When I Grow Up…


In the culture that we live in, throughout our lives, we’re always asked “what do you want to be when you grow up?” But when we get older the question gets really serious. One starts feeling very pressured to decide on ‘something to be’ by graduation time. This normally means picking some type of career.

I’ve been thinking about my passions and wants and hopes and heart desires recently in terms of what I want to be doing in the future. What do I really want to do, what do I want to accomplish. What do I see myself doing in ten years and what I’ll have behind my name. What has God laid in my heart?

For a while I thought writing was my calling and it is something I’m going to fiercely pursue. But when I look down the road, having books published isn’t really what I want to see. While I know that I have a gift for writing, it’s not my strongest passion.

The question comes down to, what have I always wanted to do?

It ain’t being a published author.  Selling a popular book would be awesome, don’t get me wrong; big dreams would maybe see it inspire a motion picture even.

But accomplishing that goal is not my life’s yearnings.

I realized my heart’s desire has always been marriage and motherhood. What I want more than anything in my future is to be with my best friend for life and have children of my own. You know; my own house to clean, my own kitchen to cook in, my own little gaggle of children racing around the backyard with lightsabers and Captain America shields screaming “Hiemdall, open the bifrost!” complete with a tree fort for Robin Hood and a playhouse for Sheild’s base to fight Loki and the Chatarri.

Love, laughter and life with my very own. That’s what I want more than anything else. I want a clean slate, I want to take everything I’ve learned over my eighteen years and start fresh. I don’t know if that’s actually possible but that’s what I want.

I don’t know if this is in my future or not, but I really pray that it is. This is my heart’s desire.

Oh, I’ll be taking a week break from computer/internet very shortly here; so… if I disappear, that will be why.

~Jamie

14 thoughts on “When I Grow Up…

  1. That’s a great choice, but to support your family you need to get a job… so what do you really wanna do?
    I always dream of becoming a published author… that’s really awesome 😀 Graphic designing will also be there. I thought about working in the UN since I really wanna do something good for the world.
    I’m glad I don’t have to decide yet, I’m only in eighth grade, lol. everyone’s going off to college and here I am… 😛

    1. 🙂 My husband will provide and support my family, I won’t have to do that. I do want something to fall back on for really bad times. A career choice would be writing. 🙂

      ~Jamie

  2. I hope and pray that you accomplished your goals. 🙂 Also I have noticed that most poeple on blogger aspire to be a writer to some degree.
    I will probably be doing something with computers after collage like code writing or programing.

    -James

    1. There are a lot of writers out there, especially in homeschool circles. Not sure why that is exactly.
      Sounds awesome, I think computers will be very large in our future so it’s great career choice.

      ~Jamie

  3. I know exactly what you mean 🙂 Of course, I love writing, and music, but what I want to be more than anything else is a wife and mommy. Some of my friends say I need to get a career–but what they don’t seem to realize is that having a family is a very important career!! I’m so glad to find someone else with the same dream! 🙂

    1. You understand me!!!! *tackle hugs* I think raising the next generation as a stay at home mother is one of the most important careers in existences because you’re shaping the future culture. I think it’s also one of the hardest careers out there, so it’s not like I’m not trying to catch a free ride of no work for the rest of my life either. I’ll never stop writing, but it’s not what my ultimate ‘career choice’ will be either. Love you, Emily!!!!

      ~Jamie

  4. I’ll just go ahead and say it: GOD BLESS THIS POST A THOUSAND TIMES!!! Checked my email after I woke up this morning and found your post in my inbox…I read it and felt so encouraged. Writing is, for me, a hobby that could possibly bring in some income for myself one day, but being a wife and mommy is undoubtedly my highest ambition and biggest dream. We were created for those roles, and God willing we’ll fulfill them one day! For now we live in preparation and enjoying our time as a stay-at-home daughters! 😀

    1. dfjksldjls You understand me, too!!!!! Amen to all you said as well! And yes, the time before marriage is when I’ll probably do the most of my writing! Love you!

      ~Jamie

  5. I don’t blame you for wanting that. For me, I’ve never wanted kids, but I’ve always wanted to get married, and I’m still hoping for that. That is a great goal (and I love the idea of the kids running around with lightsabers and shields, to fend off the horrors of the galaxy, and the evil mischief makers). 🙂

    A lot can happen between now and then, though. The years from eighteen to twenty-one, and even beyond, are insane and full of a lot of changes, and you’re right — a blank slate. You have that blank slate, and that’s a good thing. Make the most of it! This is the time to discover yourself (I’m not a pro at this, but I’m at the end of this spectrum in age).

    Having a plan, and thinking about what you want, just shows how mature you are. Chase yours goals with everything you have! I can guarantee the end result will be more amazing that you’d ever expected.

    Best wishes,

    Alexandra~

    1. I just wanted to say thank you for always writing long comments, Alexandra, I love reading them! 😀 😀

      Thank you very much for the encouragement, I intend to stretch as far as I can in between my stages! 😀

      ~Jamie

It always makes my day to see your messages! Don't forget to check back, I try to write back to you too! <3

