Favorite Movies Tag


My friend James created this video as a tribute to his favorite movies; I’ve seen nearly all of them and their some of the best. He also challenged his followers to do his movie tag, listing your top favorite movies. I’ve been wanting to create a post for my favorite movies for a while, so this was the perfect opportunity for me. Here are the official rules:

1: List favorite movies (in any format that you like and the movies do not have to be in order).
3: “Tag” other bloggers (optional).

I don’t have the patience to list these in order as it seems like every time I re-watch one of these, my list will get mixed around. So, this is in no particular order; some are expected and I think some will be a surprise. So, I’m excited.

I tagged a few of you at the bottom. πŸ™‚

tumblr_lvjelrWGvb1qgidlpo1_r1_500

The Avengers: I’ve been telling everyone since this came out last spring that this is my most favorite movie ever and it’s just kinda stuck there at the top (tied with the Star Wars franchise of course.) If you haven’t seen The Avengers yet then I don’t know… what to say. This franchise is a must see for everyone and this movie is one of the best.

78717_gal

Captain America The First Avenger: No one is surprised to see this movie here. And I’ve already said a lot about why Captain America is my favorite superhero. So, if you want to know more of my feelings about him and this movie, you can browse the tags later.

tumblr_m3qedzHY311qzjpgko1_500

Iron Man Trilogy: Who doesn’t like Tony Stark and Pepper Potts and Jarvis and iron suits and selfishness turned to selfless-nes. This trilogy was great; Iron Man is classic, I did like Iron Man 2 and Iron Man 3 was so good, the perfect movie to come after The Avengers.

Corpse-Bride-2005_06

Corpse Bride: this simple, beautiful yet underrated Tim Burton film shot it’s way into my heart easily. The love triangle actually worked out perfectly for everyone, I loved the use of colors and the songs and soundtrack are wonderful.

the-league-of-extraordinary-gentlemen-film

The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen: I LOVED THIS MOVIE SO MUCH. I’m such a book worm for classics, and when you can take classic character from classic books and blend them into a dramatic film like this one, you will find me running around in excitement in my room. Jekyll and Hyde, Dorian Grey, Tom Sawyer, Captain Nemo and others create an Avengers-like group for the Victorian period that sent me to heaven.

tumblr_mlmuniVEMP1s9us9zo1_500

Warm Bodies: romance, comedy, and a zombie apocalypse that has a happy ending warmed my heart this past year with it’s interesting adaption of Romeo and Juliet and now I happily own it. Again, I’ve already talked a lot about this movie, but if you missed them, you can read more of my thoughts here.

imgthe dark knight2

The Dark Knight: I love this movie because it has THE JOKER. I watch this movie for The Joker, I’m not going to lie. Psychotic, yet almost sympathetic, yet horribly evil, Heath Ledger’s Joker made the movie and stole the limelight for me. While I like Batman well enough, the baddie is what made this movie my favorite.

tumblr_lm5nj6qy5K1qdtfqfo1_500

Star Wars Originals: YOU ALL KNOW I LOVE THESE THREE MOVIES TO DEATH AND IF YOU DON’T THEN YOU MUST BE NEW, HERE, HELP YOURSELF TO MY ARCHIVE OF POSTS WHERE I HAVE GONE ON ABOUT THESE MOVIES FOR THE PAST TWO AND HALF YEARS, ALRIGHT, LET’S MOVE ON.

despicable-me-2-teaser-poster

Despicable Me 1 and 2: First off, the minions are so cute!!!! Second off, these two movies were adorable, actually taught lessons, and were adorable, and were so funny, and adorable, and the music rocked, and they both were really adorable and I think you get the picture.

monsters_university_ver12

Monsters Inc and Monsters University: I think the Monsters universe is my favorite from all the Pixar movies. Monsters Inc is a classic and must see and Monsters Uni was the perfect prequel.

Amazing Spiderman movie poster - Cityscapes photographed by Mont

The Amazing Spider-Man: This movie was awesome, it was a great reboot for the franchise, I loved Gwen and I loved Andrew Garfield as Peter and the plot was great and I can’t wait for the sequel next year and I’m using too many ands…

ben_hur_1959_3

Ben-Hur: CLASSIC. This has been one of my favorites for probably three to four years. It’s an epic story, the cinematography and sets are amazing for the time it was made, and it’s just downright beautiful. Colorful robes, beautiful horses, dramatic battles of war and soul, family and betrayal: it’s such a great movie.

la_jungla_de_cristal_1988_5

Die Hard: Christmas, unbelievable feats of action, hilarious lines, perfect plot flow, great characters–this movie is dang near perfect (I have only seen a clean version of it). It’s a must see for anyone mature enough to watch it. One of the best action films I’ve ever seen.

b30393th3j4

Terminator 1 and 2: Can you hear the theme music yet? Time travel meets robots meets apocalypse meets great movies. I like the Terminator as a villain in the first film, but I liked him almost more as a hero in the second. While both movies have their ups and downs, they’re both great action guy films that this girl enjoyed (again, I have only seen their cleaned up versions.)

super_8_2011_6012_poster

Super 8: I think Super 8 was what introduced me to the suspenseful/dark genre of films and I loved it. I scared me, gave me thrills, the characters were delightful and was really fun but scary film (I saw the cleaned version of this, which I’m glad because while I can usually put up with swearing in films, I hate it when kids swear.)

Transformers-3-Dark-of-the-Moon-Poster_1304096952

Transformers Trilogy: another great set of movies; fun, hilarious, full of action and adventure. Shia Labeouf plays Sam Witwicky, who I really love but he often falls to the back of my mind which makes me upset when I do remember him. Sam and his first girlfriend Mikaela are also one of my most favorite movie couples.

rocky-v-1990-05-g

The Rocky Movies: I love Rocky sosososo much. He’s what every man should strive to be–I’m not talking about the body build (although that never hurt), but the heart of gold and nobility of character. The movies are all great, they have great flow and I like seeing his life story throughout the six films.

1991-beauty-and-the-beast-poster2

Beauty and the Beast: Again, this is one of those movies that I’ve mentioned a lot. It moves me to tears and inspires me. I think I can safely say this my most favorite animated film ever.

on_stranger_tides_poster01

Pirates of the Caribbean franchise: My list would not be complete without Captain Jack, the Black Pearl and all those wonderful pirate-y adventures. The franchise speaks for it’s self in a lot of ways and is a must see!

Sweeney_Todd_Poster_by_JohnElfman

Sweeney Todd Demon Barber of Fleet Street: If you didn’t read my review of this film over on James’ blog, you need to go do so now. For all the blood and extremely dark themes, I really adore this movie and it’s settings and costumes and characters and music. “There’s no place like London…”

rambo_acorralado_1982_7

Rambo First Blood: Sylvester Stallone was a-maaaz-ing in First Blood. There was a ton of action and survival in this guy film, what I liked most was how the film really showed what war veterans have experienced and how much we should show gratitude to their sacrifices. (again, I saw only a cleaned version of this)

inkheart_poster_large

Inkheart: Okay, I’m not trying to overwhelm you, but everyone should see this movie; especially writers. If you write, especially fiction, you will ADORE this movie. What’s more awesome then having a book come to life, with characters leaping off of pages into reality? This was an amazing, clean fantasy film that was a complete delight.

tumblr_static_how_to_train_your_dragon_movie_poster_01

How to Train Your Dragon: I always have a hard to understanding why some people don’t like this movie. At the same time, it’s super easy to understand why EVERYONE loves it’s soundtrack. This movie was so fun and creative, with two endearing characters Hiccup and Toothless. I’m really excited for the sequel so we can see more dragons and dragon training!

Honorable Mentions:Β Thor, Inception, She’s the Man, The Prince of Egypt A Christmas Story, Rudy, 101 Dalmatians, Rio Bravo, Singin’ in the Rain, Batman Begins, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, Air Force One, The Adventures of Robin Hood, Wreck-It Ralph

I’ve tagged who I think would enjoy listing or ranking their favorite movies (and because I’m curious to see what their favorites are! :P) Be sure to let me know if you can do the challenge so I (and James) can come check it out! πŸ˜€

Maribeth

Emily

Sarah

David

Vellvin

Abby O

Have fun!

~Jamie

26 thoughts on “Favorite Movies Tag

  1. Eeep eeep eeeep! Thank you for tagging me! Some of these films *were* surprises, simply because I haven’t heard you talk about them before…very interesting!

    Oh, and yes, if you don’t like the “How To Drain Your Dragon” soundtrack…you’re wrong. πŸ˜‰

  2. By the way, that video was AWE-SOME. Most of the films I recognized even if I haven’t actually watched them myself (like, say, Inception). Ay-yi-yi, I need to watch “The Empire Strikes Back” again. Woot-woot-woot for Luke Skywalker and Han Solo! And Legolas! And Aragorn, son of Arathorn! (*fangirling asdfjklasdfjklasdfjklasdfjkl*) πŸ˜‰

    LOL, and Indiana Jones shooting that bad guy, whoever he was. I laughed.

    1. Wasn’t it a great video?! James did a great job putting it together! YOU NEED TO WATCH INCEPTION (it’s one that can be cleaned, but just a little bit).

      LOL that is such a classic scene and it wasn’t scripted either! πŸ™‚

      ~Jamie

      1. You mean it’s another “I love you”–“I know” type of scene?! Harrison Ford is the king of ad-libbing πŸ˜€ Was that from Raiders of the Lost Ark or another one in the series?

        “Inception” sounds like a movie that would make me clap my hands on my head and scream, “Help me, I can’t wrap my bloomin’ mind around this!” LOLOLOL…it’s all about a dream within a dream within a dream, right?

      2. Yes, as far as I know. The story goes Harrison was not feeling well when they were filming; there was suppose to be a big fight scene or something, but he instead just used his gun so it would be shorter! LOL πŸ™‚

        Yes–sorta. Kinda. It’s a little complicated and it takes a few views OR a friend who can explain it while watching it with you to get all the pieces together. But it’s SO. GOOD. πŸ™‚

        ~Jamie

  3. Thank you! This should prove to be very fun! You’re right I don’t usually do tags but this one looks very promising. πŸ™‚
    Oh yeah, and I saw Monster’s University! I thought it was better than the first but not one I’d be watching lots because I loved it so much.

    Oh, and just to let you know I finished the Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes, today! I had the Final Problem, too. I even recongnised some of the lines from the T.V, show, now I need to read the Return of Sherlock Holmes before the third season comes out!

    God Bless,
    Vellvin.

    1. I’m glad you like this one, I can’t wait to see your list! πŸ™‚

      Oh, good, I’m glad you liked! It was so fun, I really enjoyed it.

      Ooooooh, good for you!! Yes, I love catching lines that got put into the show; that’s the best. I suggest reading The Empty House and the novel The Sign of Four, since two of season three’s episodes will be based after them. πŸ™‚

      ~Jamie

  4. I’ve read Sign of Four but no The Empty House. Guess I’d better get cracking. What I meant with Monster’s University is that it was watchable and alright, but not amazing or a real ‘wow’ movie for me. πŸ™‚

    1. Then, yes, Read The Empty House! I’m probably going to reread it myself. πŸ™‚

      Well, that if that’s your opinion, then that’s fine! I guess it appealed more to me than it did to you. πŸ™‚

      ~Jamie

  5. Thank you for doing the challenge and posting my video!!! πŸ˜€ Awesome list, I will comment on each one that I have seen in this comment in the order that you have listed them.

    The Avengers: Pure awesomeness! I just watched this again yesterday (I have seriously lost count of how many I have seen this now) and I love even more every time I watch it! When people say the movie is “simple” or not “deep” it makes me mad, because there is so much in the movie that people are not noticing.

    Captain American: Perfect adaptation of a classic comic book storyline. The WWII period setting is done perfectly, love it!

    Iron Man Trilogy: Obviously, I love all of them, particular 1 and 3, RDJ is the best!

    League of Extraordinary Gentlemen: I really liked the movie as a kid, it was a lot of fun. Re-watching it again last year I enjoyed it for the most part. You probably know this, but it is based on a comic book, but I haven’t read it.

    The Dark Knight: Awesome movie! Joker is the protagonist and people just don’t realize it. He killed one of the most annoying characters ever, Rachel, and I cheer every time I watch the movie and that happens! lol

    Star Wars: Duh, there is nothing better, three perfect films! πŸ˜€

    Amazing Spider-Man: Best Spider-Man origin story, I can’t wait for the sequel!

    Ben-Hur: Extremely long but a great story.

    Die Hard: Agreed, one of the best action movies ever made, overall awesome movie!

    Terminator 1 and 2: Love these, especially T2! There is so much I like about the movies and the franchise in general, except for the two subpar sequels.

    Super 8: Reminded me a lot of E.T. meets Jaws meets Close Encounters of the Third Kind, except with kids that swear a lot. Abrams made a homage to Spielberg’s work. πŸ™‚

    Transformers Trilogy: I have always liked the movie the best, it always felt more fun.

    Rocky Movies: From what I remember of the franchise, I enjoyed it, especially the montages and music. Stallone is making a spinoff named “Creed” based on Allpollo Creed’s son with Rocky as the trainer.

    Pirates of the Caribbean: So much fun! The first one will always be one of my favorite adventure comedies, just a lot of fun!

    First Blood: One of my favorites when I was a kid and still one of my favorites today! Rambo is such a cool and fun movie!

    Ink Heart: I can’t remember much of the movie, although I do remember enjoying it for the most part.

    How to Train Your Dragon: Hands down one of the best animated movies ever made, very underrated compared to Pixar’s overrated movies.

    Awesome list Jamie! Thank you so much for tagging people and posting my video, a lot more people are doing the tag now!!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    -James

    1. You’re very welcome! I actually had a lot of fun because I was listing favorites but I didn’t even have to be concerned about putting them in order. I actually am now doing a bonus post listing my favorite tv shows because I had so much fun. πŸ˜€

      About the Rocky movies: IS HE REALLY? OH MY GOSH THAT SOUNDS REALLY AMAZING!

      I don’t always tag people but I did want to help spread your tag around; so I went for it! What are best friends for anyway?! πŸ˜€

      ~Jamie

  6. Hey Jamie, I just saw your comment about doing a bonus list of favourite T.V. shows, is it okay if I steal the idea? I’ve sort of wanted (and I’m pretty sure) have a blog post in my drafts for it but not found the right time to do it,. Just wondering. πŸ™‚

    God Bless,
    Vellvin.

  7. Say, how did I make it on that list? πŸ˜€
    Wow, I think I might be able to do this – maybe. I will certainly try. πŸ™‚ Be ready for lots of movies with smash and bang and glory. πŸ™‚

    1. I wanted to help promote James’ video and tag (since he’s a good friend of mine) so I decided to tag a few people who had their own circles. Strategy. πŸ˜› And I was wondering what your favorite movies were. πŸ™‚

      Don’t sweat it; tags are suppose to be fun! πŸ˜€

      ~Jamie

  8. Thank you for tagging me, Jamie! I’ll start working on this tonight (I’m spending a day with my friend so I can’t do it right now…) My internet has been out but it is finally back, THANK GOODNESS!!! haha.

    I loved reading your answers!

It always makes my day to see your messages! Don't forget to check back, I try to write back to you too! <3

