The Titanic, Writing Update… Et Cetera…


A lot of stuff is going on right now. Like, our family getting ready to leave for a week. We’re attending Vision Forum’s celebration of the brave men and boys who all died 100 years ago on the Titanic. In Missouri. So, this up-coming Tuesday, we’ll be leaving! We’ll be gone for an entire week. While I’m not super hyped about attending the actual Titanic thing (the museum will be cool), the road trip will be very fun. We have Focus on the Family Radio Theaters entire collection of the Chronicles of Narnia to listen to in the car, even! We read The Lion, The Witch, and the Wardrobe together over the past month. Seriously. Weirdest book ever. While it was okay, I’m really wondering how the heck it became a classic. I’m sure the audio books will be better and the movie had better be worth it’s pinch of salt, but I don’t expect to become a Narnia freak anytime soon.

Friday, Mom and I went shopping to get somethings for the trip (like candy) and I bought a new, super nice briefcase for my laptop fo the trip. I also got Jewel Quest III and Zumba to play in the car. And than at Goodwill I found Toy Story and Toy Story 2 on DVD, so I’ll be bringing those with me too. Kayla and I have a duel plug for two sets of headphones, so we might watch the movies together.

I’ve also completed the four character bios for my short story within the World-Building Deadline I created for myself. I’m quite proud of myself and I’m all set for two and half weeks of busy writing to beat my deadline. I’m determined to finish the first draft during the car ride and to have it all finished by the 21st. I’ve also been tossing around the idea of mapping out some things, but I don’t really have a clear idea yet of what everything looks like, so I’ll either draw up something after the first draft is finished or I simply won’t bother with that. πŸ˜€

So, anyway, I’m off now to update my picture blog (I’m looking forward to taking pictures during our trip. I think I’ll be bringing Iron Man figure with me, and maybe even Chewbacca and Captain.) While you can expect daily updates here on my blog, I might not get around to uploading pictures on my blog till we get back homes, so. We’ll see. Yes, I’m nervous about leaving Princess home alone, but at least we have a neighbor coming over to feed her and the chickens.

So. Now y’all know the big news (unless you follow my picture blog, I announced this earlier in the week over there! :P) I’ll try to keep up with everyone’s blogs but I might not have time to leave comments, though. Just know, I will be still looking! πŸ˜€

And no. I’ve not seen the Titanic movie. Nor do I want to. Besides having inappropriate content, it’s horribly inaccurate. But I love all the shots of the ship. πŸ˜€

Oh, P.S. I’m playing the prelude for church tomorrow. I’m extremely nervous, as it will be the first time I’ll ever play for church service and I’ve only had rare practice playing in front of a lot of people. However, the girls have shown good confidence in me, so they’re quite encouraging. I’m planning to do my very best. If you remember me tomorrow, could y’all say a quick prayer that my nerves don’t take over my hands? Thanks.

~Jamie

8 thoughts on “The Titanic, Writing Update… Et Cetera…

  1. I hope you have a good trip. πŸ™‚
    About Narina: I have only watched the movies. They were OK for a family movie but they would rank any were near my Top 100 movies. There is some good Christian symbolism in them but I always though the movies were a dumbed down Lord of the Rings for kids but Narina is not even a one hundredth as good as LOTR.

    -James

    1. Thank you; hopefully it will be a safe trip!

      Yeah, that’s sorta what I was thinking. I would WAAAAY rather be watching and reading LOTR but sometimes you just have to role with what the parents are wanting to do. Lol. I’m hoping to borrow the LOTR books from the library and than the movies afterwards, maybe in time to see The Hobbit! So, hopefully soon!! πŸ˜€

      Oh, and we saw Die Hard last night! I LOVED IT! AHhh! Hopefully a review of sorts will come soon if I get time during our vacation to write one up! πŸ˜€

      ~Jamie

      1. I hope you get a chance to watch them. ) I have been a LOTR fan for over 10 years.

        That is awesome! I am glad you liked it, it is one of my favorite action movies. I really liked the villain Hans Gruber. Do you like it better than The Terminator?

        -James

      2. O__O My gosh, that’s a long time!

        I did like it better than The Terminator, though the two films are very different to compare to each other. I think I liked Die Hard better because it was easier to follow and there was actually some really hilarious parts too. The side threads all tied in well by the end and it was pretty satisfying by the time it was done.

        ~Jamie

      3. Yeah, I have been a LOTR fan almost as long as I have been a Star Wars fan. πŸ™‚

        I also liked Die Hard better. I really liked the quotes “Now I have a mechine gun. ho-ho-ho.” and “Come out to the coast, we’ll get together, have a few laughs…” That has probably the funniest. πŸ˜€

        I agree that the movie tied up well, unfortunately the sequels were not near as good.

        -James

      4. ROFL, Oh, yes, those were hilarious! Along with the Twinkie part, and “Want a breath mint?”… it was all good. Oh, and our whole family was DYING during the part when the police were finally getting around the building and the one officer got stuck by the thorn and he let out that sissy “ouch”. LOL

        ~Jamie

  2. *bites nails* This trip…. I just… I just don’t know! xD
    I love the pictures…hilarious. And you did great at church! I think everybody like your playing XD *is still clapping* LOL!

  3. Those were hilarious also! πŸ˜€ Also “The football is toast!”. LOL I also liked that part with John talking to Gruber about heroes and he said

    Hans Gruber: “Uh, no, I’m afraid not. But, you have me at a loss. You know my name but who are you? Just another American who saw too many movies as a child? Another orphan of a bankrupt culture who thinks he’s John Wayne? Rambo? Marshal Dillon?”

    John: “Was always kinda partial to Roy Rogers actually. I really like those sequined shirts.”

    I can’t wait to read your review. πŸ˜€

It always makes my day to see your messages! Don't forget to check back, I try to write back to you too! <3

