Die Hard: A Film Review


First things first: WOW. Just…. WOW. My gosh, this was a great movie. One of my new, permanent favorites. Our family finally all watched our censored version of this adventure film a few weeks ago and it’s about time I did a review for it.

Unlike Terminator, who’s plot I was familiar with and who’s trailer I’d seen, I didn’t know anything about Die Hard. Friends had said it was really good, but I hadn’t even gotten around to see a trailer for it. So, when we were getting ready to sit down, I asked, “So, what’s this movie about?” Dad said, “It’s an action movie.” And Mom said, “It’s cops and robbers on steroids.” Cops and robbers–okay, this was a movie for me.

Basic plot? Terrorists take over a building with a large handful of hostages. Hero whips them thoroughly, all by himself.

Awesomeness.

I couldn’t give the plot real justice, so here’s a copied version from Wikapedia–with my editation. ๐Ÿ˜€

On Christmas Eve, New York City Police officer John McClane arrives in Los Angeles to reconcile with his estranged wife, Holly. McClane is driven to the Nakatomi Plaza building for a company Christmas party by limo driver Argyle. While McClane changes clothes, the party is disrupted by the arrival of Hans Gruber and his heavily armed group; Karl, Franco, Tony, Theo, Alexander, Marco, Kristoff, Eddie, Uli, Heinrich, Fritz, and James.. The group seize the tower and secure those inside as hostages except for McClane who manages to slip away without their knowledge that he was even there.

Gruber singles out Nakatomi executive Joseph Takagi claiming he intends to teach the Nakatomi Corporation a lesson for its greed. Away from the hostages, Gruber interrogates Takagi for the code to the Nakatomi computer to access the building’s vault. Gruber admits that they are using terrorism as a decoy while they attempt to steal $640 million in bearer bonds from the vault. Takagi refuses to cooperate and is executed by Hans as McClane secretly observes. McClane pulls a fire alarm, but the terrorists persuade the responders it is a false alarm. McClane manages to kill Karl’s brother Tony, taking his weapon and using his radio to contact the LAPD who send Sgt. Al Powell to investigate, while Hans sends his men to stop McClane. McClane kills Heinrich and Marco and escapes. Powell, finding nothing strange about the building, attempts to leave, but McClane drops Marco’s corpse onto Powell’s car, alerting the LAPD who surround the building. McClane takes Heinrich’s bag containing C-4 explosives and detonators.

*sigh* Just watch the movie.

Die Hard has everything: great plot that ties little things in perfectly. Great dimensional characters. Perfect setting. Hilarious one liners. Explosions. Gun fire. Perfect plot wave that takes you up and down the roller coaster of perfect script writing. Perfect ending. We did watch the edited version, so I can’t say how bad the swearing got or the gore; though even the edited version showed a LOT of blood (especially the part with his feet–I was feeling queasy during that scene). But otherwise, this was an all around well balanced ,well made movie.

John McClane becomes a hero overnight and out of the blue. I definitely loved John as a character. He was witty, he was protective, he was optomistic, he never gave up. I loved his devotion and feelings for his wife, too. He’s certainly in my top twenty heroes list!

The film had a great villain in Hans Gruber. He was chill, he was deadly, he was the perfect stereotypical big gang leader who keeps his cool until end. He was a pretty great character.

All the other characters played off each other well!

The score worked well with the movie–throughout it was remixed Christmas songs to keep to the Christmas feeling and that was really cool.

And like I’ve already said, the plot itself was perfect. The film … was perfect!I certainly loved this movie A LOT! If you can see it, do so! And it might be cool to watch around Christmas time! ๐Ÿ˜€

~Jamie

4 thoughts on “Die Hard: A Film Review

  1. Great review! This has to be my favorite Christmas movie. You like a lot of really cool movies. ๐Ÿ™‚ When I first watched the only thing I knew about it was that it almost always ranks in the Top 10 on Action movie lists, but I was still surprised by how much I liked it. ๐Ÿ˜€

    P.S. I know this is an odd question but in the clean verisons of movies you have. Are bad words completely removed and you can notice words missing? Or are they replaced with other words? I have seen both types on cable TV before.

    –James

    1. LOL, cool movies are made to be liked! ๐Ÿ˜„ And yes, I really want to see it during the Christmas season! ๐Ÿ˜›

      Well, it depends on how the words are used. Like if it’s exclaimed by it’s self, it’s edited out and you wouldn’t even know that it was said. In a sentence; if it’s at the end, it might be edited and the way they cut it might seem a little obvious. If the word was in the middle of the sentence, the whole sentence by might be gone. It really depends on how the word was used to compare how the dialouge sounds when it’s cut. So far with all the movies we’ve got, I’ve not heard them replace the words, only edited. ๐Ÿ˜€ Hope that wasn’t too confusing! LOL

      ~Jamie

      1. Thanks for helps a lot. ๐Ÿ™‚ Since I happen to catch it on cable so it basically removed the words like watching reality TV. Thanks again, it did make sense. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      2. Good, I’m glad I was communicating properly! LOL That’s nice the TV will remove bad words too; I guess I didn’t know that! ๐Ÿ˜›

        ~Jamie

It always makes my day to see your messages! Don't forget to check back, I try to write back to you too! <3

