A Fresh Look


It’s been over nine months since my last theme change and I think it’s about time we got a ‘fresh look’! With my sister’s assurance, I’ve picked ‘Forever’ for my new blog theme! I really like it; the nice thing is that nothing is rearranged or in a different place except that it’s looks a little different. :) We’re under slight construction still, just so you know. :)

~Jamie

World-Building Begins


It’s been less than a week since I’ve finished my last short story and I’m already back on my feet and ready to start another one. I enjoy using the characters of Will, Jessie, Katie and Frankie—quite a lot, actually. However, for the short story I’m getting ready to write, I’m going to turn these characters into grown adults—well, Will and Jessie are already ‘technically’ grown adults, but you know what I mean!

I’m turning our Cops and Robbers games into reality. It will be a short spy/suspense piece with a good twist at the end. I’m very excited to get going on it.

Basically, I’m turning Will into a real life Sheriff/ Law enforcer, Jessie into a real life Agent/Deputy, Katie into the real life villain called Scarlett Blood and Frankie into the real life thug, the mysterious Frank. All set in a dark city being taken over by evil.

However, my process is going to be a little different this time. It might be a short story but it will not be a short process. To help me work with my ‘world of reality’, I’ll be doing something I’ve rarely done before. It’s called World-Building. Thanks to the many  posts by my friend and writing buddy, Aubrey (writers, check out her blog NOW), I’ve been encouraged to try building the worlds my stories take place in, to help flush out the reality and later make writing easier.

World building for this short story (cleverly titled ‘Cops and Robbers’ *rolls eyes*) will include building the city which the story takes place, maybe building the exact location, and filling in some back story of the four characters and the operations they are a part of. I think it will be a lot of fun if some work. I’m hoping to have it all pay off when I get to the actual writing part.

How about you writers out there: do you normally do world building for your books or do you just dig right in at Chapter One? That is normally what I do, but I sense that it will take some careful building for this story if I don’t’ want it to turn out cheesy. Cheesy cop stories can be the worst. :D

~Jamie