Firsts

tumblr_mho8vlcNVG1rau9wyo1_500

I thought it would be a fun idea to chronicle some of the firsts in my life so I don’t forget, in big things and little things, and in no certain order at all.

So, here we go. Let’s see what I can remember.

The first tooth I lost was when I was four years old in a fish and chips restaurant. I actually can still conjure up the rather blurry memory of digging it out of my mouth.

The first young man to ask me to be his proper dance partner was Stephen, and that was this past November. We’d actualy just met several months prior at Family Camp and we just really hit it off well.  Whenever we’re at the same parties we end up being together for the entirety of the evening. He’s lots of fun.

The first story I wrote was about a boy named Tom and his siblings. I was about seven or eight years old.

tumblr_m5c4zkJolE1qhly2no1_500

The first superhero movie I ever saw was Captain America: The First Avenger. (The second superhero movie I saw was Thor.)

The first mystery series I ever read (as far as I can remember) was Cam Jansen, the girl with the photographic memory. Did anyone else read Cam when they were young? Or Encyclopedia Brown? Or The Boxcar Children? Or American Girl History Mysteries? It’s no wonder my primary entertainment is sleuths and whodunits nowadays, that is all I read as a kid. 🙂

My first official crush was Basil Rathbone’s Sherlock Holmes. Unashamed.

sherlock holmes vs_ dracula 3

The first vampire book I ever read was Dracula. Not Twilight. That’s how it should be. (By the way, Dracula? Best. Book. Ever.)

The first person I ever wanted to marry was my best friend Ben. It was kinda devastating to learn that cousins couldn’t marry however. 😛

The first time I got to pet stingrays was at the zoo. But the first time I got to feed stingrays was two year later at Sea World. Both of these things are one of the best feelings in the world, especially if you’re an animal lover, like myself.

The first poster I ever bought was Star Wars related.

tumblr_m7bzunYGm41qbqmyho1_500

I’m pretty sure the first movie I ever saw in theaters was VeggieTale’s Jonah Movie. And I still like that movie.

The first pet I ever personally owned with a hermit crab.  Who’s name I can’t remember anymore.

The first laptop I ever owned weighed about 100 pounds and could barely run the old Army Man games (well, it wasn’t literally a 100 pounds but it was so old that it was just super heavy). My parents were nice enough to get me better one when I proved to be responsible.

My first boyfriend (and so far only boyfriend) is not even a boy. But he’s a he. And he’s the neighbor dog. Clarence. Who adores me because I’ve been walking him for nearly four years. And he treats me like I’m his girlfriend. Because he gets jealous of my attention. So everybody says he’s my boyfriend. Speaking of which: he was my Valentine this year! He laid on my feet, gave me his paw all on his own and even gave me a kiss on face when I asked for one.  Oh, if you were wondering, he’s a Golden Lab. And he’s my first boyfriend.

tcool-dreams-girl-lips-photograph-red-Favim_com-80260_large

The first PG-13 movie I saw was The Blind Side.

The first kitten I ever saw delivered from beginning to end was the oldest of Princess’s litter, Dot.

And I would tell you all about the first time someone called me crazy but I don’t remember because it was so long ago and there have been so many numerous times that it’s impossible to pinpoint the exact first time. So, anyway.

~Jamie

22 thoughts on “Firsts

  1. Why do good posts make me want to laugh *and* cry?

    I do very vaguely remember my first lost tooth, too…

    I will be back later to comment on this one.

  2. Ooh, I lost a tooth in a restaurant one time. It was embarrassing! And yes, I’m afraid I once wanted to marry my cousin, too; it was a great blow to my poor little mind when I was kindly told by my parents that cousins don’t marry. (But just wait until the cousin who you wanted to marry actually GETS married…now that is highly amusing! 😉 )

    1. Haha! I have lost my teeth in various forms and in various places that are rather odd. I should maybe catalog the funny stories sometime. 🙂

      LOL, yes, I can’t wait till either Ben or I get married– I want to see who marries first, when, ect, ect, blaw, blaw, blaw. It will be fun! 😀

      ~Jamie

  3. * returns, after suppers are over for all concerned, including cat, Sam, who had four. (Four Suppers, I mean) and Dog, Shep, who has one and wants more. He always does. *

    Ahem. I think it worth mentioning that the more I read about the Avengers, the more I think I will have to watch it someday 🙂 🙂 🙂
    And Star Wars too. *adds to To Be Watched list*

    My first laptop is…the one I am typing on. 🙂 and it is only a year old because this is my family’s first computer! And I am real glad we bought one….My sister was excited about it for photo editing.
    I was the last to be dragged into it.
    I was sure I would Not Use the Computer.
    Now my Mom wants to know if a second hand laptop would be a good birthday gift for me. 🙂 I think it might…O.o

    I have never fed a stingray…but I have hand fed a chickadee! On my sister’s feeder. That was a wonderful morning!

    We loved the American Girl books- the paintings in the books and the stories about girls at different times in the world surely kept us interested. I liked ‘Josephina” the best.

    My sister liked Addy the best, and Kaya and Julie next.

    🙂 🙂 It is a happy thing to think about the books I love now and loved as a small child.

    As C S Lewis said, a book worth reading at 10 is worth re-reading at 50.
    So it is.

    First movie I ever watched- Bambi.
    I still like that film, my favorite part is the song “Drip Drip Drop Little April Showers,
    Rain Coming Down, Coming Down from Above!” With all the rain dropping and dripping and baby animals watching…. 🙂
    We saw sixteen deer in the backyard last week. They are beautiful to watch.

    Blessings, Jamie!
    And thank you again so much for commenting on Holly Angela’s blog. It means a lot to her! 🙂

    1. Yes! Watch THe Avengers and the movies prior to it! You’d like them. And Star Wars is amazing.

      Yay, you’ve read the American Girl books. My favorite was Kit; I also liked Molly. JOsephina and Kaya were also really good.

      I like that song from Bambi too. It’s really pretty, I like playing it by ear on the piano. 🙂

      Thanks for commenting; and you’re very welcome!

      ~Jamie

  4. Petting a string- I mean stingray must have been so cool, what did it feel like?
    I didn’t know it was safe to do that 🙂
    I love labs, they are such lovable dogs.
    Hermit crabs, I believe I have seen them for sale in tanks at Walmart along with big yellow snails 🙂 I always start laughing when I think of Walmart because they have these big bags of Bird seed in the store and in the summer I used to see Chipmunks chewing into the bags and running around with big mouthfuls of seeds all the time in the store 🙂
    Losing a tooth was always eventful, I remember it well 🙂
    As for being crazy, I call it the way God made each of us, to be different, specially created by Him.
    I see you mentioned you love taking pictures, do you take the pictures on your blog? or where do you find them? I’m always on the hunt for free images 🙂
    I love your blog and plan to follow it,
    Holly,

    1. It is very cool; it feels like jello and velvet and cool and wet all at the same time. It’s a pretty indescribable feeling.

      Goodness, no, I do not take the pictures on my blog. I find them all over; for you, I’d suggest checking out Pinterist. 🙂

      Thanks for following me, that means so much to me! 😀

      Thanks for commenting!

      ~Jamie

  5. Can’t remember when I lost my first tooth, but I can’t really remember much before I was ten. But I do remember going to my first comic book movie, X-Men in 2000 in the theaters! That was awesome! 🙂 Also I cannot remember when I first saw Star Wars, probably when I was between 2-5 years old. 🙂
    I read some of a Cam Jansen book, but never actually finish it. I didn’t really really read many fictional books until I was in high school. I know it was odd, but I have always been a film guy. 🙂
    Not sure if you mentioned that you played the Army Man games. I LOVED those games when I was a kid! I had all of them. 😀 Did not know anyone else actually played those!
    100 pound laptop. LOL Great post Jamie, enjoyed it a lot!

    -James

    1. X-Men would have been really cool to see in theaters!

      Yes, I liked playing Army Man 2 a lot, I was never able to finish the last challenge in the bedroom though. Kayla was better at the game then me! 🙂

      Thanks, I’m glad you liked it, James!! 😀

      ~Jamie

  6. I still remember the first time I lost a tooth–I was watching TV and the tooth fell out when I accidentally hit it on my cup of chocolate milk…

    I wanted to marry my cousin, too!! Then I found out that I couldn’t marry him, and I was really sad. hahaha

    The last one is hilarious and I’m with you, I can’t remember the first time someone called me crazy lol.

    I really enjoyed this post, Jamie! 😀

    1. That’s one way to loose a tooth! I lost one by colliding into my sister while she was running around holding a play car in the air!

      LOL, something about cousins with everyone I see! Glad I’m not really an odd duck.

      Thank you very much, I’m glad you enjoyed it!

      ~Jamie

  7. What a fun list! So… what was your first Disney cartoon ever? 😀

    No clue what my first superhero movie was… Depends on the definition of superhero. If from comics specifically, I think it was Captain America… no, I’m wrong. I watched an ancient batman once – though it was just an episode, not a full movie. 🙂

    Miss you, dear! 🙂

    Love,
    Rebekah

    1. I can’t remember. The two I remember seeing when I was little (I watched them a lot when I was two years old) were Working for Peanuts and Two Chips and A Miss. 🙂

      Miss you too!

      ~Jamie

  8. I love the Boxcar Children and Encyclopedia Brown’s, I could never work out any of the solutions though. 🙂
    The first Marvel movie I saw was Thor and than Captain America.
    We’ve finally got the first series of Sherlock from the library! Hopefully we’ll be trying it out soon. 🙂 I just hope it is as good and clean as a hope.

    1. Awesome! I never could figure any of them out either; I still can’t work mysteries out on my own! 😛

      Yay! I hope you enjoy it! It is pretty clean and it’s REALLY good. The second season has more ‘icky’ stuff, I’ll be reviewing it soon.

      ~Jamie

  9. Those firsts are awesome! Fish and chips restaurant…how cool! 🙂 And Captain America is SUCH a good movie!!!! 😀 😀 😀
    Your first crush was Sherlock? What a coincidence! My first boyfriend was the Doctor! Not seeing the coincidence? …yeah, neither am I. (BTW, Happy Belated American Sherlock Day!)

    1. LOL, I don’t see the coincidence except that, sadly, their both fictional. *sobs*

      Happy American Sherlock Day to you too. I’m actually working on a post about Season 2; sadly I couldn’t post it on that day but oh well. Better late then never.

      ~Jamie

It always makes my day to see your messages! Don't forget to check back, I try to write back to you too! <3

