Film Score Friday: “Epic”


Today I’m going to do something a little different. Instead of picking four tracks from one soundtrack, I’m going to share four very epic tracks from four different movies. Because I love epic music and I love sharing with all my music lovin’ friends.

 

 

Ooooh, gosh, this is has the epic ‘destiny’ feel to it. Lol. I know that sounds dramatic, but if you’re like me, you’ll probably agree!

 

 

This is epic—in a beautiful, sweet way. It’s epic from the soul, not from peril or danger of the body. I often find myself humming this, it feels very uplifting on dark days.

 

 

Disc Wars. Equals. Epic. For being very dark and electronic, it doesn’t have that annoying, ‘bang-bang-bang’ beat you hear from the trashy cars on the highway. This has purpose and intelligence in it. It feels like something from a video game almost, but not cheesy at all!

 

 

I’m unsure as to whether this song is from a film, but if it isn’t, it should be. This is from the same composer who wrote my book themes Ocean Princess and Merchant Prince. Very epic, very dramatic. I always try to see epic scenes of danger or death, like from a movie, but I always end up seeing simply inner toil of someone soul, like after they’ve discovered their desitny or heritage and they’re not who they thought they were. I always see something like Anakin Skywalker, torn between two worlds, but falling for the worst.

Well, what do you all think? Do you like epic music?  Have you heard any of these before? Which one is your favorite?

~Jamie

10 thoughts on “Film Score Friday: “Epic”

  1. AMEN!! Epic is the best word in existence.

    I really love the Tron:Legacy soundtrack along with the classics like Star Wars and Indiana Jones.

  2. Jamie, it was good to sample epic sounding music. I enjoy writing to this kind of filmscore. The overture to Kostner’s Robin Hood — can’t recall the film’s name — is amazing, but more orchestral, than some of these. Unbreakable, Last of the Mohicans, Narnia, are favorites of mine, plus many more…Wrath of Khan…Road to Perdition…Older ones seem to be less repetitive, imho. Kingdom of Heaven is good, even Bram Stoker’s Dracula…Of these you’ve given us, on a short hearing, I like Hugo best.

    1. Thank you so much for all your recommendations! I will have to check some of them; I’ve heard some like Narnia and Last of the Mohicans, but not the others. 🙂

      I think that is my favorite, too. I’ve listened to A LOT this week! 🙂

      ~Jamie

  3. The Hugo one doesn’t sound like it should be that kind movie I was very surprised by how good it was. The Tron: Legacy soundtrack is one of my is my Top 25 favorite soundtracks. I didn’t like techo music munch until I heard Tron’s soundtrack. My favorites from the are “The Son of Flynn” , “Derezzed”, and “End Titles”. 😀 Cool post.

    -James

    1. I agree, I didn’t care for techo music either but it was recommended by a friend so I checked it out and I actually liked it! I’ll have to go find those tracks to give a second listen! 😀

      ~Jamie

    1. I often judge music like that too, but I’ve learned that often the exciting part builds up to be at the end and it’s almost better that way! 🙂

      ~Jamie

It always makes my day to see your messages! Don't forget to check back, I try to write back to you too! <3

