Day 2 of Writing Challenge/Character Depth


Edit: I don’t know why WordPress has squished some of my writing; so, my apologies if this is hard to read.

Day two of the writing challenge is to interview your main character. I have two main character for Forever Fairy that I’ll be using (ie going from their perspectives.) However, I’m going to cover the female character today, seventeen year old Penny.

As I’ve been developing Penny’s back story, I’ve been looking for ways to make her a layered, flawed character. This little challenge from her viewpoint has actually helped pin down some aspects of how she thinks and what she thinks is important. To my non-writer friends, I won’t blame you if you don’t read the whole thing, lol. This is more for me to get to know my character better. However, any feedback you have will be appreciated.

1. What is your full name?
My full name is Penelope Jennifer Taylor, but most people call me Penny. I’d be happy if you did too.
2. What do you want most out of life?
Feeling like I matter, like I’ve made a difference in someone’s life. I also want security. I want to feel safe. I don’t like change very much, especially bad change. That’s one thing I want, is security.
3. If you had the chance to change ONE thing in your past, what would it be?
All the parental problems. It’s complicated and I don’t want to go into very much, but if mum and dad could have worked things out that day instead of there being that blow up, things would be better. We’ve always been together, and now they’re living separated for a little while to let everything cool off. I would go back and change the day things really went down…
4. What is your family life like?
Right now, it’s very different because dad is living somewhere else right now. It’s all very hard and insecure right now. I don’t know what will happen.
5. What three words describe you best?
Mmmm…. you’d probably get a better idea by asking a friend, but if I had to pick three words, they would be quiet, observant and sharp.
6. What is your view on life?
Life is hard. I believe life is one big stage and the Storyteller is orchestrating a big plot. Like in all my favorite books, life is always hard and difficulties try the characters but it all happens because the author is trying to get the characters into the next section of the story and by the end, there’s the big finale and the plot threads tie up and we read ‘the end’. I think Providence uses life to move us as characters throughout our stories. And like the characters always end up facing their deepest fears and hardest trails, we end up going through all hell too. I feel like I’m going through that sort of plot twist; all hell is broken loose and it feels like we’ve fallen into a big pit. But that’s how stories are. . . . . I just don’t know how my story will end. Life… is hard.
7. If you had the chance to give your life to save someone else, would you?
That’s actually a hard question. It’s easy when I’m sitting here to say, “yes, of course I would!” But if I was actually put in that situation, I honestly have to say I don’t know. I don’t know what I’d do in a situation like that. . . .
8. How do you view yourself?
As a small girl in a big world. It’s all pretty scary. Sometimes I wish I could become a kid again; I was so naive but it was much easier back than. It’s much hard having to be grown up.
What have I learned about Penny from listening to her voice in my head?
Penny is an insecure teenager in an insecure situation in an insecure world. She’s been woken to a harsher world by her parents separation and is in desperate need to feel secure again.
While she understands the hand of Providence by comparisons of her favorite novels, she has a hard time seeing it’s ultimate work in her own life, at least when she’s in the darkest part of her journey. She wants to feel important and that she can make a difference in people’s lives but she doesn’t know if she can do that if the situation sprang at her in an unexpected moment. These inconsistances in Penny will help me make her dimensional throughout the story as she reacts to life around her. How will she react when she and her best friend get sucked into a fantasy novel where they’re in pain but have no choice but see the story out to help break an old curse?
How will she feel when the little security she has is smashed by her reality giving way to fiction? And then having to face the consequences of her actions in that fictional story? Will she be able to stand up under the pressure to look deeper into the power of Providence and how it shapes life long stories? Or will she collapse under the strain of insecurity, fear and anger when pushed to her limits and is unable to completely understand her many questions?
Does Providence still stay in effect in a fictional world created by another human being? Is pragmatism, like using witchcraft in a fictional world to make things easier, okay when you’re no longer in reality? How does one break a curse without going against one’s personal convictions of magic? Will good things come out of all her struggles at home? Penny needs to have answers to all these questions by the end of my novel, so I’ve got quite a challenge ahead of me.
Β I’m excited to see how I can make Penny grow as a character while keeping her fragile, flawed and …. well, real.
Anyway, if you read all of this rambling then you’re pretty awesome. Now that I’m at the bottom of my post and am looking up at it, I certainly feel more familiar with Penny than I did at the top. There are a lot of questions in my story and I’m excited to give some answers. What do you all think? Have I piqued your interest in the slightest? What do you think of Penny and her weaknesses and strengths? Any feedback or critiquing is welcome; anything might help me make her a better character.
~Jamie
8 thoughts on “Day 2 of Writing Challenge/Character Depth

  1. I love the sound of your character! I seem to prefer characters who have flaws and aren’t superhuman, perfect heroes. So Penny seems like my type of person πŸ˜€ You have definitely got me interested in this novel! I can’t wait till NaNoWriMo!!!

  2. Wow. Penny sounds to me like a very believable and lovable character. You’ve definitely piqued my interest in her story–can’t wait to hear more!

    I have to ask: are you someone who makes meticulous notes about your characters, the plot, different subplots, etc. etc. etc.? I used to “write by the seat of my pants,” as one website described it, but I’ve found that keeping good, detailed notes has really helped me this year. Just curious πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you very much for the feedback, I’m so glad to hear it!!!

      HAHAHAHA! I’m a seat of my pants writer trying to become more of a notes taker. Most of my writing life, I just wrote what I wanted exactly when it came to me, but it’s only been in the last year and a half or so that I’ve come to understand it’s good to make notes and do world building before leaping into a story. I’m certainly more of a write by the seat of my pants person though. Notes are great, but it’s not something I do naturally. πŸ˜€ Thanks for asking!

      ~Jamie

  3. She sounds like an interesting character, although she is similar to a few other characters but still mostly original. πŸ™‚
    I like the part in “What is your view on life?” with “I believe life is one big stage and the Storyteller is orchestrating a big plot. ” since you are bascially the storyteller in the book.

    -James

It always makes my day to see your messages! Don't forget to check back, I try to write back to you too! <3

