life is what you make it


tumblr_meza0t7CoD1r3htfmo1_500

Sometimes life sucks. And then sometimes it’s really awesome.Β  The saying “life is what you make it” is often very true but then in other ways I can’t control everything that happens to me. Really bad things happen, and they drag out for over a few years with months where things are just really emotional and stressful and then it slows down you’re able to relax for a moment.

2011 was full of angst, verbal abuse, loosing old friends, making new friends, tears, and Star Wars but pretty much disaster. 2012 the roller coaster slowed down a bit; full of reading, writing, finishing school, struggling to mend as a family, the Avengers and hopes. Now we are nearly through the first month of 2013 and I see the roller coaster speeding up with lots of big, scary drops ahead of me, with a lot more tears, a lot more emotional pain, a huge looming fear of loosing the new friends I’ve only just made and a lot more scarring that will be left on top of old wounds that still haven’t healed completely. It’s really scary.

But at the same time, I really want to try to remain the happy me. Life isn’t always what you make it but it will always be miserable if you let it squash you. Today I took another step in keeping me head above the water, in trying to set an example of strength and cheerfulness to my siblings by saying that, yes, life is hard now but we can still have fun, we have to move on and not sit in a tub of tears unable to smile.

Today, I learned how to moonwalk. Yes, that funny walk that looks like your walking normal but you’re going backwards–this is the tutorial I watched to learn if you are interested, it’s actually very easy to understand. Why is learning to moonwalk important to me? Because it’s something new, something fun, something that you only see the ‘cool people’ able to do. It’s a distraction and it makes me smile. Because in some small ways, life is what you make it.

It’s only something small but it helps. What are the small things you do to make your day better?

~Jamie

P.S. thank you so much for your prayers and many comments on my last post, everyone, they were very encouraging to both me and Kayla and also my Mom! We are no where out of the darkness yet so please keep up the prayers! They are so appreciated, it makes me feel better to know my friends across the country are there for me!

22 thoughts on “life is what you make it

  1. Yes, life is always going to be full of ups and downs, unfortunately, but as one of my favorite speakers, Joyce Meyer’s husband says whenever something bad or annoying or depressing happens — “I’m not impressed”. I always say that, or think it, when bad things happen, because it reminds me not to be shaken over whatever is going on. All things work out for the better, even if they are hard things, and every trial makes us stronger. I know it’s not easy, but it sounds like, even though bad things are happening, in the end you’ll be better for it. Just keep focusing on the happy life you want to have, and the purpose that you have, and the things that you want to complete and do in your life. If you do as much as you can, everything else will fall into place eventually.

    For me, I usually read (especially fanfiction) when I’m upset, or watch my favorite shows, or go to my favorite place. I also like to take walks, sit outside, or draw.

    I’m keeping you in my prayers! Keep your chin up. πŸ™‚

    Alexandra~

    1. Exactly, that’s a good way of putting it!!! πŸ™‚ I need to sit outside more often, that’s a great idea! πŸ™‚ And thank you for your prayers!

      ~Jamie

  2. My favorite line in your post was “Life isn’t always what you make it but it will always be miserable if you let it squash you.”–It’s something I need to remember πŸ™‚

    I’ve been praying for you & your family Jamie–I’ll keep on praying for you guys, too.

    Thank you for the tutorial on moonwalking!! haha, I’ve always wanted to learn!! πŸ™‚

    -Emily πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you, I need to remember it too. I will probably write it down on something and post it on my wall! πŸ™‚ Thank you for your prayers and comments, Emily!!!!!

      Yay, now we can both be cool people! Lol! I’ve always wanted to learn too but it wasn’t till this morning that it dawned on me that I could just type “how to moonwalk” into Youtube! Haha!

      ~Jamie

  3. Moonwalking!!! That made me smile!
    Your siblings will be helped greatly by your strong example of cheerfulness. That is being “strong and of good courage” if I have ever seen it.
    God Bless you and we are
    praying for you Jamie!

    1. Oh, thank you so much for the encouragement! They don’t always show it but I do hope that it makes them feel better anyway. πŸ™‚ Thank you for the prayers, Faith!

      ~Jamie

  4. Well, as Faith said, you’re providing a great example of cheerfulness, courage, and joy through tribulation by this post! Hey, if moonwalking makes you smile and your siblings laugh–shoot for the stars! πŸ˜‰ As Victor Hugo said, “Laughter is the sun that drives winter from the face.”

    Some small things I do to make my day better? Hmmm….well, sitting with my brother in his room and laughing ourselves silly over some really random GIFs was one thing I did just this morning! Also, teaching my 3-year-old (littlest) sister how to play piano has become a real joy! It’s one of those little things, seeing her little finger poised above the piano keys and realizing that she really *does* associate the notes on the page with the pretty white keys! (*whispers* YES!!! I’m not a bad teacher after all!)

    When I’ve gone through stressful times, though (baby brother having cancer, grandmother nearly dying after a bad fall, baby sister born a preemie, elections, etc.) I’ve always found that listening to meaningful contemporary Christian music has kept my mind and heart where they ought to be. (By meaningful I mean the bands/singers with sound, God-centered theology in their lyrics, like Casting Crowns, Steven Curtis Chapman, Kari Jobe, etc.) I was so glad when someone on your last post recommended Laura Story’s song “Blessings”–that song ministered to me in HUGE ways last year!

    Hang in there, Jamie…our entire family is praying for all of you, but you and your mom especially. Be steadfast! ❀

    1. Laughter really is the best medicine!

      Haha, I love sharing gifs with Kayla, it’s so funny to see her reactions! How awesome you can teach piano! My mom wants me to start teaching my brother but I’m not very confident in my teaching skills. One of these days she’ll make us both sit on the piano bench though and hopefully I’ll be able to communicate the skill! πŸ˜›

      Thanks for the band recommendations! I will have to check them out! And thank you again for your prayers and all the love you share!! Tell your family I said thank you, too!

      ~Jamie

  5. I’ve gone through an emotional two years two, so I know what you mean. My mom was diagnosed with cancer that was incurable though treatable, and school fell behind so I ended up doing school all through summer. That meant no break to recharge the brain. Plus, my dance teacher became very very difficult, adding to the stress.

    …and trying to stay happy at the same time? I really admire you for trying to remain thankful and happy through all that you are going through. Trust me…I know it is hard. I’ve been praying for you and your family.

    1. Oh my word, Helen, how awful! I’ll keep your family in my prayers, that sounds very difficult, I hope your mom is doing okay! πŸ™‚ And thank you for your support and prayers! πŸ™‚

      ~Jamie

  6. Good to see you are having a good attitude even in the toughest times.
    Now you can moon walk like Micheal Jackson! That’s cool.
    I will never forget to pray for you and your family, I still feel bad that there is nothing more I can do.

    -James

    1. Thanks, James; and the moonwalk is actually really fun to do, I need to keep practicing so I can do it more smoothly. πŸ™‚

      Thank you so much for all your prayers and concern; prayers are the best thing anyone can do for us at this time and it’s what we really need and want right now! πŸ™‚

      ~Jamie

  7. I love your optimism, it’s so encouraging. πŸ™‚
    Been praying everyday for you and your family, I hope this turns out to be a blessing in disguise or something like that. *hugs to everyone*

  8. I sing a lot, especially when I’m upset or anxious or anything like that. I just put on a playlist and start singing until I feel better. That’s why I love dramatic music and musicals where you can just pour your heart out and go through so many different emotions. It’s cleansing and calming. Though, I admit, I don’t sing very well, but I sing nonetheless πŸ˜€

    1. Singing is a great idea, my mom wants to start playing music more often around the house, we love the soundtracks for Fiddler on the Roof and The Music Man and Camelot. My family does need to get back to singing! Thanks so much for the encouragement.

      ~Jamie

It always makes my day to see your messages! Don't forget to check back, I try to write back to you too! <3

