A Firecracker Post


tumblr_m6jublWnV11qi23vmo1_500

I have a lot to say sometimes but not enough for the different topics to make up separate posts, so that’s when I make up one of these and *babble* from one thing to the other like a little firecracker. Thankfully, I’ve heard you guys like it when I ramble, so this is okay. 🙂

My bathroom was the home of three cockroaches and a scorpion last night. Yeah. *dramatic voice* But then, genocide happened! In five minutes flat. And I was terrified. lol, Well, until I found the scorpion, then I wasn’t really scared anymore. I was just like, “Hey, a scorpion; I’ve killed a couple hundred of these, this is my forte, I know what to do with this; you’ve met your doom tonight you tiny devil!” Anyway … it was disgusting overall. And I want my mattress off the ground for the summer.

alice-alice-in-wonderland-clouds-disney-lights-photo-Favim.com-106732

I saw Disney’s Alice in Wonderland for the first time this week. I figured before I watch the one with Johnny Depp (yes, I am still going through my Johnny Depp/quirkier movies stage), I better just see what the original story is like beforehand. It was…. strange and in a few ways almost disturbing (specifically the oyster story, ohmygosh, what the heck was that?) but overall I enjoyed it. It dragged in the middle for me but the beginning and end was intriguing enough.

I’m looking forward to watching the live action film. 🙂

tumblr_mk4n2kqr9a1qmew7go1_500

It is near the end of May and I would be crazy to not acknowledge that it has been a full year since I first reopened The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes and had him walk off the pages back into my life. Thanks to, well, this blog, which I have filled with things that I want to remember, I was able to trace the exact date—the exact Sunday—that Dylan and I—excuse me, The Doctor and I—decided to begin reading the same stories together. I’m pretty sure it was the sixth of May. And after that, a whole year was spent getting back into literature= Dracula twice, Murder on the Orient Express, The Legend of Sleepy Hollow and volumes of Sherlock Holmes, including all four novels.  It. Was. Amazing. If only we could have finished them together before May was up; WHY IS LIFE CRUEL?

Either way, that was one of the best things to happen to me and I’m pretty sure getting back into Sherlock Holmes changed my life. I think I would be a very different individual if I hadn’t gotten back to reading. So, at this moment, I want to thank you, Doctor, for taking the time to read with me like you did; I know it must have been difficult sometimes making it work with a job and school and other things too. But I really really appreciate you reading with me. I miss you a lot and I’m still waiting for you drive over to show me the Tardis on your key chain….

tumblr_mbn1c0oPQx1r2vnt6o1_r3_500
gif

I’m getting sentimental now, let’s move on..

Oh yeah.. and…. and than this… this below happened…

-Star-Trek-2009-movies-6444114-1280-1024

Last night Kayla and I saw Star Trek from 2009.  . . . . . . . .  Um, well, it didn’t convert me into a Trekkie or anything but it was good to finally see something Trek that was decent (I’m still gagging and washing my eyes out from that half an episode I saw, like, a year ago). It was a pretty good movie, although there was an excess amount of flares. Thankfully my mom watched it with us so she was able to point out, “oh, hey, that’s Scotty, he did all the beaming on the Enterprise” ect whenever these iconic characters were introduced. Otherwise I wouldn’t have known, like, oh hey that’s so and so–except for Spock; he was easy. Overall: it was good. We’ll see if Into Darkness with Benedict Cumberbatch does anything more for me when we go see it.

Favorite character? I have no idea.

tumblr_mavf6dKdHu1rhy4r3o1_500

Well, I’ve let out some steam… so, I don’t have much else to just go on about for a paragraph or two. What am I doing today? I’m going to be out shopping with my mom later this afternoon and then will be babysitting the neighbor dogs for the evening. And I’ll be watching a movie by myself too… probably that live action Alice In Wonderland movie. Hope it’s good! 🙂

Have a good weekend everybody; especially to all my internet friends who get to be at Star Wars Weekends! I’M SO ENVIOUS! 🙂 Anyway…. live long and prosper.

I can’t believe I just said that.

~Jamie

12 thoughts on “A Firecracker Post

  1. Cockroaches are the absolute worst, though I have never been umm… fortunate enough to encounter a scorpion.

    Alice in Wonderland is awesome! Our drama club did the play and I got to play The March hare. 🙂 but movie wise I totally like the tim burton one better, the disney one’s annoying (sorry, but I don’t like it all that much)

    I am a new sherlock fan, but I loves it! 😀

    yep, those are my thoughts.

    1. Cockroaches and wasps are the two insects I cannot stand! I’ve held grasshoppers and picked up beettles and I can stand bees but those two are just shudder worthy! Scorpions are can actually hurt you but I’ve had a lot of practice killing them so they don’t intimidate me very much at all.

      I can’t wait to see it, then! It’s Tim Burton, I didn’t realize it was by Tim Burton! OHMYGOSH THIS MAKES ME HAPPY. 🙂 I get it if you didn’t like the Disney one it was… very odd. But I’m glad I saw it. 😀

      YAY another Sherlock fan! 😀

      Thank you for the wonderful comment!

      ~Jamie

  2. Jamie,

    I’ve never commented before (‘cuz I one of those annoying I-can’t-get-past-the-online-introduction-wierdness people… *ehem*), but your posts on Merlin and Doctor Who and Sherlock are awesome and I really enjoy your blog. I’m a homeschool grad, bookaholic, and British TV nut. That wasn’t weird, right?! ;D

    Anywho, I’m popping in to say that Star Trek Into Darkness is AMAZING. The end. But really, it was totally wonderful and made me start watching the original series at an alarming rate (and *whispers* I might just be turning into a Trekkie). I’m really curious to see what you think of it!

    ~Tayler

    1. Ohmygoodness a new friend!! Hi Tayler! I’m so happy to meet you! AND YOUR FELLOW MERLIN/WHO/SHERLOCK FAN! 😀 We have a lot in common already! 😀

      Wow, maybe Into Darkness will make me a Trekkie. That would be shocking. But I can’t wait to go see it and I’ll be sure to share my thoughts when I do!

      Thank you so much again for your very sweet comment, I loved reading it!

      ~Jamie

  3. You should definitely read alice in wonderland/through the looking glass. Its confusing at points seeing as it was originally stories for a 4 year old, but it’s a fun read. And the walrus and the carpenter is in there still, as it the jabberwok which is excellent.

  4. Awww. Thanks for the welcome! I failed to include the Avengers (especially my beloved Steve) and Star Wars (but mostly only the original trilogy) to my list of fandoms, so yeah, we’ve got lots in common. 😀

    ~Tayler

  5. Fortunately there is only one kind of scorpion where I live and it is very rare. I have only seen it once in my life.

    Since I’m the movie guy, I have to talk about Trek. It is not my favorite by any means but I agree it was very good. Did you notice Chris Hemsworth as Kirk’s father in the opening scene?

    Hope you enjoy Alice in Wonderland (live action) more than every other critic in the world. I really disliked it because it was way too trippy and weird.

    Live long and prosper.

    -James

    1. Luck you. We have several kinds here, especially the kind that can climb walls and ceilings and those are the poisionous ones.

      It was good but nothing super special to me. YES! Kayla and I were freaking out: I was like, “THOR’S IS KRIK’S FATHER?!” lol

      Okay, I saw it last night; it was okay but nothing amazing like I was hoping. I liked Johnny as Hatter, he was great and overall it was good but it’s not a favorite or anything. 🙂

      LOL *does the hand symbol* Live long and prosper and may the Force be with you!

      ~Jamie

It always makes my day to see your messages! Don't forget to check back, I try to write back to you too! <3

