Sherlock


tumblr_m3oz2smyyP1qadm9oo1_500

I finally gotten around to seeing Season One of BBC’s brilliant modernized take of Sir Doyle’s famous detective Sherlock Holmes. I needn’t say how obsessed and how much I’ve read of the original stories throughout the year of 2012; you all should know that by now! So it was appropriate to wrap the year off watching “Sherlock”.

tumblr_m9xtslDibq1qz6f9yo1_500

I’d heard a lot of good about this series but considering I’ve always loved the original stories and am very picky when it comes to the different actors who have portrayed Holmes, I spent a good deal of time weighing the series out to get a good feel of it before I borrowed the first three episodes. Basil Rathbone has always been my preferred version for Sherlock Holmes and I’ve disliked most other actors who’ve taken on the role for one reason or another. However, from what I saw of Benedict Cumberbatch’s performance, I was actually willing to accept his face and voiceΒ  for Holmes. I was also open to Martin Freeman’s portrayal for Dr Watson, especially since he hit closer to the original book-Watson (even though I love and adore Nigel Bruce’s silly version of Watson). I gave it a shot.

This is now, literally, my favorite show so I have to share some of my thoughts about it with you, right? Do remember this is all coming from the perspective of someone who’s a huge fan of the books and has read nearly all of them, so I watched this show with it in comparison to the original stories.

tumblr_mggzg1Yeqq1rn8k6wo1_500

Benedict is the perfect ‘modern’ Holmes; his performances in these first three episodes, “A Study in Pink”, “Blind Banker” and “The Great Game” were phenomenal. While he’s more rude then the original Sherlock, his sarcasm is just about the best part of the whole show. Even for it being a modernized version of the character, Benedict’s performance sang true to the heart of Sherlock, a heart which I’ve always loved and just recently been soaked in for a good amount of time. I could ramble on and on here but I’m going to cut to the chase and say Benedict has actually stood up to my strong love of Basil’s version of Sherlock and quite won over my affections–something hard to win from me when you play Sherlock Holmes. He does the character justice and I LOVE HIM TO DEATH OMG I NEED A LIFE SIZE POSTER OF THIS GUY ON MY WALL NEXT TO CAPTAIN AMERICA HE’S MY HERO DJFKSLJFKSJDL.

Anyway.

tumblr_mewcu0cRFY1r6mt8go1_r3_500

As to the rest of the casting; it’s all perfect. John, Lastrade, Mycroft, Moriarty, even Sarah. I’m so excited to see what the characters will serve up in the second season and what new characters we’ll meet. Same with Season 3 for all you lucky fans who were smarter then I and got around to seeing the show sooner!

tumblr_mgmsy1Xtty1rr4uq4o1_500

Speaking of cast, Martin Freeman needs a section here, too, to have a million thumbs up given to him as well. His John is perfect for Benedict’s Sherlock and they have so many great lines of banter between them. This is a great adaption of good ol’ Dr. Watson, with his writing/blogging and handgun and admiration for Holmes’ talents. He’s also a great dimensional character all on his own, specifically in A Study In Pink where we see him struggling to adapt to his new problems of returning from the war. The character can stand on his own two feet and isn’t simply there for just comedic relief like he has often been portrayed in adaptions. I like this very much.

tumblr_meedesbJTV1qzv6hqo1_500

I also love how many little things the creators of the show slipped in from the original stories; Sherlock shooting at the wall, they brought out the” chemist” in him that has often been neglected in a lot of adaptions, his ignorance of the solar system, John being a writer by blogging, ect, ect, there have been so many little things that have given the show enough familiarity for old fans of the novels to get comfortable with while at the same time feeling fresh and modern. In many ways, seeing an fairly accurate portrayal of Sherlock and John but in a modern setting makes them even more relate-able.

Looking at it as a whole, it’s very different from the books, but to me, it’s a good different.

sherlock-holmes-1323550805-4690

I can’t end this post without talking about another one of the elements of perfection. THE SOUNDTRACK. For those of you who haven’t seen the show and therefore have not heard the brilliant themes, do click the picture above for a wide melody of music that is used in the show. I’ve learned to play the main theme on the piano, I liked it that much. πŸ™‚

tumblr_menxzcTWDi1r7clc5o1_500

The show is also very quote-able. I want to go around having witty comebacks like Sherlock. I’m also waiting for the perfect time tell certain someone to be quiet because they are “lowering the IQ of the entire street”.

Seriously, this show has the best dialogue ever.

To wrap this up, I’ll say this is the best first season for a show I’ve ever see and it should be illegal for good shows to have so few episodes per season and I can’t wait to see the second season and I’ll be praying to God that Benedict and Martin will be able to film the third season this spring without any more delays. *deep breath* That was a long sentence.

tumblr_mgmsfeXRVZ1rhm439o1_500

I’m now off to read the first three chapters of A Valley of Fear; I’ll be very sad when I finish this book, I’ll have read all four of the original Sherlock novels and there will be no more left. Oh well. Let’s see, where did I leave my pipe?

~Jamie

12 thoughts on “Sherlock

  1. I haven’t seen this show yet, but I do adore British television and I have often wondered why they have less episodes per season (ahem Downton Abbey), but I like to think that they want to keep the material pristine and not muddy it up by overdoing it, like we do here. And I’m somewhat afraid of your answer, because I don’t think I’ve seen you mention it before (or I just missed it), but how did you feel about the Robert Downey Jr. version of Holmes? I loved it, it’s hilarious and highly quote-able! πŸ˜€

    1. You should see this show, I think you’d like it!

      I have not seen either of Robert’s films fully but I’ve had friends tell me and my best friend that they don’t think we would like him because he’s not like the book version and Dylan and I are more purists to the originals. I would probably enjoy the movies overall because they look like good action films but Robert will always be Tony Stark to me. πŸ™‚ I’m sure it is hilarious, it’s Robert Downey Jr! πŸ˜€

      Let me know if you see Sherlock and how you like it!

      ~Jamie

      1. I haven’t read the original Sherlock’s (other than The Hound of the Baskervilles like 13 years ago) but I thought the movies were great, my best friend and I quote them all the time. She is the Watson to my Holmes as we say, lol. But yeah, I’ll let you know what I think when I get the chance to watch the show πŸ˜€

      2. Awesome! And I totally know the “Watson to my Holmes” thing, my best friend and I have been branded Sherlock fanatics at church; he’s Sherlock and I’m his Watson! It’s pretty funny! πŸ˜€

        ~Jamie

  2. *highfive* Told you the series was awesome! As I said before the first season is a tad blury because it has been so long since I watched it but it was amazing. I agree about the dialogue, its always so witty and humorous, although it seems most things British have witty banter (Doctor Who, RDJ Sherlock, ect.). Steven Moffat is a genius writing the series, one of the few truly great mysteries that have been made in a while.
    I also agree with you about the soundtrack, it fantastic! On par with Hans Zimmer’s soundtrack from the films, maybe even better. πŸ™‚
    Was Sarah in the original stories? Just crious. By the way, when are you going to see the Robert Downy Jr. Sherlock? “A Game of Shadows” was rather brilliant.
    Glad you enjoyed the series, except for the first episode season 2 was equelly as fantastic!

    -James

    1. *highfive back*Yes, and I believed you but it still didn’t prepare me for just how awesome it really is! πŸ˜› The Brits have great humor; and I don’t know if it’s just because we’re Americans, but it’s also great hearing their accents and slang, it adds another dimension because it’s so different. πŸ˜›

      Sarah is introduced in The Blind Banker and we see her shortly in the beginning of The Great Game (John slept over at her house on her couch!) I like her, I really hope she and John end up together permanently aka marriage even if it does mean John moves out of 221 B. πŸ™‚ That would be book accurate.

      I don’t know, quite frankly. It’s not on my immediate ‘want to see right now’ list, I first want to get around to see LOTR and Pirates of the Carribean but it will be a little while before I even get to them. Maybe I’ll be able to see them by the end of this year. I’d like to see the two films just because Robert’s in it because I love Robert. πŸ˜›

      I’m not sure what we’ll do about that first episode, but otherwise I’m so excited to see Season 2. I’ll have to do a review of that once I see it. πŸ™‚

      ~Jamie

  3. Sherlock is amazing! I absolutely can’t wait until season 3 comes out. And I totally understand what you mean about having so few episodes in the season–what’s with the British and short seasons?? Do they realize what they are doing to fangirls when they do that?! (Sorry, I’m very dedicated to my British tv shows… lol)

    And I completely agree–Sherlock has some of the best dialogue EVER. Not as good as Downton Abbey (my favorite show in the whole world. forever and ever. amen.), but it is still amazing! πŸ˜€

    1. I know, I know, it’s quite annoying! Someday we should write a petition or something and send it to England complaining! Lol.

      Soooo many people talk about Downtown Abbey, I’ll have to look into sometime! πŸ˜€

      ~Jamie

  4. I love Sherlock terribly, and I’m glad that you’ve finally gotten to see it! I think that he’s probably my favorite version of Holmes, but that’s mainly because I love how rude he is. I like the Downey films, but he doesn’t really seem like Sherlock to me; his accent is very bad, too.

    Hopefully, they will get back to filming soon. Sigh…soon.

    I also love the quotes, by the way. They are amazing!

    Best,

    Alexandra~

    1. Haha, I’m glad I’m not the only one who actually likes his rudeness! πŸ˜› πŸ˜› Downey doesn’t look anything like Holmes should, to me personally but I think the films would be very entertaining. Like I already said, I’m in no hurry to see these adaptions. πŸ™‚

      YES! It’s taking them forever!!!!

      ~Jamie

  5. SHERLOCK HOLMES!!!!!!!! πŸ˜€

    But still… I gotta say my favorite part/quote is, “Nothing happens to me. 😐 “

It always makes my day to see your messages! Don't forget to check back, I try to write back to you too! <3

