…the world will be watching…


So I finally saw The Hunger Games. There had been a lot of controversy over this movie, specifically in the reformed Christian circles and even in my own family. Many people love this movie, others hate it. I can understand how some people can be revolted from the story, considering it is about teenagers killing each other in a televised film show. C’mon, when you boil it down to that, it does sound rather mature. However, I found the movie enjoyable, interesting, sometimes intense and over all very good. Not perfect but still good.

Before I talk about the movie, I know of some friends who might be wary of the film considering things they might have heard about it from a certain radio show by Mr. Swanson, and I know said radio show upset certain internet friends by it’s unfairness and bad misrepresentation. The radio show upset me too and was really the thing that made me want to see the movie. For those friends who heard said radio show, I would highly recommend reading this article written by an articulate and sharp young man who responds to Mr. Swanson’s misrepresentation of the film in his blog post. Go ahead and read it, it’s right here. Oh, and read this article too for another well-balanced review of the film by a old church friend of mine, it’s also a must-read.

I had hope for this movie, even though I hadn’t seen it, that it was better then some people were relenting. And it was good. The gist of the whole story is about a young lady struggling to survive the brutal system of her government called the Hunger Games.

First things first. My thoughts on the two main characters, Katniss and Peeta.

My first thought I want to share here is that if anyone who can’t admire how self-sacrificing Katniss is, there’s something wrong with them. Because, really, this is exactly how you want a heroine to be like. Katniss, with her rough edges, was mature, respectable, elegant, strong, and self-sacrificing. She easily made her way onto my favorite’s heroines list. I loved her.

I actually liked Peeta more than I expected too. I was just a little put off about him because there were so many extreme fangirls everywhere and it was a little much. However, Peeta won me over by the end. He worked the systems to his advantage, which was smart. At the same time, he didn’t want to the systems to change him into something he wasn’t. He still wanted to be free. And that was neat to see.

I liked just about everything from this movie. The effects were great, the costumes were amazing. The music was perfect and I’ve enjoyed listening to it on it’s own way before I ever saw the movie. The only thing I can say I didn’t care for was the overused shaky camera, especially at the beginning of the movie. I appreciated it’s use for the violent scenes but they used it too much for non-violent scenes. This makes it rather hard to focus at times. Otherwise, everything about the film production-wise was great.

One of my most favorite scenes has got to be the parade scene, where we saw Peeta and Katniss in their flaming outfits. Everything about that scene took my breath away and one of the few that hadn’t been spoiled before hand for me.

I did find the whole romance between Katniss and Peeta a little strange and the makers of the movie probably assumed most of the viewers would have read the book. But it was a little hard to tell if they really were in love by the end or what. It was good that they did have a connection to each others past but for them to be legitimately in love that fast is just a little hard to swallow. Anyway, they make a cute couple and I’ll be interested to see where it goes in Catching Fire, including how her relationship with Gale turns out.

The Games themselves was very interesting to watch; sad but interesting. I appreciated how Katniss basically sat out of most of them game at the beginning; she only killed in self defense, she defended the youngest girl on the field and even though she was afraid, she did what she needed to do. A lot of things she needed to do back at home helped her while at the Games. She’s a good character.

Basically, I enjoyed this movie a lot and am sad that is was represented so badly in some Christian circles. It’s not a movie for everyone but it is a good movie; it gives a warning of what our future could hold, especially in consideration of media. I enjoyed it and I would recommend it to a mature audience of teens and up.

~Jamie

16 thoughts on “…the world will be watching…

  1. I just watched this movie a couple days ago, and I loved it. Of course it isn’t up there with Star Wars, LOTR, and the Avengers, but it was very good….intense…but good. I found it somewhat intense (the hornet things especially) and it was really sad, but I think the story was amazing and definitely had some things to learn from.

    1. Yes, exactly!! Yes, the hornets were a little much but they were made out to be way worse, so it really didn’t bother me that bad. πŸ˜€

      ~Jamie

  2. Thanks for this balanced review, Jamie. I’ve not seen the movies or read the books, but I knew about Mr. Swanson’s review and so I found The Ink Slinger’s article interesting…a different side of the argument. I do think that the whole futuristic side of The Hunger Games (our current obsession with entertainment gone awry) is something very good to think about, and reminds me of “Fahrenheit 451” or “The Giver.” Though it’s probably not a movie I’d see with an enthusiastic, “Oh, goody, let’s watch The Hunger Games, yippee!!” (which would be my current reaction to, say, “Let’s watch Star Wars”) I can still see how it would have its good points…and its bad points.

    Anyhooz, thanks for the review, and the link to the Ink Slinger–I enjoyed reading an opposing viewpoint πŸ™‚

    1. I’m glad you enjoyed Ink Slinger’s review! I wasn’t all hyper to see the movie either until I heard the Mr Swanson’s review and I could tell things were not lining up and he was stretching other parts of it, so I really wanted to see the movie for myself and get my own opinion of the movie. It’s not the most amazing movie ever *coughlikeStarWarscough* but it’s still great. πŸ™‚

      ~Jamie

  3. I love the movie! It’s nowhere near as good as the books (movies are never as good as the book…), but I still enjoyed it. I think the casting was wonderful. My brother watched it with me, and while he liked it, he complained that he didn’t understand some things, since he didn’t read the book.

    I can’t wait until Catching Fire comes out. I’m curious to see how they make certain connections, because the director left some important things from the series out of the first movie :/

    I’ve also noticed that the movie and the books get bad representation in Christian circles. A lot of my friends were like, “You read/watched the Hunger Games?! Wow, I’m surprised you would be involved with something like that”. They all listened to misinformed people.

    Anyway, I’m glad you like it!! WOWW, sorry for the long comment–I like to discuss movies and books, that’s all πŸ˜€ LOL

    1. There were a few things that I didn’t understand but it wasn’t so bad that I couldn’t like the movie, lol! Movies are never as good as the book, I’m trying really hard to learn to except that but it’s especially hard when it’s such a good book! πŸ˜€

      I’m really excited for the sequel, too! I hope it picks up right where it was all left off.

      Yeah, our parents were surprised Kayla wanted to see it, especially after hearing that radio show. I explained a few things to my Mom and she was great enough to give the movie a try herself and she came back with two thumbs up. I’m sad that it’s been made out to look bad, but I do understand how some people might not like different aspects of the story. It’s not for everyone, after all but I wouldn’t call it sinful or bad.

      Lol, I love you and your long comments!!!! Thanks!

      ~Jamie

  4. I strongly reccomend you read the books. The movie doesn’t portray the capitol/district relationship well and you can’t really see the agony Katniss is going through with the whole Peeta being in love with her thing. Also you get more insite to their past.

  5. Yay! You finally watched it!!! πŸ˜€ I’m glad you loved it!
    I’m team Gale. Actually, I’m team Haymitch. I like Peeta, but I think Katniss would be better off with Gale. Although…. *spoiler* in the third book… that’s all I’m telling. Katniss changed there too to. The girl on fire… not my hero in the third book anymore :/

    Anyway *spoiler ends* I loved your review! I totally agree with you for the shaky camera πŸ˜€

    Advice: IF YOU HAVEN’T READ THE BOOK, DO SO! IT’S EPIC!

    My mom saw me fangirling over a show where kids kill kids, so now she banned me from watching… pfft. As if that can stop me πŸ˜›

    1. HAHAHA I loved Haymitch, he was hilarious! I’ve heard Katniss changes which makes me sad, but it will be interesting to see how it all goes. I liked Gale too but he annoyed me, and I felt like the filmmakers were trying to make him annoying… which was annoying. Anyway.

      I’ll read them someday, I’m sure, just not now. πŸ˜›

      ~Jamie

  6. Good review – I’m glad you enjoyed the film (okay, so maybe “enjoyed” isn’t the best word). πŸ™‚ Also, thanks for linking to my article; the opinions of those who read it are sharply divided (just check out the comments section), so it’s nice to hear some encouraging feedback.

    If you appreciated the movie, I think you’ll appreciate the books even more. It’s one of my favorite series, and just goes to show that YA fiction can be intelligent, interesting, and well-written. Book 3, Mockingjay, is absolutely stunning – darker and more violent, yes, but the richest in terms of storytelling and thought-provoking material. If they screw up the film adaption, I will not be happy. At all. πŸ™‚

    1. Hey, Ink Slinger, thanks for dropping by! Your article is fantastic and helped me show the other side of the coin to my parents after hearing the talk. πŸ™‚

      I will have to read the books sometime in the future; I hope the film adaptions stay close the books, too. Dark and violence doesn’t bother me (I don’t like gore, though, but there is a difference between seeing violence and seeing gore) and can be powerful to make points!!

      Thanks again for stopping by and I’m happy to share your article! Keep up the good fight!

      ~Jamie

      1. You’ll have to review the books when you read them – I’d be very interested to hear your thoughts. πŸ™‚ As for violence vs. gore… gore really isn’t an issue, as far as I can remember. The violence is rough and gritty, but it’s unsettling primarily because it’s happening to characters you’ve come to care about.

  7. I’m glad you liked the movie. It seems that the main demographic is anyone who read and liked the book and women. About the controversial things in the movie, I didn’t have a problem with it because the people conducing the games are evil, villain like characters that you really hate. The shakey-cam was one of the biggest issues in the action for me as a fan of film making. Probably because I’ve been spoiled by such amazing action directors like Speiberg, Lucas, Joss Whedon, and the Wachowski Brothers (The Matrix). My friend is big fan of the Hunger Games so I want to liked the franchise, which I do enjoy it overall. But I am looking forward to Catching Fire because it feature older contestants. Great post! πŸ˜€

    -James

    1. Exactly! The film protrays the killing as bad, not as a good thing. But that just flies over everyone’s heads, I guess. πŸ™‚ Yeah, I guess I’m spoiled too, HAHAHA! πŸ˜€

      ~Jamie

It always makes my day to see your messages! Don't forget to check back, I try to write back to you too! <3

