Batman, Books, Birthdays… and basically anything else on my mind


So, I’m basically in the same predicament as I was during the last post, which is fine, because that’s probably all you’re going to get from me for a now; I’m in a chattery mood anyway.

I’m also sitting on pins and needles waiting for my birthday tomorrow; I can’t wait (thus, ^ the cupcakes up there. Isn’t that gif kinda hypnotizing?)

Anyways.

So, I finally saw Batman Begins and The Dark Knight this past Friday and Saturday. Batman/Bruce Wayne is pretty cool, but I have to admit Tony Stark does a much better job pulling off the billionaire playboy persona than Bruce does. Also, Batman has a really awesome voice and I’m very terrible at imitating it. Anyway, I REALLY enjoyed Batman Begins, the plot and story arc was awesome. Everything about that movie was great and I think it’s sadly underrated.

The Dark Knight was awesome… but that’s because it has one the best, most colorful villains in it. Ever.

Now, you know me; I always cheer for the good side and I love a epic hero. But every once in a while, I give my dues to the villains who really deserve it. Remember, a movie can have a great story and cool hero but it’s all nothing without a big bad villain to provides conflict, emotional turmoil inside characters and provide a challenge that we want to see the hero take on. Examples; Luke Skywalker and Entire Rebel Army/Darth Vader and Emperor Palpatine. Entire Avengers Team and SHEILD/Loki.

Now how ’bout adding a little theatrics to the bag?

Basically, I wouldn’t have enjoyed The Dark Knight that much if it wasn’t for The Joker. He completely saved the movie in my opinion. He’s basically everything I love in a villain plus more. He’s crazy, he’s hilarious, he smart, he’s daring, and evil. Really evil. He’s colorful (literally), complex and has a huge personality. He can manipulate a system, say the right things to the right people to get them to do what he wants, and he full of real, bad boy swag. He’s good at what he does and he loves it.

This is how your villains should be, people.

They should want to watch the world burn.

So, yeah, I’m basically a Joker fan now. To me, he’s literally one of the best characters I’ve seen walk across a screen. If you don’t like The Joker than you must not like great characters. My personal opinion, of course.

*wink*

So, my family went to our state’s home school convention last weekend… and it was pretty cool. I bought a plasma lamp (looks very similar to that one above), a flexi-clip, a video game and…. I think that was it. Anyway, our family on a whole dragged home a lot of stuff from there. We got to see some old friends, too—I literally got tackled in the middle of one of the isles by one of my little adopted sisters from our last church. Nothing like being jumped one from behind than being squeezed over and over and someone squealing, “I MISSED YOU!” That’s the best feeling ever.

So, it was all great.

OH! Remember in my last post I was mourning over the fact that I wasn’t sure what Dylan and I would do after we finished The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes? God solved that problem at the very last minute, and here’s the story.

So, like I mentioned above, at the home school convention, I bought a video game? Well, it happened to be a Agatha Christie mystery game. My dad bought my sister a similar game, so we brought home two Hercule Poirot mystery games. Well, I opened the box of one late Saturday and discovered it had included a free copy of The Murder on the Orient Express. Oh, how cool, a free book, blah, blah, blah. So, I open my own game and I pull out the same exact book. My immediate thought was, “oh great, we don’t need two copies of the same book! Why couldn’t they have a different book in this one?” I sat there staring at the two books and something clicked. I was so excited. “Ohmigosh, KAYLA! Look, two copies of the Orient Express! Ohmigosh, this can be the next book Dylan and I can read! Ohmigosh, this is AH-MAH-ZING! Hallelujah! This is awesome!”

So, yesterday, after church, he started sighing about, “I don’t know what we can read now, you already read Dracula—” and I was all, “Oh, I know exactly what we can read now; you still want to read an Agatha Christie mystery, right!? I have just the thing! WOULD YOU BELIEVE THAT YESTERDAY BY PROVIDENTIAL APPOINTMENT I WAS GIVEN TWO COPIES OF THE SAME EXACT BOOK?!?!?!?!”

It’s all planned, as soon as he finishes The Final Problem, we’ll start Murder on the Orient Express (which Kayla says we saw as a film adaption but I don’t remember it, so I hope it will be a fresh story for me.)

I’ve gotten him addicted to Sherlock Holmes.

Now lets see how he cottons to Hercule Poirot.

*grins*

It’s awesome sharing adventures with friends.

Because, you know, reading really is an adventure when you think about it. We’ve traipsed through murder and mayhem with Sherlock Holmes, rediscovered the chocolate world of Willy Wonka and he introduced me to the chilling battle humans against vampires. I think those are what we can call adventures. All you readers out there can testify to that. Reading isn’t boring. Reading is an adventure.

(My sister is probably rolling her eyes right about here…I see you there, Kayla! *give the Nick Fury evil eye*)

So, I’m sitting in my butterfly chair tip-tap-tapping away on my keyboard listening to some Faun Eden, scrolling through pictures of The Joker, trying to decide what movie I want to watch and trying to think up different things I want to do tomorrow. I’ll probably pull a Loki and go full out “I do what I want!” tomorrow. Yep, that sounds like a great idea. Somebody pass me his helmet.

So, until next time, yours truly,

~Jamie

25 thoughts on “Batman, Books, Birthdays… and basically anything else on my mind

  1. Glad you finally got to see The Dark Knight and Batman Begins. I’m not overly crazy about the movies as some people are but I do love the movies, some of the best. The Joker is definitely one of the better villains, I quote him all the time and I can do a decent impession of him. “You want to see a magic trick?”, “Why so serious!?.”. and just anything he said during the movie. πŸ™‚ I can do a good Batman voice too.

    So how does The Dark Knight and Batman Begins rank among your other favorite comic book movies? I hope I am not annoying you with question though. My current favorites are:
    1: The Avengers
    2: Captain America
    3: Thor
    4: The Amazing Spider-Man
    5: Iron Man
    6: The Dark Knight

    Glad you had a good time at the home school convention. πŸ™‚

    -James

    1. I’m so going to be quoting The Joker now; he’s such a character. I’ll probably be pulling more “hmmmm”‘s during dramatic moments in life. LOL that part was awesome. “Now there’s a Batman!” πŸ™‚

      Lol, you’re not annoying me at all, I like questions. πŸ˜€ Off the top of my head, I’d probably rank them like this:

      The Avengers
      Captain America
      Iron Man
      The Dark Knight (for The Joker)
      The Amazing Spider-Man
      Batman Begins
      Thor
      Iron Man 2

      And I really like them, so those down at the bottom are still my favorites, if ya know what I mean.

      ~Jamie

  2. Glad you saw the Batman films! I admit, I’m not a huge fan of Batman Begins, but The Dark Knight was awesome. I love Joker, too, for his complexity, and downright evilness. This is the reason why I love Loki so much, too (well, that and I like the emotional trauma between him and Thor, being brothers). A story is nothing without a good villain.

    Reading is awesome.

    Have a great “I do what I want!” day! I don’t get many of those…sigh. Don’t we all wish we could wear Loki’s helmet sometimes? Love that pic, by the way!

    Best,

    Alexandra~

    1. YES, YES, YES! This is exactly why I love Loki! You understand!!!!! YES! πŸ˜€ I want his helmet, and his cape, and his staff, and his magic glow stick of destiny… πŸ˜›

      ~Jamie

  3. I didn’t see any of them yet! I’m not a very big fan of movies πŸ™‚ The cupcake gif would have been delicious if the chocolate wasn’t there πŸ˜› I hate chocolate. Happy almost birthday πŸ˜›

  4. “All you readers out there can testify to that. Reading isn’t boring. Reading is an adventure.” …..SAY WHAAAT???? *rolls eyes* Well, have fun going on your little adventures…. πŸ˜› ROFL! XD It’s very nice you and Dylan have another book to get onto. I don’t want you guys to stop reading. I’m glad he’ll get to read a Agatha Christie. πŸ™‚
    LOL! That was so funny at the convention when Moriah tackled you! I know I would of seen her coming if you hadn’t been in my way. πŸ˜›
    I wish I knew more about the Joker’s background. Like, didn’t he have parents, doesn’t he have a real identity? Where’d he come from, since when did he go crazy and why does he go around with a painted face and– oh man, it’s me over thinking about movies again. XDDD ROFL! Did Jess ever get his kittens? *wink* LOL! Anyway, I know what you mean about the Joker, he is colorful and all that. UUUGH, I just wish I could discribe and talk about things like you. I know I’m going to have trouble getting my thoughts out about him and the other movies onto my blog.
    That is a pretty neat picture of Loki….*takes in to photoshop to graffiti* LOL! I’m kidding about that last part. XPPPP
    And that is a neat gif!!!! It’s not terrible to watch it replay, over and over and over. ;D
    Ummm, let’s see, did I miss anything? I haven’t really left a long comment in a long time. XDDD SISTER SPAM!!! 8DDDD LOL!
    Murder on the Orient Express was the Poirot that Rebekah told us had a gross death scene, remember. The lady gets STABBED on the train and her blood splatters on the wiiindow…. πŸ˜› And I didn’t like the way that one ended. And it didn’t really make sense but I think that was because we didn’t have the sound turned up enough so I couldn’t hear what was going on.
    For the record this might actually be the longest comment I have ever left anyone. Consider yourself privlegeded. πŸ˜› LOL!
    ~Kayla

    1. SHADDUP WHY ARE YOU REMINDING ME OF THE STORY, I DON’T WANT TO REMEMBER IT!!! ALKDJSKALJFSKLAJSDFL *tries to clear head* LOL

      Anyway, there is so much in your comment that I can’t address it all, but thanks for leaving it. I actually think you’ve left me longer ones before, but who will ever know that?! πŸ˜›

      ❀ Jam

    2. ROFL!!! Actually, yeah, you’re right, I have left longer comments!!! πŸ˜› No one will ever know! HAHAHA!

      HUUUUH? What story? DUDE. What are you talking about? ROFL! ……….Ohhh, are you talking about the— ohh now I know what you’re talking bout. ROFL. I’m sorry. XD

  5. I haven’t seen the batman trilogy yet, but I REALLY want too! I’m bummed out that they don’t have it on instant on Netflix. 😦 haha The Joker looks awesome, and I love cupcakes, and Loki, and books! πŸ˜€

    1. I think you would like the Batman movies!! I think that anyone who enjoys The Avengers’ movies would like Batman. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      ~jamie

  6. Happy Birthday, Jamie!!! πŸ˜€

    Haha, I’m playing the Agatha Christie mystery game, too. It’s pretty fun so far. I haven’t read the book yet, so I’m really curious too πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you!!!!!!!

      LOL, that’s hilarious; let me know your thoughts on the book when you do read it! (You’ve almost, like, entered my little book club; you read Dracula *with* me, and now this one! How funny is that?!)

      ~Jamie

  7. We’ll have to “talk” about Murder on the Orient Express too. I just read that a few months ago. I got it for my birthday.

    I wish I could have been at the convention! 😦 Maybe next year… actually, I’ll probably tell you about next year’s tentative plans in an e-mail. πŸ™‚

    Miss you!

    Love,
    Rebekah

  8. Ahh.. Agatha Christie! I sometimes read her books. My advice is to never read “And then there were none” by her. Yipes. Yipes. *shivers* Okay, it wasn’t that bad, but I read it when I was like 10. Not recommended.

    *waves* I may seem like a weird random new person, but I’m on Kayla’s blog alot. *shurgs* rum…right… Hi?

    1. OMG it’s the infamous TABBY! Lol! Kayla talks about you a lot, and yes, I see you over there all the time.

      Thanks for the not-recommendation; I’ll be careful of that one. πŸ˜€

      ~Jamie

It always makes my day to see your messages! Don't forget to check back, I try to write back to you too! <3

