Phantom of the Opera


2004-phantom_of_the_opera-4

I finally have seen the infamous film The Phantom of the Opera and since I’ve always seen a lot of controversay over a few subjects, I thought it would be fun to peg down my thoughts on the film just for the record.

No, I haven’t read the book. Well, not an unabridged version; I read a shortened version maybe a year ago (I can hear my best friend laughing at me in the distances–sorry, that was bit of an inside joke with myself) but I don’t remember the book very well, so my opinions will be coming from seeing the movie only. So, if you’ve read the book and your feathers get ruffled because I might not understand the characters to their full extent, that’s fine. Your problem, not mine. I can only judge by what I’ve seen and the book isn’t really at the top of my ‘need to read’ list right now. There we go, disclaimers taken care of. πŸ™‚

Andrew%20Lloyd%20Webber`s%20The%20Phantom%20of%20the%20Opera%20-%20Movie%20Wallpaper%20-%2006

So, the movie was a little like Les Miz in that it felt like most of it was singing. There was some dialogue, but not much. I generally prefer more dialogue to singing when it comes to musicals, but that is just personal taste. The sets and costumes for this film were beautiful and enchanting, even though some leaned towards the immodest side. I am pleased to say that I was already a fan of masquerade masks before watching the movie. The theme “Phantom of the Opera” is my favorite; it’s so harsh and opera-ish.

I was glad to watch this movie since I have been working on a mystery plot for about four months that takes place in an opera house in the late 1890’s, so, I really enjoyed seeing all the sets and productions in the film.

Okay, moving on to the real controversy.

phantom-of-the-opera-poster7

Who do I like more, Erik or Raoul? And which do I think Christine should be with?

The controversy over these questions are huge in this fandom. There are die-hard fans of Erik and Christine being together. And then the fans of Raoul are so obnoxiously blunt about how crazy they think the other side’s opinions are that they just come off, as, well, they make it hard to like their side.

So, I will answer this as quickly as I can.

I like the Phantom, Erik, better then Raoul. However, I think the better relationship for Christine is to be with Raoul.

phantom

I do, I like the Phantom best. I felt really sorry for him by the end and he has a great voice and presence, his mysteriousnessΒ  thoroughout the film was awesome. I loved his mask and his costumes and just how familiar he was to the whole opera house.Β  He’s a tragic villain and, depending on how you look at it, a tragic hero. So, yeah, I liked him a lot better then Raoul.

However, by the end of the movie, I thought Christine would be way better off with Raoul. It was just way healthier and for better reasons. I think Raoul actually knew how to correctly treat Christine and was much better qualified to take care of her then The Phantom, who’s love seemed to come more from a passion then a real love that would keep two souls together.

2004_the_phantom_of_the_opera_wallpaper_004

So, there we go, I now have an opinion on the great opera love triangle! Whattyaknow!

Overall, this was a good movie but not one that I will be rewatching a lot because overall it felt kinda slow. If you enjoy musicals and romances and tragic love stories, this is a movie for you. πŸ™‚

~Jamie

14 thoughts on “Phantom of the Opera

  1. Hehehehe…well, you probably know my opinion on the Great Opera Love Triangle, sooo…I shan’t bore you with repetition πŸ˜‰ I haven’t seen this movie, but I’ve read the book twice (and really, if you like Sherlock Holmes and Dracula, you’d love the unabridged version) and listen to the music ALL. THE. TIME.

    I love “The Phantom of the Opera” song too! But I can’t listen to it too much…it gets in my head and stays in my head even when I’m trying to go to sleep, and then you just lie awake staring at the ceiling with “In sleep he sang to me, in dreams he came” running through your head πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰ My favorite is “All I Ask Of You,” though. I’d love to have it playing if I ever get a chance to walk down the aisle!

    One big recommendation: The Phantom of the Opera 25th Anniversary Concert. I have both the movie soundtrack and 25th Concert on my iPod, and this is just my personal opinion, but the 25th Christine and Erik (played by Sierra Boggess and Ramin Karimloo) are the best EVER. Better than Sarah Brightman/Michael Crawford, better than Emmy Rossum/Gerard Butler. There are clips on Youtube. End of my shameless plug for Sierra and Ramin, LOL!

    1. I couldn’t help but think of you when I watched the movie, I knew you were a big fan! πŸ˜›

      I will probably read the book one day, it just isn’t at the top of my reading list right now. πŸ™‚

      That song does stick in one’s head, doesn’t it? I was playing it by ear on the piano the other day but I stopped because it was so repetive! πŸ˜›

      ~Jamie

  2. Hello again!!! I haven’t on wordpress in ages, been very busy. Still am!! Been keeping up on your blog anyways though! This post brought me out though because I actually just watched this movie recently as well! I had heard of it before but had never actually watched it until we started singing a medley from it in choir, and I got very curious as to what exactly the play/movie/novel was about. I haven’t read the novel myself, but I definately enjoyed the movie a whole lot more than I thought I was going to. I definately agree with your conclusion, I felt that the phantom’s creation of a fantastical world in which he stored Christine was unhealthy for the both of them. Causing her to believe that he held a supernatural influence seemed to me like a very unfair way to win her love. He was a fantastic character, written into the movie/novel/play brilliantly to be a protagonist and an antagonist at the same time, but I feel that Christine’s life would have been much less stable if she had chosen the phantom over Raoul. We can assume at the end of the film that she lived a long and overall happy life, but I don’t think it would have ended quite that way if she had not left the underground fantasy which the phantom built up around her.

    1. Hi, it’s good to hear from you again!!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      You summed that up much better then I did, and I’m glad you agree. I didn’t think it would have been healthy; so, even though I liked him and felt sorry for him, it would have been dangerous for him to get Christine at the end, for both himself and her. πŸ™‚ It’s very sad, but necessary.

      Glad to hear from you again, I hope you are doing well.

      ~Jamie

  3. Definitely will not be watching this, because I HATE musicals! πŸ˜› lol However, Joss Whedon’s “Dr. Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog” was great, the only musical that I really like.
    Don’t much about Phantom of the Opera, except Lindsey Striling made a fantastic music video that I actually listening to earlier today and that it is a famous play. πŸ™‚

    I suppose the fandom must be because of the book and play, since the film has gotten poor reviews, 33% on Rotten Tomatoes.

    Wait, I just noticed on the poster that Joel Schumacher directed this! :O He’s the guy who what is possibly the worst movie of all-time, Batman and Robin!

    Sorry for going off on a tangent there, I had to point that out, because he made two horrible Batman movies (if you could call them movies).

    -James

    1. LOL! I didn’t know Joss Whedon had done an a musical! I’ll need to look it up!

      I LOVE Lindsey Stirling’s music video, I was listening to it on repeat while writing most of this post!

      I know the play and book are huge; most of the people who’ve seen the movies are mostly the girls who like period drama and Jane Austin.

      I personally don’t want to watch any of the really old Batman movies (Tim Burton’s was hard enough to watch compared to the new ones).

      ~Jamie

  4. Phantom of the Opera is probably my favorite musical. I really liked the film, but it’s much different on stage — much better, honestly. If you liked this one, you should see about watching Love Never Dies, the sequel that came out…probably a few years ago. It takes place about eleven years in the future, I think, with Christine and Raoul married. It’s very interesting.

    I personally prefer the Phantom, too. Raoul to me is annoying, and I don’t get the sense that he really appreciates Christine for who she is. He loves her, but he doesn’t connect with her and her music like the Phantom does. I don’t want to give away the sequel, but her and Raoul end up having a strange relationship, spawned from this.

    Glad you liked the film! πŸ™‚

  5. You’re supposed to like the Phantom more than Raul. In the plays, the phantom is even supposed to have a better voice to get the audience to be more drawn towards him.

    1. Well, maybe you are suppose to like him more. Often times, I like characters whom aren’t ment to be liked at all. And I know plenty of girls who prefer Raoul. So, I’m not very certain of your point, but thank you for taking the time to comment.

      ~Jamie

    1. Ehh, yeah, probably not. πŸ˜›

      Guess what, I found a song, and I think you’d like it, mostly because something about it rubs me wrong. XD Like its catchy so I kinda like it, but lajdlaBLAH, I tie myself in knots trying to explain so I’ll just tell you what song!!! XD Huricane by Bridget Mendler… tell me if you like it so I can rate my skill at guessing what songs you’d like. XD

      1. Okay, I’m listening to it…. so far it’s too rappy for me, if you know what I mean. You kinda like those more obnoxious rap songs… Okay, the chorus is better. *bobbing head to chorus* It’s okay, it’s not love at first ‘hear’ though. πŸ˜›

        ~Jamie

It always makes my day to see your messages! Don't forget to check back, I try to write back to you too! <3

