The New Keyboard


I bought it! At last! I have my own keyboard! *Squeeeeeeeeeeeeee*

Long story short: Dad gave me the job of being his receptionist and is paying me. Mom told me to consider saving my earnings for anything super big that I might like. Long story short, I couldn’t think of anything because I have my laptop and kitty, so I’m basically happy. But than I remembered I’ve always wanted my own electric keyboard to practice on because I could plug headphones into it and have some privacy. So, I decided, “I’ll save my money towards a keyboard.” Long story short; we go out looking at models, and we find this used one at a music store for a smashing deal and I bought it the next day. I hadn’t even expected to get it so quickly. I even got the stand and the jack for my headphones, with money left over.

How did my shortened story become so long?

Here’s my baby– the sound is AWESOME. One huge thing I was looking for was a lot of sound choices, and this one has a ton. The keys are light-weighted, so I’ll probably also practice on our real piano so I don’t get used to fake keys.

Grand Piano Wide is my favorite setting. It sounds just like a grand piano and whenever I play on the setting, I can see myself in a huge room playing on a huge, beautiful black piano all by myself. It so beautiful (a wild dream of mine would be to own a grand piano. Yeah, that’s a VERY wild dream, but a happy one.) My other favorite settings are the Viola,Β  the Harp, the Church Organ (which is so chilling) and Fantasy Pad, which makes music sound like the fair grounds.

Here are three books I play from; Star Wars, a old lesson book and… well, the yellow one I’m still gathering courage to play from, actually. It’s SO above my head, and of course, it’s ragtime, so doubly hard to play. I REALLY want to learn Entertainer and Maple Leaf Rag, though, because they’re absolute musical jewels I know a simplified piece of Maple Leaf Rag; it’s the only song that is permanetly imprinted in my head. I can play it anywhere. It’s probably one of my top favorite piano pieces.

So, I want to practice a lot more now–hopefully between an hour to two hours. Not just because I need to keep up, or because I simply LOVE playing the piano anyway. But because I’ll soon be playing for church services. O__O Like the most exciting but scariest thing I will ever do. It will take me a week or two to get used to playing, I’m sure. The dear girls at church need a break from playing their instruments so they can sing too, so I’ll be both playing piano with “Gabby” and her violin but also by myself. I’m looking forward to it, because it will be a great way to serve, but it will take a few weeks to get over stage fright (which I can get badly!) Keep me in prayer, if you ever think of me some Sunday…. I’ll hopefully be starting soon; maybe by March, even.

Church hymnal I’ll be practicing from. Just for the record.

This is the song which I poured practice into all last week. I’ve played it many times before, but there have always been sections that I’ve always limped and tripped through. It’s such a beautiful piece that I really put some time into learning. What’s nice is that I can change instrument setting each time I start over, so I’m never bored with the song. The piece I play is much simpler than the one below, but it’s no less peaceful. I played it on the viola setting for the neighbor lady, Mrs T, and I thought she was going to cry by the end! Lol. Someday, I’ll learn to play the full version.

So, that sums up the latest of my piano journey. I do want to say thank you to Aunt Linda for getting my started down the path of piano playing when I was little and for giving me those first piano lessons and Mrs V for getting me through the rest of the lesson books. I wouldn’t be here without either of you two and I’m very grateful. πŸ™‚ It’s such a beautiful instrument, and I hope to keep playing for many more years.

~Jamie

13 thoughts on “The New Keyboard

  1. Jamie Joyce!! THANK YOU VERY MUCH for your “thank you” in relation to your piano lessons from me!! I was very pleased with your words/thoughtfulness!! πŸ™‚ I always felt you had a God-given gift of music.

    Love, Aunt Linda πŸ™‚

    1. Hahaha, yes, I can play some of the different themes. The book is small; but it does include the main theme, and that one is fun to play. I also enjoy playing Luke’s theme, the Imperial March and the celebration music from the end of ROTJ. πŸ™‚

      ~Jamie

  2. That is SO awesome, Jamie!! I borrowed a keyboard from our church and took lessons back when I was in the 5th grade. It was a very fun instrument but I only took lessons for a couple years.

It always makes my day to see your messages! Don't forget to check back, I try to write back to you too! <3

