Fight the Dead, Fear the Living | TV Show Review


tumblr_lxybkoJNZS1r5u619o1_500

If you’ve been watching my twitter, you might have noticed that I’ve mentioned The Walking Dead a lot on there. I’ve been putting a lot of thought into whether or not I wanted to talk about this show on here, since it is nothing like anything I’ve watched before or what most of you guys would want to watch either. However, I’ve decided that I do want to share about it because it is one of my favorite dramas and I want to make sure I don’t accidentally send someone into it without really knowing what they’re getting into. I also want to share why I even care for the show because, really, it’s very different from what I usually watch.

While it is not a show for everyone, I do want to share why I like it so much (and I shall try very hard not to post scary/icky pictures.) I hope you will find this post interesting even if this isn’t your thing.

eebc3f5f6cedb1c7ba33d7c05459c238

First off, the concept in fiction about zombie apocalypses is everywhere. There are tons of movies and videos games about zombies and the genre is most respects is really overrated. I personally don’t care for zombies that much because they get old and boring fast; you can’t really give them that much personality (exception going to Warm Bodies, which was told from a zombie’s point of view and was a great movie). On the norm, I’m not a zombie girl. I’m way more interested in, say, vampires. You can do so much more with vampires, but that’s for another time.

tumblr_mg4o7qJZLu1qdfwqko1_500

And before I go further, I want to say right here and now; no offense, but to everyone who thinks that they want to experience a zombie apocalypse and would be excited about it: YOU ARE OUT OF YOUR FREAKING MIND YOU DON’T KNOW WHAT YOU’RE SAYING BECAUSE IF A ZOMBIE APOCALYPSE HAPPENS YOU’RE NOT GOING TO BE A SURVIVOR LIKE DARYL DIXON OR RICK GRIMES YOU WILL EASILY, FREAKING, DIE WITHIN THE FIRST DAY AND WILL PROBABLY SEE HALF OF EVERYONE YOU KNOW DIE BEFORE YOU DO- YOU ARE FREAKING. NUTS. . . . .

tumblr_mk8iyiGUiG1rtqpq8o1_500

. . . so, a top notch TV show on a zombie apocalypse is good entertainment but no one in their right mind should want to live it. I don’t; not unless I can hide behind Daryl and his crossbow on his motorcycle. But we’ll get to that character later.Β (*whispering* since watching this show I have spent a little time considering my game plan if there was a zombie apocalypse but don’t tell anyone that because I’m kinda a freak already but really. Can you blame me.)

Let’s hit some basics on the show itself now and I should probably give you the plot first so you will follow me better. πŸ™‚

tumblr_maluzhK6oo1r7wse8o1_500

A) The plot follows Officer Rick Grimes when he wakes up from a coma in an abandoned hospital and finds the world all but stopped in the aftermath of the zombie apocalypse. He manages to join a group of survivors in Atlanta and soon becomes a core member aid their survival. While zombies (called Walkers) are always lurking, they really are just the backdrop while the show focuses more on the people who are still alive. Themes of friendship, faith, family and fighting the inside sickness of sin, such as pride and jealousy, are constantly there as we watch their relationships, dilemmasΒ and struggles against the WalkersΒ and other survivors who often prove to be of more dangerous then the flesh eating hordes of dead. The show follows the souls of this particular group and that’s what makes it worth watching.

tumblr_lzvgg1LlMY1r5pj87o1_500

B) While the show is officially rated TV-14, I personally think it deserves a high rating for the sickening amount of blood and guts (very graphic, I actually have had to cover my eyes for some parts because it can get really disgusting,) language (several characters have dirtier mouths than others), and a small amount of sexuality (nothing explicitly shown but it’s there in two or three cases). To me, the biggest problem is the gore, but what do you expect from a zombie show. I can only recommend this to mature sixteen/seventeen year olds and up who have tough stomachs (or high tolerance for icky stuff). Do not view if you can’t watch a Β walker’s head bludgeoned to bit– at least seven times, in every episode for three seasons.

tumblr_m7dga432yE1rvzo6mo1_500

C)Β This is the most watched drama show on TV cable. . . . EVER. My thoughts? Well deserved.Β The biggest focus of the show is on the characters, which I believe is what makes it so popular. The changing dynamics of the group, how they handle outsiders and the deaths of friends, how they grow to be more confident in their new world and how they choose to cling to their humanity is what makes this show. It’s easy to relate to the show because the people deal with what we deal every day; sin and the choice to either do good or do evil.

tumblr_mpulbqOuwe1qd6nqio1_500

Rick Grimes is the main character; he’s full of principle and has a heart to do the right thing as much as he can but is not afraid to stand up to evil either. Rick is a great character because he tries to be fair to everyone; he helps his new found friends use their personal traits to strength the group, even though it seemed like they would all be torn apart because of differences in opinion. He does his best to be a peacemaker between people, to be a good father to his son, to be the first to offer help of anyone who needs it. In many ways, he is what makes the show so good.Β Rick was my favorite character for the first two seasons and he’s still in my top three favorites.

But my ultimate favorite isn’t actually Rick.tumblr_mi0tvz4Y2d1r1qffbo1_500

My favorite character is Daryl Dixon. Daryl did some amazing character growth to become my favorite, specifically during season two and three. With the exception of maybe two other characters, Daryl grows the most between seasons one and three. Starting off as a big mouthed, bad tempered hick with little regard to other people’s feelings, it was amazing to watch him grow more caring, often going out of his way to take care of different members of the group in season three. I love characters who go from being selfish to selfless and Daryl could win first prize for that.Β I also like his crossbow skills, which are unique compared to everyone else’s gun toting. And he has angel wings on the back of his vest! It’s like he’s an angel. How cool is that?

77bcf9db975fbd13f8ef8f7d9cb21c4a

The Walking Dead often reminds me of BBC and their style of brutally killing off characters; it’s another thing that helps make the show, even though it’s sad. Characters, both secondary and primary die in this show. I’ve been really surprised by the gumption of the writers by how they’re deleting characters in such sad ways. Season Three really left me with the feeling that anyone could go at anytime. I’m at the conclusion that the only character safe is probably Rick, and I will be destroyed if they kill Daryl. And yes, I did cry once, which is what really what made the show jump into my favorites. As I’ve said before, a show or movie or book that can make you cry is a good one because they made you care just that much.

tumblr_m7hdgfdSse1r7jzwho1_500

Of course, it’s not at all the perfect show; the gore and the scares are constant and it made even me jumpy. I actually have had at least two disturbing dreams with Walkers and I never have bad dreams (I did have one with Daryl in it and I woke up happy from that one. But still.) For some of you, you wouldn’t touch this with a ten foot stick and for others you might really enjoy it. It all comes down to your personal boundaries, whether you think good plot and characters are worth the gore factor, and if you can risk a few bad nights of sleep.

tumblr_m1iugcOnau1rq2x2ko1_500

When I started The Walking Dead, I didn’t think it would be become such a favorite of mine like it has. I’ve already re-watched all three seasons, I plan to get a shirt and I can’t wait for season four to come out in October. I took the official personality test three times, came out once as Lori, who I like, and twice as Rick, which made me very happy. I’m an official fan of the show and you will probably see it mentioned a few more times on my twitter page.

Does that make me strange? Maybe it does, but as I’m learning this year, it really doesn’t matter. You don’t have to fall in love with this show and you can think me strange for liking it– but I fell in love with it and I’m going to not be afraid to share that about myself.

tumblr_mf8pm4wfaz1qkubxlo3_500

And if you get up the guts to watch this, let me know. I would love to hear what you think! Just remember: fight the dead, fear the living.

And don’t. get. bit.

~Jamie

5 thoughts on “Fight the Dead, Fear the Living | TV Show Review

  1. Zombies are not usually my thing unless I am shooting them in Black Ops, but I have to say I am most certainly interested in the Walking Dead now. I have heard so many great things about this series and the comic book that it is based on. Unfortunately, I do not have a way of watching the show, at least not for a long time. :/

    Also the Walking Dead is not the most watched drama on TV, it is the most watched on cable, NCIS is the most watched overall (I read TV Guide).

    -James

    1. I’m glad you are more interested, I think you would really like it. If and when you get Netflix, they have the first two seasons. And the website I sent you, Couch Tuner, should have all three seasons on it but sometimes the players don’t work that well. 😦

      Ah, okay, I didn’t know that; I’ve heard a bit about NCIS, I’m going to have look into it since it sounds popular and is all over the place.

  2. I have low tolerance for gore, so I won’t be watching this, but I appreciated your review quite a lot! I have some friends who love this show, and I always wondered “what’s the hype about a zombie show??” Now I know. πŸ™‚

    1. I have great respect for your standards, they are very smart. πŸ™‚ I’m glad my review was informative for you; I’m not really into the zombie genre at all but The Walking Dead really proved to be exceptional. πŸ™‚

      ~Jamie

It always makes my day to see your messages! Don't forget to check back, I try to write back to you too! <3

