finally, pictures of my new room!

I finally have pictures to share of my new room, guys! I know, they are way overdue. But Wednesday I finally hung up the last two posters on the wall and straightened the  bookshelves and folded my blankets and; well, I basically got it as picture perfect as I could.

So.

May I present you my new room? (If you are wondering or have forgotten what my old room used to look like, you can check this post out to refresh your memory if you would like.)

IMG_1266

^My bedroom door from across the hall.’Nuff said.

IMG_1269

Okay, here’s a shot to give you an idea of what it looks like to just stop at my bedroom door and look in. You can see the “Dr Who” chair with all my pillows, the curtains my mom rehemmed (she also made the tie-backs that match the one pillow).

IMG_1270

I stepped into the room to take this shot, you can see actually see my Batman headphones there on the desk, they unintentionally matched the Batman clock I got for Christmas.

IMG_1271

Turn to the left and you can see what I have against my wall. My two shelves and yes, I have my clothes hanging on a double rack because Mom wouldn’t give up the closet for me to use (it’s full of canned and boxed food and I couldn’t have hung my clothes up in there anyway even if we did empty it.)

IMG_1275

My Batman clock which I have sitting on my windowsill right now. I’m debating whether I want to keep it there or hang it over the window or hang it over my door….

IMG_1277

A view of my desk if you stand in front of my clothes. You can see my candle and I was just using my C-3PO pez machine and the two pictures I keep on my wall of Kayla and Daryck and me and The Doctor. ALSO, THERE IS MY SHERLOCK POSTER!

IMG_1284

I ordered this off Amazon and it looks amazing. It’s perfect. And, yes, I really do blow Sherlock and John both a kiss each night before I go to bed. I really do. Yeah, I know I have a screw loose somewhere in my head…. It’s kind of a ‘sorry/not sorry that I’m in love with them both’ sort of situation right now. But moving on…

IMG_1281

Here is my matress on the floor, right next to my desk. No, I don’t mind sleeping on the ground, it’s worked out very well. Oh, my mom made that pillowcase. And those are the two posters I just put up. Sorry/not sorry I have an asylum nut and the boy scout right next to each other. I’ll probably rearrange the posters around when I get a Dr Who poster in the near future.

IMG_1282

Oh, and here’s Sully! He matches my room and he is the perfect cuddling/hugging size. He scares away the monsters who lurk in the hall and closet at night for me. 😉

IMG_1285

Here is a shot of my door/behind my door from inside my room. You can see the covered shelves that my mom had to keep in the room, they hold the family movie collection. You can also see my large Captain America shield. It guards my door at night.

IMG_1286

If you are standing at my desk, you can see the closet’s sliding doors that are right next to my door. Yeah, all that space I could have had but it’s still the family pantry. I will eventually hang posters on the doors though, so that’s nice.

IMG_1272

IMG_1287

I can’t believe I used to put my stuff all on one shelf before. I guess I did have half a closet at one point, but still. Having two shelves instead of one is really nice. You can see the top of my one, has my first Darth Vader helmet, my telephone replica and my tigers.

IMG_1289

I’m very proud of this little corner collection. I love my Basil Rathbone/Sherlock Holmes tin that I randomly found a few years ago at Savers . You can see my pipe Kayla gave me for Christmas, my keys, my old pocket knife, my trick cigarette and my lipstick pen.

IMG_1291

Here is my small and private dvd collection, which I am very proud of. You can see from left to right, Dr Who season two, The Avengers, Batman Begins and The Dark Knight, Sherlock seasons one and two, Star wars bonus material and The Phantom Menace, Spider-Man and Spider-Man 3, Toy Story and Toy Story 2 and yes I own Cloudy with Chance of Meatballs. So what if I liked that movie?!?!? 🙂

IMG_1294

Here is my soundtrack collection which I have been building since I was about fifteen years old. And some of my nail polish. And yes, the sliver thing back there? It’s exactly what it looks like.

IMG_1295

Favorite books collection right here with the rest of my nail polish. Also that brown container used to be a cocoa powder container but when I was fifteen I washed it out and put a slot in the top and I’ve been keeping spare coins in it for ages. Chocolate and money, how does it get better?

IMG_1297

And I have only the top of my second shelf to show you; the Darth Vader head you see there is actually a boom box. I’m serious! It’s a boom box and it’s the coolest thing ever. When I’m hanging out tonight I’ll probably put the Beetlejuice soundtrack in it. And yes, that’s a top hat with a masquerade mask on it with another hat on top of it. And there’s Buzz Lightyear and Woody. And my box of matches.

IMG_1303

I know some of you were probably wondering where all my Star Wars posters went; well, I put them in my new bathroom; it’s a loosely Star Wars themed bathroom now, which I absolutely love!

IMG_1304

IMG_1306

So, those are the pictures!

What do I like most about my room? Well…. I have it all to myself. No negotiating with anyone where I can put this or that or keeping things seperated or any of that difficult crap. That sounds selfish, but I think it’s okay that I can be glad to finally have some space and privacy to myself. I shared that room for seven years, it’s time I was able to shut a door and have someone actually knock before rushing in and disturbing me for once.

Is it very different for me? Yes. It is strange to wake up and be downstairs already. I rarely go upstairs now, and I’ve slept upstairs my whole life. The room that is now mine has been the family junk room (full of shelves with misc. stuff that had no place else to go so it wound up on the shelf) and the guest room/excersise room before and so on, so that’s odd. Never in a million years did I know that one day, it would be my room.

But now it is, and no longer that horrid yellow but a beautiful bluish/green with brown contrast and my posters up on the walls and it’s all to myself!

One thing I miss?

I can’t look up from my pillow at night and reach out and touch the stars. Okay, so, ever since I was about six or seven, I’ve slept on the top bunk. And, I should have been born blonde so that this doesn’t sound as bad as it does, but it was only within last year did the idea dawn on me that I could put glow-in-the-dark stars on the ceiling. Wait…. I was born blonde, it just darkened over time…. ANYWAY, I’M RAMBLING; a year ago I put glow-in-the-dark stars on my ceiling over my bed. And so, when I’m lying on my right side or on my back in the middle of the night feeling wide awake and thinking or feeling down, I would reach up and touch one of the stars. Because people say you should always reach for the stars, and for the last year of my life, I’ve been able to do that, figuratively speaking.

Not any more though, at least, not from my bed. I put them on the wall over the sink and mirror in the bathroom, so I suppose if I wanted to, I could get up out of bed, stumble across the hall, stand on the bathtub’s edge and smack one of them with my palm if I’m feeling really depressed, but that just won’t be the same. It certainly doesn’t sound the same, lol.

IMG_1305

Anyway. I love having my own room but I have a feeling I’m going to appreciate it on a whole new level with Kayla home. 😀

Lots of thanks to my mom who was open to the idea of me moving downstairs and put so much time and work into cleaning out and painting and even buying me new carpet even when we didn’t have to! Love you, Mom!

~Jamie

16 thoughts on “finally, pictures of my new room!

  1. Ooooo I love it!!!! I used to have my own room until I was seven, when my baby sister moved in with me. Now it’s ten years later and I still share a room. I really wish I had my own room lol. I love the colors of your room!!! And the posters?? 😀 Sweeeeeeeeeeeeet.

  2. Loooooove the colors. Looooooove the chair. Looooooove that big poster on the bathroom door, LOL!! It all looks like a great and peaceful place for your imagination and writing to reach new heights 😀

  3. AWESOME Captain America shield!!!!!! How close to scale is it? And you have so much awesome fan swag and posts! I wish I had some posters, those are so cool. I am extremely frugal when it comes to buying anything that’s not either practical or movie tickets, so I haven’t bought any posters and stuff. Great pictures, I enjoyed this. 🙂

    -James

    1. Mmmmm, I’m not exactly sure how close to scale it is, it is about 25 and half inches across. 🙂 Being frugal is good, I used to be very frugal myself even when I had a good paying job until my Mom sat me down and talked to me about it being good to also do a little spending every once and a while on things for myself. I don’t have the job anymore so my spending has gone way down again. 🙂 I wish you could have some posters too. 🙂 Thanks, I’m glad you enjoyed my post!

      ~Jamie

  4. Omg! I’m commenting! 🙂 Jamie, I always read your blog even if I don’t always comment like I should, and I love seeing your posts. Your new room is so awesome!!!!!! 😀 I’m so excited for you!! 😀 I hope you’re doing well, you and your family have been in my prayers!!!! I love you all!! 😀 You rock!!!

    P.S. I’m jealous of your Sherlock poster!!!!!!!!!

    1. OMG GRACE!! EEEEEEK! I’m so happy to hear from you!!! 😀 I’m glad you still keep up with me, I keep up with you when you do post! LOL Thank you about my room and about the prayers! That really helps!!!!

      Anyway, so happy to hear from you!!! 😀 We need to skype sometime soon!

      ~Jamie

  5. *Faith spots the number on the door, 221 B. and says “Ah! There is is! I knew it the moment I saw it… Jamie’s new room!” knocks and asks to take a quick tour….*

    Ok- I Love the color you chose. That is so perfect.

    And I *love* that Sherlock poster, and the Sherlock tin….
    and the Darth Vader boom box,
    and Sully {Who looks very happy there!!- and who matches perfectly!}
    and your favorite books…I see Robin Hood there! Have you ever read Stephen Lawhead’s new adaptations of Robin Hood? I saw them and wondered about them… I read his Merlin series a few years ago and his Robin Hood looked great…The titles are Hood, Scarlet and Tuck. 😀
    I also love the DVD collection…and I liked the Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs book, so if the movie is even funnier I can see why it is in your collection!
    And there is your lap-top desk…a great writing spot if I ever saw one!
    ….and a Star Wars themed bathroom is just too awesome.

    …. and I slept on the floor for five years or so, and I loved it, so I know what that is like!
    I also had those glowing stars in my room, except they had to be on our walls because our ceiling wouldn’t let them stick, and when I moved upstairs three years ago it was funny not to have them… I think my Mom even suggested putting up new ones! Remembering how cool they were I think I might take her up on it now…. 🙂

    Thank you for the tour! I love visiting your blog 😀 And rambling in the comment box…..

    Hugs,
    Faith 🙂

    1. *Squeeee!* I loved your finding your comment this morning, Faith!!! THank you thank you thank you!

      I’m glad you enjoyed the tour; I didn’t know Cloudy with Chance of Meatballs was orginally a book! Wow, I’ll have to read it sometime! ANd yes, it’s a pretty funny and clever movie!

      I have not read the new adaptions to Robin Hood but that would be interesting; along with Merlin! Eeek! I’m nearly done with Season Five and I’ll soon be writing an post on the overall series and what I liked about it! 😀

      I’m so glad you enjoy my blog and I really like your rambling comments, they make me very happy! I’m glad you feel free to drop by and talk anytime!

      ~Jamie

It always makes my day to see your messages! Don't forget to check back, I try to write back to you too! <3

