Favorite Movie Couples


So, my friend James had a great idea for Valentine’s Week to do a post on your favorite movie couples and he graciously let me steal the idea! So, today I’m going to just quickly highlight some of my top favorite movie couples.

tumblr_m3whoiu04G1qb2g7go1_r1_500

Steve Rogers and Peggy Carter from Captain America: The First Avenger. I can’t do this list without the tragic love story of Steve and Peggy. I still get upset that they were separated forever and I hate the idea of a future movie putting Steve with someone else. Just. No. I wish they had a happily ever after.

tumblr_m4o4mwjmOR1r3idmyo1_500

Tony Stark and Pepper Potts from the various movies including Iron Man, Iron Man 2 and The Avengers. No list can go without the billionaire playboy and his girl. I’m not sure how to explain why I like this couple so much. They’ve just had several movies for their relationship to reasonable grow. I really like both of these character–Pepper is pretty much my favorite Marvel woman ever and Tony is my second favorite Avenger…. so, I just really like these two. I’m dying to see what happens to them in Iron Man 3.

tumblr_m7448wvr1X1qf9d76o1_500

Peter Parker and Gwen Stacey from The Amazing Spider-Man. I love this couple so much; they are way better then the ridicoulous unblanced rather unhealthy relationship in the former Spider-Man trilogy of Peter and MJ. At least in this movie, they become a couple sooner then later and Peter actually is honest with Gwen instead of keeping his Spider-Man secret from her like he did for two movies in the last trilogy. And they’re so cute together.

Han and Leia, 37

Han Solo and Princess Leia from the Original Star Wars Trilogy. HOW DO I DO THIS POST WITHOUT HAN AND LEIA?! They’re nearly the ultimate movie couple. The growth of their relationship and love throughout the three movies make for a well developed romance and ‘ultimate couple’ where you reach the end of the last movie and you know they will be together forever. They have some great banter and one of the most memorable love line in film histroy: “I love you” “I know”

MEGAN FOX and SHIA LABEOUF Transformers the movie

Sam Witwicky and Mikaele Banes from Transformers and Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen. They’re a super cute couple and I wish their relationship could have continued in the third movie. It was fun watching Sam trying to win her affection throughout the first movie. The second movie’s ending left me thinking, “Okay, quick, before something else happens that might separate you two adorables for life, get to a church and get married! Quick! AHHH!” But it was for not. Anyway, they’re are still one of my favorite film couples.

Rocky_III_32450_Medium

Rocky Balboa and Adrian Pennino from The Rocky Series. Rocky and Adrian’s beautiful romance and then marriage really stood out to me. Rocky left a high standard bar for me in a lot of areas of what a man should be like, but speaking specifically with romance, he really left an impression that I will want to see if a man comes for me. Rocky, for as rough and tough as he looks and sounds and fights, really has a soft heart. As he was pretty unsuccessfully trying to court shy Adrian in the first film, he was very kind, very gentle, very loving. He pursued her even when she seemed to not like him. He never gave up on her. He loved her in a real way. Considering I have not seen love like this very much in real life, this part of his character really touched me because this wasn’t fake ‘fallen in love at first sight’ type of love. It was a real example of realistic love. So Rocky and Adrian’s romance one of my very favorite romances ever and set an example to me for what real love looks like. Gosh, I need to move on or I’m going to tear up.

ljionih;

Belle and the Beast from Beauty and the Beast. I have a lot of nostalgia attached to this movie and it’s pretty much my most favorite Disney movie ever. I love everything about this romance, and I love Belle and I love how the Beast changes and the ending makes me cry every time AND I NEVER CRY FOR MOVIES and they’re just one of my favorites.

tumblr_llppn0aMkR1qag27ho1_500

And last but not least, I adore Mickey and Minnie. Because how can you not.

So, Happy Valentine’s Day to you all, I hope you have a good day with your family and loved ones! And if you have time, check out James’ list of favorite movie couples if you have time! πŸ™‚

~Jamie

17 thoughts on “Favorite Movie Couples

  1. Great picks! Especially the top five. Obviously Han and Leia are awesome together. They are also great in the Thrawn trilogy novels and of course they had one of my favorite dialogue exchanges with the “scruffy-looking nurf herder” scene. It makes me laugh every-time! πŸ˜€
    Some bad news for you about Captain America 2, Shannon Carter (Peggy’s niece), has been cast, but I can’t remember the actress’ name.
    If the Iron Man 3 takes the idea from the comics, Pepper might get her own suit of armor.
    Good pick with Sam and Mikaele. Don’t know why but I like saying “Witwicky”, its such a funny sounding name. Glad you liked the Transformers movies, the first and last ones were my favorites. Also I really like Megan Fox. πŸ™‚
    “ADRIAN!” Sorry, but that is the first thing that I think anyone says “Adrian”, the ending the first Rocky was very memorable. πŸ™‚

    -James

    1. I also love that scene, Han’ excalmation of “Who’s scruffy looking?!” is hilarious!

      WHAT?! IT’s NOT TRUE! IT ISN’T POSSIBLE! NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO! NOOOOOOOOOOOO! *cough* Quoting Luke felt appropriate.

      *mini gasp* Now that would be cool to see Pepper in a suit! I think that would make for some hilarious scenes! πŸ™‚

      I also like saying “Witwicky”. I really like Megan Fox as well, I wish they hadn’t gotten rid of her for the third movie. If she had been in it instead of the British Dame it would have been a perfect movie. πŸ˜›

      LOL When ever we talk about the Rocky movies my dad just goes around saying “Yo Adrian” in a loud, deep, obnoxious voice, it’s pretty funny. πŸ˜›

      ~Jamie

  2. Captain America and Peggy are amazing!!! I love them!!!!! So much! I think I die a little every time when they are talking at the end of the movie… 😦

  3. I love how the first three mentioned are all Marvel-related. πŸ™‚
    Would you mind if I stole this idea? It looks like it’d be a blast to do.

  4. @Jamie: That’s what’s how I thought you would react. πŸ™‚ I’m not completely adverse since its in the comics, I completely understand your concerns. However, Peggy probably will in the movie as very old Peggy because I believe Whedon filmed some scenes there were obviously never used or shown.

    I agree, the British Dame was not near as good as Megan. But for some reason everyone hates Fox’s acting. :/

    LOL I do the exact same thing “Yo Adrian”. Stallone was good in that movie, not sure why he can’t act anymore.

    -James

    1. I wish we could have seen those scenes but hopefully we will someday!

      I didn’t think she was a bad actor at all. Friends told me that she was fired or booted off during the making of the third movie because she had a disagreement with somebody, so they just let her go. Mad about it, it ruined the great romanitic arc they had built; how do two people like them go through something really traumatic like in the second movie and then just split up? No, no, no. Just wouldn’t happen. 😦

      I’ve not seen any of his recent films so I really don’t have an opinion on his acting. I like him in all six Rocky movies and in FIrst Blood and it’s sequel.

      ~Jamie

  5. How did I not comment!!! O. O
    *will remedy that*

    First, my sister loves the way you have Suspects labeled on your blog… makes her smile every time. *realizes that I will be a suspect as soon as I post this comment, and my sister is smiling again!*

    I just noticed your Secret Files on the side… O.o

    Aha… I see Confidential Papers on your sidebar and Latest Cases too.

    I just read a mystery novel so maybe I am noticing these things more!
    I have not read a mystery novel in a long time… and now I look forward to maybe reading more of them. Also, God sent us two books on the mystery theme in one month… Cold Case Christianity is a look at the Gospels by a detective. I am feeling detective-ish lately…

    Ahem. Back to the subject at hand… I have to say my favorite couples from media would be mostly from Tolkien!
    Arwen and Aragorn, Faramir and Eowyn, even Rosie and Sam from the Shire.

    Those Tolkien books- what nobility, what goodness offset by what darkness. What triumph and sacrifice for others. *books are calling my name*
    (The food in Tolkien’s books was so tasty too- Hot soup and cold meat with fresh cheese and blackberry pie at the inn at Bree. Mmmm.)
    And the houses were so restful. Elronds house, the Last Homely House on the Edge of the Wild.

    As I type this, my sister (who loved your writing interview) is writing in her notebook in the chair next to me, tonight she is writing vivid descriptions as practice.
    She really liked your writing interview! So did I!
    I love reading about writers and new books.

    *wonders why I am better at rambles in this comment box than on my blog…*

    Blessings Jamie!
    ~ Faith

    1. Alright, I absolutely LOVE IT whn you ramble in my comment box! You and your sister made my evening! πŸ˜€

      I’m so glad someone has noticed my detective-ish titles on the sidebar!!! πŸ˜€

      And I’m glad your sister liked my writing interview. If she hasn’t found it already, you can tell her to read my writing blog, which you can find by locating the button on the sidebar with the fairy on it. πŸ™‚ I hope she likes it! πŸ™‚

      THanks again for making my evening! πŸ™‚

      ~Jamie

  6. Hehehe…my dad says “Yo Adrian!” too πŸ˜‰

    I think my favorite couple on this post is Steve and Peggy. They give me warm fuzzy feelings. I, too, wish they could’ve gotten together somehow. Why did they have to end the movie so tragically? Sharon Carter had better be a good character because it’s gonna be hard to beat Peggy. (It’s gonna be hard to beat Hayley Atwell, too.) Grrrrr….Steve had better end up with a girl who’s as worthy of him!

    Han and Leia…(*smiles*)…”Why you…half-witted…scruffy-looking….NERF HERDER!!” What is a nerf-herder, anyway?

    Oh yes, the end of “Beauty and the Beast.” It gives me the chills every time when you see them dancing for that last time and the big choir belts out, “Certain as the sun rising in the east, tale as old as time, song as old as rhyme . . .” Gah, I’m getting goosebumps just thinking about it! We saw the musical a couple of years ago and that last scene brought down the house.

    1. LOL!

      In my opinion there will be no one who will be worthy of Steve! GAAAAAAAH, I CAN’T EVEN TALK ABOUT IT, I GET SO UPSET! Moving on…

      Ah, on Leia’s planet, there are creatres called nerfs; I’m not sure what they were kept for but they required nerf herders and this particular position is near the bottom of the social status scale whatchmacallit. πŸ˜€ So, Leia called him one of the most insulting things she knew! πŸ™‚

      Now you’re giving me chills! I really need to rewatch that movie again!

      ~Jamie

  7. Jamie!
    I wanted to tell you- my sister has started a blog!

    *Faith smiles, knowing Jamie will understand the need for exclamation points when describing sister’s blogging*

    It is going to be a writing and photography blog. This is it- GraspingLifeDiligently.wordpress.com

    I think you inspired her to start one! πŸ™‚

    And I FINALLY learned how to do the yellow smiles. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Now I will put them EVERYwhere. πŸ™‚ I warned y’all. πŸ™‚ I am real happy to know how to do those smiles….Now how do I put italics in wordpress comments?
    Blessings Jamie!
    ~ Faith

    1. How awesome! Thank you so much for giving me the address, I’ll check it out! πŸ™‚ *EDIT couldn’t bring it up, I’ll try again later incase you are having difficulties. πŸ™‚

      And yay, you figured out the smiliys! They’re so fun! πŸ˜€ πŸ™‚ πŸ˜›

      As far as I know, only the Admin can use italics but you might figure out how to do it, so who knows! πŸ™‚

      ~Jamie

  8. I just checked my Angela’s email- and there is your comment! Thank you so VERY much!!!
    I think this blogging experience is going to be very good for her!
    πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Hugs to you Jamie! ~Faith

It always makes my day to see your messages! Don't forget to check back, I try to write back to you too! <3

