love of it, which makes him such a great example of villainy. But I digress.
    Loki was such a great character weh. He IS great…he could have been good. But it was not to be. (sadness)

    OKAY OKAY SO I COMMENTED ON YOUR TV SHOW PAGE BUT I DIDN’T GO THROUGH BECAUSE I GOT CONFUSED ON PASSWORDS AND IT ERASED. But a) you’ve made want to watch basically all of those that I haven’t watched and half that list would also be on mine. B) mine would include: Doctor Who, Sherlock, Star Wars: The Clone Wars, Star Trek: The Original Series (shush it’s beautiful the Enterprise runs on rainbows and dreams) (basically pls watch you don’t have to but it’s on Netflix don’t judge everything by the first episode Spock was out of character) (no I’m not sure at all if you’d like it actually I think you’d be neutral or really dislike it but I wanted to share how much I love it) (STAR TREK), Warehouse 13, and White Collar. (Neal Caffrey reminds me SO MUCH of Jimmy Valentine I can’t) (also my guilty pleasure is Sleepy Hollow right now you can watch episodes for free on fox.com just sayin’)

    1. Thank you! And finally, someone is commenting on The Joker. 😛

      Aww, well, thanks for recapping your thoughts anyway! 🙂 I really have no interest in Star Trek but if I ever run out of things to watch I shall probably give it another try. 🙂 I’ve heard a little bit about White Collar as well, and I want to see Sleepy Hollow at some point! We do watch a lot of the same shows though. 😀 😀 😀

      Thanks for commenting, it made me smile.

      ~Jamie

  7. I love Rumple/Mr. Gold from OUAT. He is such a fantastic actor. And it’s great to see his interaction with Belle where he’s trying so hard to be good. But then we see the darker side and it creeps me out.
    Weeping Angels are my number one Doctor Who villain. Just wait till you get to the 5th-7th series with the Ponds. You get to see them much more in depth than in “Blink”. Although I might just be biased because 11 was my first Doctor and the Ponds were my first Companions.

    1. Yay a Rumple fan!! I know what you mean, he’s a little mixture of good and bad which makes him really unique because in some of those episodes he plays the hero! 😛

      I liked the weeping angels in Blink but I haven’t seen them since; I am looking forward to seeing more of them though.

      Thanks for commenting! 🙂

      ~Jamie

  8. Loki and Rumple! Gaaahh! I love both of them! Both have such tragic back stories. I’m glad that Rumple has found someone who loves him for him, sadly Loki hasn’t found that yet. 😦 But yea, HUGE Rumbelle fan here! 😀

    1. SQUEEE, Yay!!! I really liked Belle and Rumple together, too! I really want to see what happens in Season Two, I can’t wait to get it from the library! 🙂

      ~Jamie

It always makes my day to see your messages! Don't forget to check back, I try to write back to you too! <3

