Music


Vellvin asked “Who are your favorite music artists?”

This is an interesting question for me because I don’t listen to a lot of music from contemporary music writers. I’ve heard of many different bands across the blogosphere, but I only checked out two. Britt Nicole and Adam Young.

I’m not nuts about Adam Young; actually. His style is a little different than what I’m used to. My favorite song of his, though, is Fireflies! I didn’t dig him when I started listening, so I moved on.

(Click HERE for ‘Fireflies’.)

That left Britt Nicole. And I decided to check into her for two reasons. One, she was a Christian, obviously, and that she was morally upright in her faith. And second, I heard ‘The Lost Get Found’ on a blogger’s playlist. I loved it. I must have visited that blog a hundred times to re-listen to the song, and at last I decided to borrow her album from the library.

There were several other songs on that CD that I quickly learned to love. While some were too ‘modern’ for me to listen to, there were several that were both fun and touching. Headphones made me want to flip out, to act alive.Β  Hanging On was beautiful and touching. And Safe is practically my lifesong.

What I love a lot about her music it that it’s different than the everyday Christian artists you hear. Those all have begun to sound the same in many ways; they use the same instruments, same beats, same topics. Her music and lyrics were unique; not necessarily praise music, but her songs are clean and fun, and do touch the Christian life.

(Click HERE for ‘Lost Get Found’.)

(Click HERE for ‘Safe’.)

So, who are your favorite music artists? Any good ones I haven’t heard of that I should check ou?. Any good Christian artists out that are unique and fun? Is there a certain album of a certain artist I should check out that is better than their other albums?

~Jamie

10 thoughts on “Music

  1. I love Britt Nicole too!! If you like her, I highly recommend checking out Francesca Battistelli. She’s got similar music with really good Christian values to them. πŸ˜€

  2. I don’t really like any modern music. I like a few classic rock bands like The Beatles, Beach Boys, Alabama, and Elvis though. But I don’t listen to them very often. I listen to movie soundtracks and epic music almost all the time. And instrumetal versions of some song.

    -James

    1. I’m with you there: probably 75 percent of my music is original soundtracks! ‘Cause, really, outside of Britt Nicole, I don’t know or like any other modern artists!

      ~Jamie

      1. Yes… mostly because there is not much good stuff out there to begin with!! Or else, the good stuff all sounds the same and they all say the same thing too. πŸ™‚ That’s why I like Britt Nicole; she’s very unique!

        ~Jamie

  3. Hmmm… I really love soundtracks (the Star Wars soundtrack is epic!). My favorite artists are Michael Buble and Josh Groban. But I also really like old crooners like Frank Sinatra and Bing Crosby. I’m with you on Adam Young. Fireflies is ok, but the style is very different from what I”m used to.

    1. I love the old singers, though we normally only hear them around Christmas time. Which is sad, actually, now that I think about it.

      Yes, Adam Young is very different. Some are okay and even pretty, but most are just too electronic. πŸ™‚

      ~Jamie

  4. I don’t know if you know this, but Adam Young has done more than just Owl City (which can be obnoxious if you don’t like techno pop). He also did a project called Sky Sailing, which is all acoustic. Brielle and I Live Alone are his two best Sky Sailing songs.
    Also, I like Chris August, because he has a mellow style and a lot of songs about God– “70 x 7”, “Starry Night”. He’s pop but has more of a pop/rock blues feel. Winter Time is a really pretty song by him. Maybe try looking him up?
    Anywho, God bless,
    -Jess

    1. Thank you for taking time to comment, Jess. I’ve heard part of Sky Sailing, but it didn’t click completely for me eithere. I’ll check out Chris August; he sounds like he might be worth it. πŸ™‚

      ~Jamie

It always makes my day to see your messages! Don't forget to check back, I try to write back to you too! <3

