The Next Big Thing


I’ve been tagged by Moonstonemaiden; it’s a writing/book tag, which I’ll be copying onto my writing blog shortly; whichever post you choose to comment on is up to you. 🙂

Considering I’ve done a good deal of talking about my book, already, I will attempt to not repeat myself too much. 😀

What is the working title of your book? The working title of my most recent book is “Forever Fairy”, but I have an acute sense that the title is nowhere near what it should be, so it certainly won’t be on the published book. 🙂

Where did the idea for the book come from? Two places, from a fantasy tumblr and from my own experiences of ‘going on adventures’ in fictional books with my friend. I wanted to write a story about two kids like ourselves actually going into a book and I wanted to try writing traditional fantasy, so I combined both ideas.

What genre does your book fall under? YA Fantasy

What actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition? Oh gosh, I hate this question. I know of only one character who has an actor for his face, and that’s one of my three main characters, Ryan Evets. Cillian Murphy is the perfect actor for Ryan.

I’ve already written an excessive amount about Ryan’s character–you can read my post about him here. I will only share two things about him here. He’s extremely complicated yet sympathetic and I think he will be one of my strongest characters yet.

I really can’t think of any actors to play my two other main characters Will and Penny. It’s probably because I’m so picky…

What is the one sentence synopsis of your book? One sentence synopsis are easy, what I need to write is a paragraph one. Anyway, here it is, “Two teenagers find themselves trapped in a fantasy world inside a cursed novel and discover that they can only return home if they see the book out to the end and help steer it to an actual happy ending.”

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency? I’m not sure, but I’m leaning more towards self-publish. I think it takes a lot more hoop-jumping to get a agency to publish your book and I simply will like having more control over my story if I self-publish.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript? It’s not done yet, but so far, I’ve written most of Part Two in a month.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre? Oh, I don’t know. I don’t read that much fantasy at all, so I don’t think I can point at anything.

Who or what inspired you to write this book? I’d say the main inspiration to write this story was Dylan, my best friend. In him I had already found an interesting personality that was fun to attempt writing in my own ways on paper and his enthusiasm as we read book after book over this pas year was touching in that he enjoyed reading just as much as I did and he enjoyed doing it with me. We’d traipsed through Victorian London on the heels of Sherlock Holmes for months on end, traveled Europe chasing after the vampire fiend Dracula, were bottled up in a train with Hercule Poirot surrounded by dozes of murder suspects for about three weeks and in a single evening, met the Headless Horseman and Ichabod Crane. I thought one day to myself, “We’ve really gone on some adventures together; how much more exciting would it be if we could actually go inside a book and live it in real life.” And the idea sprang to life in the form of a magical curse and fantasy novel where two kids much like ourselves find themselves pulled into a book and unable to leave before seeing it to the very end. Dylan helped inspire this idea, and one day when I get this book published (it will happen–it will), I’ll no doubt put his name on a page all by itself as a way to say thank you…

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest? While this if in form of traditional fantasy, I’ve tried to break as many ‘rules’ of the typical fantasy novel as possible. Entering a fantasy world, characters are effected by the change. They don’t find themselves discovering they now have special powers. They don’t want to be there, they want to return home (this is usually opposite in most books). They can’t use magic without consequence. They’re foreigners in a book written by another human being, discovering that they have stumbled over a thirty year old curse and ‘by chance’ are the ones given the challenge to break that curse, even though they have nothing going for them. If this doesn’t pique ones interest even by a little bit, then I’m doomed to have a failing novel. A more detailed post about all this above can be read here. 🙂

Sooo….

I’m going to tag a few people here, including:

Maribeth

Emily

Alexandra

Grace

Can’t wait to see your posts, girls. And thank you, again, Maiden, for tagging me!

~Jamie

22 thoughts on “The Next Big Thing

  1. Reblogged this on Fairies, Fantasy and Faith and commented:

    Reblogging this from my main blog because it belongs here too; if you already commented on the other blog, don’t feel like you need to again over here as well (not that I’m complaining about comments, just don’t feel obliged to comment twice on the same post.)

  2. I need to let out a big “SQUEEE!” over this tag! Thank you so much for tagging me! And I loved your answers! I can relate to that “breaking the rules of traditional fantasy.” My story is so…rule-breaking. You really can’t pigeonhole it into one genre or another!

    Anyway, so excited about this tag. Thank you thank you!

  3. Awesome post! I will definitely be writing up mine. 🙂

    I think that your novel sounds very interesting, actually, and I really look forward to reading it. It was nice to see the inside story.

    Alexandra~

    1. Yay, I’m looking forward to reading it! 🙂

      Thank you so much, that’s very encouraging! 😀 I’m glad you liked the inside story, too.

      ~Jamie

  4. This: “We’d traipsed through Victorian London on the heels of Sherlock Holmes for months on end, traveled Europe chasing after the vampire fiend Dracula, were bottled up in a train with Hercule Poirot surrounded by dozes of murder suspects for about three weeks and in a single evening, met the Headless Horseman and Ichabod Crane.” is just one of those sentences that is such a beautiful example of the craft of words that it makes you want to cry.

    And OMW you read Agatha Christie too! I saw that book in the library and I think I brought it home with me. Let me check.

    Yup! “Murder on the Orient Express.” I’m currently working on (well, reading, which sounds alot fun and relaxing than “working”; it’s not work, it’s fun!) “The Secret of Chimneys”
    I knew you read Sherlock (and Dracula) but not Agatha Christie! And isn’t Ichabod Crane Washington Irving? I’m not positive, but I think so. I studied him a bit in Literature. (Is the Headless Horseman and Ichabod Crane in the same thing or are they separate?)

    Long comment, I know. I’d say sorry, but I personally like long comments and think you do too so I’m not going to apologize.

    1. Yes, I adore long comments, thanks for writing me one!!!!

      That is so sweet of you, thank you so much, you’ve totally made my evening! I do love word crafting a lot…

      YES I LOVE AGATHA CHRISTIE! My family adores watching the Hercule Poirot TV show, and Miss Marple movies, and I love reading the books! “Murder on the Orient Express” blew my mind, it was so good; but then, all her books are like that. 🙂 Yes, The Legend of Sleepy Hollow is by Washington Irving and yes, those two are in the same short story. It’s a great story, you should read it some time!

      Again, thanks for the long comment; I love how you totally know what I’m talking about when it comes to books! 😀 😀

      ~Jamie

  5. Very interesting! I liked your whole story summed up like this, and Dylan seems to be a very great person to know! My friends haven’t inspired my story much… yet.

    1. Thank you very much, I glad the summary is a good one. And yes, Dylan is… Dylan is amazing. He makes me want to be a better person and at the same time is a heck of a lot of fun to be with; and he makes me feel important. You’re very right, he is a good person to know. 🙂

      ~Jamie

  6. I loved reading about your book! It sounds very fascinating 🙂
    I’m a writer too, and I’m going to be doing this writer’s tag for my blog pretty soon.

It always makes my day to see your messages! Don't forget to check back, I try to write back to you too! <3

