two thousand twelve recap

IMG_8348
this past spring; Lady Vader battles the young Jedi Nathan (ie: me and my brother having Star Wars fun in the front yard)

This year has been a large big blur to me. Months have blended into each other and it doesn’t feel like 2012 should be over. Most of the year was better then last year in regards to family drama and emotional stress but I see a lot of that coming back next year so I’m trying to get a stiff upper lip and be ready for tougher times coming. I’ve had a lot of fun over the year too, even though I didn’t do that many crazy things.

img_5777

The beginning of the year was filled with getting to know my new church friends better; playing Cops and Robbers a great deal with The Boys and forging friendships with them was some of my favorite parts of the beginning of the year. My Christmas kitten Princess was at her playful, super cute stage during the spring and she cuddled with me at the point. She was so much as a kitten and even though she’s super fat and very independent these days, she still purrs when I pick her up. Our hot summer was spent catering to her and her five kittens. We have three of her kittens and they’re now as big as she is. It’s been a lot of fun to have more cats around the yard again.

img_9781

The Avengers came out in May and the fandom has become a good part of my life and my siblings lives. The Avengers movies got me on a roll of watching superhero movies so I saw all the Spider-Man movies and three different Batman movies this year, which included Tim Burton’s film (I will be seeing The Dark Knight Rises soon because we got it for Christmas). The family is now watching the X-Men films. Superheroes has certainly been a large part of my year; they’re a source of both entertainment and inspiration. I’m slowly getting into Batman, but my true love will always be Marvel’s Avengers.

20121013_IMG_9999_30
(photo courtesy to our friends the J family)

I turned eighteen this summer and then graduated from homeschool a few months later. My parents threw my a huge party, the first in a very, very long time. Becoming eighteen has granted a bit more freedom in small areas and even though I’ve not done anything huge or amazing because of my age difference, there is still a great awesome feeling about the number. I spent my summer feverishly reading school books and checking off the list that my mom had made for me to finish and it’s been a relief to be all done with school.

Black and White

This is my favorite picture from the entire year; me and Dylan from one of our games of Cops and Robbers. The other big thing that happened this year was that I got back to steadily reading again. I’ve always loved reading but there is a lot more fun to it when you share it with someone else who both enjoys and appreciates it. I’ve read volumes of Sherlock Holmes stories, I read Dracula, The Legend of Sleepy Hollow, and Murder on the Orient Express with Dylan this year. We’ve been branded by our friends as Holmes fanatics–I’ve seen Dylan change in the fact that now he is such a die-hard Sherlockian, something he wasn’t when I first met him and he introduced me to gaslamp fantasy like Dracula which is one of my top favorite books now—I would never have thought to even look at the book if he hadn’t recommended it so highly. It’s been amazing to get so much reading done this year and it’s been so much fun doing it with someone who loves it as much as I do. I’ve fallen back in love with Sherlock and with reading this year which makes me very happy.

I’m not sure what’s in store for me in 2013 but I hope it will be more good things like this year. ๐Ÿ™‚

~Jamie

17 thoughts on “two thousand twelve recap

  1. In many ways 2012 was a blur for me, too…at least the first part of it…but looking back I can see that the Lord was teaching me a lot of extremely important lessons. We know that He works all things for the good of those who love Him!

  2. Was I alive when all this happened?? …. Ohhh yeah… books. That’s why it seemed so slow. Maybe. XD Very interesting….. I’m still so proud about that shot. You’re welcome. XD

    1. HAHAHAHAHAHA “Nooooo they’re talking about *in girly voice* Sherlock Holmes and books and -blah-blah-blah”

      And thank you for that shot. ๐Ÿ˜€

      ~Jamie

    2. Is that supposed to be me??? I don’t think I ever whined about ya’ll talking about books in front of you, or at least, not like OTHER PEOPLE!!!!! XD
      You’re welcome again. ๐Ÿ˜›

      1. That is referring to you and Daryck in particular. ๐Ÿ˜› I was specifically trying to sound like Daryck though. ๐Ÿ˜€

        ~Jamie

  3. Glad that you had a mostly good year. ๐Ÿ™‚ The Avengers was one of the best parts of the year for as well.
    While nothing exciting happened to me this year, I did get to see a lot more movies and write more blog posts. Hope and pray that next year will be a great year for you.
    By the way, thanks for recommending “How to Train Your Dragon”, watched it last night and really enjoyed it! ๐Ÿ˜€

    1. Thanks for the prayers, they’re are so very much appreciated and badly needed!!! I’m glad you had a great year too; I loved reading your blog this year you wrote a lot of great reviews!!!

      Oh goody, I’m glad you watched it and liked it!!! Isn’t it a great movie? The soundtrack is worth to DIE FOR and the characters and dragons and plot are also really good! ๐Ÿ˜€

      ~Jamie

  4. Yes, it a fantastic movie! One of my favorite animated movies now. I heard some of the soundtrack before on your blog but WOW! In the movie it is even better! One of my favorite soundtracks as well. ๐Ÿ™‚ There were a few very small things I did not like but overall it was great. The ending was really surprising when he lost his LEG! Did not expected that at all.

    -James

    1. Yes, the move with taking out his leg was a great realistic move that animated films normally don’t take; I like how the Dreamworks team had guts to actually do that, but it tied in with Hiccup missing part of his tail as well. ๐Ÿ™‚ You will have to do a review on it so I can get your full thoughts!

      Now I want to watch it again! ๐Ÿ˜€

      ~Jamie

  5. 2012 was definitely a blur. I never really understood my parent’s when they said that the older you get, the faster time goes. Now I completely understand.

    New Year’s is always a very bittersweet year for me–but I honestly can’t wait to see wait 2013 holds. Happy New Year, Jamie!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Oh my gosh, I soooo understand that feeling as well. Especially just for each week passing. Everytime I get the in the car to go to church I feel like, “I just did this like… a second ago!” and then we’re on our way back home and I blink and it’s Sunday again! ๐Ÿ˜€

      Happy New Years to you, Emily! Have a good evening!

      ~Jamie

It always makes my day to see your messages! Don't forget to check back, I try to write back to you too! <3

