Note to Self//Stories to Finish


After graduating this fall, I’m strongly considering putting a lot of my fresh free time into my gift; writing fictional stories. I’ll be working on finishing up several stories I’ve started and delving into several story ideas that are only the beginning stages in my head. The books and short stories I need to complete and try to start are as follows:

Working Title: The Teddy Bear Detective

Desired Length: Short story, beginning partly written

Genre: Mystery, Humor, Young Adult (I could easily make this a children’s novel, actually, but, at the same time I can make it a playful adult novel too.)

Β Working Title: Two Knights and a Princess, my NaNoWriMo novel

Desired Length: Full length novel, already 50,000 words written

Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult

Working Title: Blair’s Return Home

Desired Length: Full length novel, first draft mostly written, has been on hold for over two years

Genre: Young Adult, could maybe fit under mystery

Working Title: High School Murder

Desired Length: Full length novel though it may end up being only a novella; opening pages are written

Genre: Mystery, Thriller, Young Adult

Working Title: Cops and Robbers

Desired Length: this is actually supposed to be a short story, but I can easily see it turning into a novella, but I really don’t want that too happen. It would be too much to print out for Dylan to read! πŸ˜›

Genre: Action, Mystery, Humor

Working Title: From My Mirror

Desired Length: Full length novel, could possible be only a novella

Genre: Thriller, Horror, Mystery

Working Title: Has none. It is, at the moment, simply a silly idea of throwing myself and my friends into a Narnian Adventure, because I think writing us into Narnia would be fairly easily.

Desired Length: would probably start off as a short story

Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult

Note: is being considered as a writing challenge only

~Jamie

16 thoughts on “Note to Self//Stories to Finish

  1. Oooh! Sounds like you’ve got your hands (or rather, your head) full! Love the idea for a Narnia fanfic! I started work on a “Christian Star Wars” fanfic where I re-wrote the story minus the Force, adding an entirely different element instead…BUUUUUUT it got put on hold because it actually inspired me to write my own original story πŸ˜› Fanfics are good for writing exercises and inspiration…unfortunately, they’re limited to just that, so I always have to decide whether or not it’s a good use of my time.

    1. Exactly. It’s nice when they can give you your own ideas though! I’m not the hugest Narnia fan but of all of the fandoms I enjoy, Narnia is the only place where I’ve thought I could actually pull off the story and world. Oooh, a Christian Star Wars fanfic is a brilliant idea! How fun! πŸ˜€

      ~Jamie

  2. These sound really cool.
    The fantasy one sounds the most interesting to me. Fantasy is one of my favorite genre although there are not a lot great movies in the genre.
    The horror one also sounds interesting. I am not a horror fan except for Hitchcock’s “Psycho” (great suspense, mystery, thriller). But your version of one sounds cool. πŸ™‚
    The closest I have come to writing anything fictional is one page for a Star Wars fan film script but it didn’t go any were. lol

    -James

    1. Thank you! I’m glad they actually spark interest! I really want to see Psycho some time! I’ll have to come up with better story summaries sometime in the future when I have better ideas of where they will all go. πŸ™‚

      ~Jamie

  3. Awesome! It looks as if you have your hands full. I really wanna be a good author- I signed up for nanowrimo recently too but I don’t know how to use it… many buttons make me crazy πŸ˜› I need to learn it there because I keep procrastinating my writing- right now I have only one piece (a novel) that I wanna publish. And a fan fiction of star wars, of course πŸ˜€ Some very good pictures in there! best of luck!

    1. Thank you, and I hope you’re able to pull your stories together! NaNoWriMo doesn’t start till November but I hope to do it again as well. If you ever need a little help with something, I can try to help out. πŸ˜€

      ~Jamie

  4. So, as you know, I’ve been looking through your blog recently. And it really has inspired me dramatically: I just made my own blog!!! πŸ˜€ I was wondering- do I have permission to link to your blog on my own as a widget? Because I’d like to refer people back to the person whose blog drove me to create my own πŸ™‚

    1. Oh my goodness, I feel so honored! Of course, you have my permission to link back to me! How awesome! I hope you enjoy blogging; it’s one of my favorite things to do. πŸ˜€

      ~Jamie

      1. Good heavens, I don’t even think I’ve done that before, so I don’t think I can help you there. Try reading this and see if that’s what you need help with.

        ~Jamie

      2. Haha I think you misunderstood me lol. Maybe the proper word for it is badge? You have a box displaying the source code beneath it- I want one, but when I copy the stuff that the Banner Maker program gives me it displays the image twice, and that’s irritating haha.

      3. Ah-ha, I did misunderstand you. Apologies! Well, I’m not sure why it would give you the image twice… if you’re sure you clicked the box that said, “show code box below”, then something might be mixed up in the HTML. In that case, you might need to look over the HTML and see if some part is doubled. I don’t know how to phrase it any better than that. Lol

        ~Jamie

  5. Wow, it sounds like you’re going to be busy! I wish I could multitask when it comes to writing, but I can’t :/ I like to stay focused on one story so I can completely immerse myself into that world. I would love to be able to do more, though.

    The mysteries sound really interesting. I love to read mystery/thrillers (I tried to write one once, but it was a flop). The Narnia fanfic also sounds like a really good idea. Maybe I’ll have to try a fanfic sometime…

    1. It is nice to be able to work on more than one. Often times I work on one till I get tired and then I move to the next one and so forth. πŸ™‚

      I love reading mysteries too! And yes, give your hand to a fanfic sometime. It’s especially nice because your world a lot of characters are already made up for you! Haha!

      ~Jamie

  6. Hi, really nice blog. I really love writing, but i do it a amateur way. I want to congratulate you for this blog πŸ™‚ Greetings from uruguay!

It always makes my day to see your messages! Don't forget to check back, I try to write back to you too! <3

